You're Guilty Until Proven Innocent

8 27
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

It's been a while since I last published an article here. Life has just been so busy and stressful. This article is supposed to be published days ago but I couldn't finish it in one go. Now that I'm kinda vacant, let me try my best to publish this tonight.


You know how ironic law is when it comes to justice? Oh I remember, justice only works to rich people. An iconic line of the song Tatsulok (originally written by Rom Dongeto of Buklod) performed by Bamboo, "at ang hustisya ay para lang sa mayaman".

You can never go wrong with that song. It's reality and will never be changed. Might be but only the slightest.

The injustices that we have in this world is timeless. It already exists even before. I'm pretty sure there are numerous injustice cases happening every single day without us knowing the details of them.

For rich people, it's innocent until proven guilty. However, on the other hand, for poor people, it's guilty until proven innocent. Just how unjust that is. Of course, when money talks, the truth is silent.

Some films and series I have watched about social injustice, here are some:

The Green Mile (1999)

I have watched this Hollywood film back in 2015 or 2016. Aside from it is a Tom Hanks movie, its plot is well-rounded and established.

The story revolves around a big black guy who is wrongly accused of raping and murdering a young little girl who happens to have a mysterious gift. It also depicts about the lives of the guards in the death row as they establish good camaraderie.

To Kill A Mockingbird (1962)

I have read a book of this first before I watched the film. This was actually the first book I have finished ever since and I never regretted it. I can still remember crucial scenes of the story. Really an epic one.

The movie mainly talks about a widowed lawyer named Atticus Finch, setting in depression era-Alabama, defended a black man who is charged with rape. Everything revolves about racism, prejudice and injustices against human race.

Miracle in Cell no. 7 (2013)

You shouldn't exclude this movie on the list. This is classic. I guess most of us is familiar to this movie. I cried like a river when I watched this. In fact, this is my go-to movie when I want to cry. Sometimes, when I feel melancholic, I resort to drama films and express my heart out.

This film is about a mentally challenged man wrongfully imprisoned for murder, who establishes friendships with the stone-hearted criminals in his cell, who in return cooperated with him to see his daughter again by smuggling her into the prison.

Remember: War of The Son (2015)

This is a korean series where it revolves around the life of a 22 year old man, a son and a lawyer proving the innocence of his father who is currently in the death row.

This is such a great Korean series. It has a lot of drama and it takes a lot of courage and determination to take action into this situation. Each character was given time to shine and each of them portrays a crucial role to the whole series.


How about the son of a wealthy man named Mr. San Vicente, who mercilessly ran over a security guard on the road? This is an example of how absurd Philippine justice system is.

I just can't express myself fully on this because it's very jaw dropping, not because of positivity but I'm too stunned of how they let go that guy when pieces of evidences are all over the media. The moment that situation happened, the police should have gone pursuit towards that a**hole driver.

If you have seen them went on a press conference saying he is sorry and he did not mean it. How illogical that was to reason that out. He ran the security guard over twice! It was clearly not a mistake for God's sake.

The suspect is now facing a frustrated homicide case.


Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

5
$ 0.07
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
$ 0.01 from @andrianlover
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Naoanuod ko palang yung Miracle 7 ate a sobrang nag-paiyak sa akin hays.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung Miracle in Cell no.7 huhu yan talaga nagpaiyak sakin na movie madam. Grabe ko iyak talaga kaya di ko yan makalimutan. Di ko na pinanood yan ulit kasi iiyak talaga ako ulit.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Pure mn gud kaayo ilang acting madam no. Grabe ang casting ba. Maong drama jud kaau

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao gayud madam. Madala gayud ka madam. Arang hilak nako ani madam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gosh! Miracle in cell really made my heart cry like a crybaby. It was so good and the actors are so good.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dibaaa? Never gets old. Classic yan!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobra iyak ko jan sa cell #7... Pero yung war of son di ko napanood...mukhang interesting..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Watch mo yan madam. Highly recommended. Abangan mo journey nya kung nanalo ba sya sa kaso or hindi. ♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago