Transforming A Bathroom Into A Studio: How We Pulled It Off

26 56
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

If you’ve followed this article series I’ve been posting here, you would have known already that my musical pursuit has made me work harder, because studio time is expensive. But me and my pal Gifter decided to lower the cost further, and that is by choosing to record the vocal parts of our 10-song digital album right in the confines of my own home.

Knowing that we need a soundproof area for it, we chose the bathroom that’s just beside my bedroom.

We think it’s spacious enough.

The house where I currently live is actually my grandma’s house. As of the moment, there are only 3 of us in this rather large house: Me, grandma, and our lady helper. If you count our dogs, then there are actually 6 of us, hehe.

The house is where my family clan usually gathers, and one of the embellishments of this ancestral house is the large bathroom beside my bedroom. It’s around 2.5x3.5 meters – technically large for only 3 residents. It’s actually the larger one of the 2 bathrooms within the house.

Gifter and I debated a bit about whether or not we should record our vocals in that bathroom. Eventually, we both agreed that the recording should take place there since it’s spacious enough.

Doing sleep-depriving research.

I mentioned in my previous articles that Gifter is some kind of a geek – he does very extensive research just to obtain whatever knowledge he needs. That’s normal. What’s not normal however is he does that to the point that he gets little to no sleep at all.

When that happens, that’s how the ‘mother in me’ kicks in. I might be way too small when I stand next to him, but there are times when I literally scold him for not sleeping or eating enough – as a real mom would! There are times when I’d give that litany in which he should rest for a few days if I can sense that he works too much.

But being the stubborn brat he is, he rarely listens. Sure he rests, but only for a few hours. Once he gets some little sleep, he gets back to seeking information about home recording.

After only a few days though, Gifter had enough methods in his head, so we moved on to doing the next step.

Soundproofing the area.

This is the toughest challenge we dealt with. Being the brutal music nazi that he is, Gifter is a very unforgiving perfectionist, if he demands that the bathroom should be as soundproof as a real studio, then it should be as he deems it.

We have no money to buy those expensive sound diffusing foams, so we utilized the following:

cardboard boxes around the house

• the styrofoam of my keyboards (thankfully, I have 2 keyboards, so we’ve got more than enough styros.)

• packing tape.

We used the following to block the sound that for sure would pass through the bathroom window, and from those little slits in the door. But we had a problem – using cardboard for those slits would make the door so hard to close. It would be such a hassle for me and my grandma.

So we compromised on buying something online, a door sound insulator. For this object, we conceded that we needed to spend on something. Thankfully the thing was very affordable, just at 60 pesos per 2 meters.

We worked on installing these “poor musician’s” amenities for an entire day, not counting the time we allocated for waiting for that insulator we used at the door. I could see Gifter sweating a lot through the entire process, but I can see on his face that he’s smiling a lot like he’s very happy to craft a very brilliant invention.

In my previous article, I mentioned that we recorded 1 song already in a professionally-built studio. We did it for some additional research. What we found out there was that a recording room doesn’t need to be totally soundproof, it just has to be quiet enough that the outside noise wouldn’t penetrate the microphone.

Thankfully, we made it happen in the bathroom… with just cardboard and packing tape. Cool, right?

Solving the reverb problem.

Since the bathroom is made of concrete topped with shiny tiles all-over, there is a huge problem that Gifter told me we have to eliminate – reverb. