You Don't Love Yourself Unless You Do These

45 76
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Self-love.

A simple word but comes with a deeper meaning. It goes beyond pampering yourself, treating yourself in your favorite restaurant, or buying yourself an expensive gadget.

Personally, I am still struggling to love myself the way I am. My friends always tell me that I know how to make themselves feel better. Then I realized, how about me? Did I also do what I preached?

This is something I have reflected upon.

I have watched a video about how to love yourself and it got me thinking of the things I did to myself.

: So here are the 4 Steps to Love Yourself:

1.Grow in Self-Awareness

Identifying one's emotions is not easy. Others would put a mask on to hide their true emotions. Why? Because when they opt to share their feelings, they get invalidated and blamed for what they truly feel.

However, being self-aware is more than just expressing what you truly feel. It's about reflecting on what's happening in your life. Through that, you can now identify your strengths and weaknesses.

2. Grow in Self-Acceptance

This is a tough one. For the record, it took me a long time to accept myself. Also, accepting yourself doesn't happen overnight. It takes a while to learn about your character.

It's good that you acknowledge your weaknesses but it's better to focus and develop yourself for the things you are good at. That way, you will feel a sense of purpose that leads you to accept yourself better.

Going back, I resented myself too much. I was too hard on myself. All I saw were just my weaknesses. An incident made me realized how to value myself more. I realized that I have qualities worth sharing for, to inspire and motivate others. I learned to embrace myself as who I am.

3. Grow in Self-Appreciation

One cannot appreciate oneself when you're not aware of who you are and you don't accept who you are.

It is a healthy habit to appreciate looking at the mirror telling, "Hello there beautiful!" "Hello there handsome". Although I personally don't do it. I find it awkward. 🙈

That way, it boosts your confidence and sends good vibes throughout the day. Others wouldn't appreciate you, or your work of art if you don't help yourself.

Another way of appreciating yourself is to stop comparing yourself with others. It will serve you no good.

I grew up being insecure with the people around me. I became introverted because I have low self-esteem because of how people define me. I felt so small. I let my insecurities pull me down and it magnified my habits by being critical in so many ways.

We are unique in our own ways. There's always something you're good at and it's a good habit to appreciate your strengths and develop it.

Body types are different and personalities are not the same.

You are you.

Easier than done. I know 🤷‍♀️

4. Grow in Self-Attentiveness

You have to meet your needs.

Buying stuff for yourself makes it feel rewarding especially if you have worked for it.

However, meeting your needs is something you should attend first. What are these?

By taking care of yourself. Eat healthy food, get enough sleep, exercise, good social life, and healthy relationship with the family.

By doing so, it reflects how you value yourself.

However, it is also good to serve yourself some downtime. Refraining yourself from a stressful environment is a way of getting away from having dissociated thoughts and unhealthy relationships.

Spend time on your safe circle.

One great contribution of loving yourself is to surround yourself with people you can rely on. It is good to identify who are the toxic ones and who are the good ones. If you find yourself as toxic, then reach out to a friend that you feel safe and share your thoughts with it.


As I mature, I realized that Self-love is not selfishness. You have to embrace and celebrate who you are.

Here's a bonus tip. However, I know we all have different perspectives about faith but this worked for me.

Grow in Self-Abandonment

I surrendered myself to HIM. A life-changing incident taught me about second chances and it showered my a lot of realizations.


So that's how I worked on myself to practice self-love.


My Reference

17
$ 6.09
$ 4.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.10 from @Eybyoung
+ 8
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

I love myself UwU still working on the confidence issues but else, I know how to make myself happy. What i struggle with is with other people talaga

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same issues as yours. Been struggling with a lot of those mentioned but I managed to overcome it ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We're both introverted so it's pretty understandable naman UwU we still have a long way to go

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know right. Badly need to build up that confidence.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love myself but I have low self-confidence and low self-esteem. 😞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have to work on your self-appreciation then. It takes a lot of courage and validation to appreciate yourself but it will always start with you. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do appreciate myself. I just don't know why I have this fear whenever I am in front of a crowd, being on the stage and being interviewed. I always get blank. I decided to make a Youtube channel to practice vlogging but I never showed my face nor did I speak in front of the camera. Well there was one time where I showed half when eating. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's social anxiety. Same, I have that one too. But what's good is you're trying to work on that. I have a youtube channel too. It's either I just show my hands playing the piano or do a voice-over. 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What's your Youtube channel? At least you have a voice over. I don't have any in my cooking videos. 😅

Ohhh. Social anxiety. I just heard of that just now. But I can mingle with anyone. That's why they really find it weird why I have stage fright, fear of interview, video shy. I'm ok with cameras though. It is just the fact that speaking in front of a camera. Conscious? Yes super. LOL.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

https://youtube.com/channel/UCb71HsAjb04K74_R8C5Kxiw

Here. Hehe.

I am introverted so I'm not comfortable talking to people whom I just met but talking to a camera is weird no? It's the same as talking to people. Nakaka conscious. 😆

What's yours? Sub kita. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I left a comment on Forevermore. 🥰

I'm ok with talking to people whom I just met. Siguro dahil nasanay na ako sa dami ng interviews na napuntahan ko na no choice ako but to talk to other applicants. Plus kailangan sa work in a food industry. Engaging with customers. Ok lang kapag yung sa counter pero nahihiya ako kapag table visits kasi syempre nageenjoy na sila kumain tapos chichikkahin ko. Maistorbo sila. Kaya yun bihira ko gawin. Hehe. May iba din kasi masusungit. 😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmm. I'm curious about your job. You sounded like a restaurant manager. (?) Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha. WAS. 😅 I resigned years ago and is unemployed since then. Sad to say but I got burned out. Been in the food industry for more than 10 years.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya pala. Ako rin, unemployed na since 2017. Na burn out din ako sa teaching industry. 🤷‍♀️💔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dumadating talaga tayo sa point na mapapagod din tayo sa isang bagay kahit na yun ang pinili natin. Hugot? Hahahaha. Same year lang tayo. Hahaha. Pero ito na ang record breaker ko kasi usually gang 2 years lang ako magpahinga noon. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dahil din siguro sa pandemic kaya di naka usad? Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I Love myself and I do everything to show self love😍😍 Like your article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice content Ma'am! Guess what? I found the perfect article for me :)) Because last month I've been questioning my worth as a person. It has been an issue to me. With your article Ma'am, I learned that self-validation is all we need. It is a must. Well done po! Thanks for reminding me again to love and value my self more po hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't be too hard on yourself. I'm sure there are other things you are good at. Focus on it. You will feel good once you achieve it. It took me a while to accept and appreciate myself but when I finally did, I found genuine happiness.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

almost there na ate!!! i'm working on it, i'm still on the process pa po pero I can feel na malapit na ako :)) thank you po sa advices and lessons 💗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good to hear that ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sa sobrang pagmamahal ko sa sarili ko madam hindi ko na need ng iba para dumagdag pa sila. Sapat na ung self love ko, pero bagsak pa rin ang confidence ko 🙉 so pano yun 🙉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kulang ka pa sa self-appreciation madam. Hehe. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya nga madam, bat ga ganon ako 😵

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate mo mga talent mo madam 💯 you will special and purposeful when you do it. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am doing it all now, not so perfect but at least I did. Nice content ☺ I agree it really takes time to accept ourselves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank youuu. Hehe. Coming from a strong personality of you just means to say that it applies to everyone. 😅❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it applies to everyone. I am the living proof. Self-love is the beginning of every great thing ahead.☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Trueee. Hehe 💯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Since childhood may problema na talaga ako sa self-acceptance. Lately ko lang gradually tinanggap kung ano ako. Talagang totoo na it takes time :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yieee. Cheers to that. Nourish that self-love for your happiness ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My ginagawa ako article my self love din 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay. Hehe. Naunahan kita 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"Hello, there handsome." I always tell myself that, not because I want to convince myself... but because it's the truth! Hehehehe. Hope this is enough to humor you for today, my cool friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yaaay. The weather becomes windy right after I read this 🤔😳

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Windy... isn't that Peter Pan's love interest?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought it's Tinkerbell?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Use "Jeaneth" in a sentence: "Sa sobra nakong kasadJEA, NETHulo akong luha!"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Niceeee. Hahaha. Bentang benta sakin to 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Use "Tinaja" in a sentence: "Tumakbo sa kalsasa ang aso kung puTI, NAJAgip tuloy siya ng kotse!"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Taba ng utak. Hehe. Bright gyud ka 💯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ikaw ang bright, kay nag-antipara gud ka. Hehehe. Atong mga avatar ba, pinaduko-duko... aron mysterious... paatik-atik. Pero ikaw ang una nagpa-atik-atik, kay dugay na man ka nagduko-duko diri... hehehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mag upload kog GIF nga ga hangad-hangad npud. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do all of these, not perfectly but I feel awesome! From time to time I'm still reminding myself. I hope many will read and inspired by your article.🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Na miss kita dito sa read cash madam. Di ko pa nabasa article mo. Heje

$ 0.00
3 years ago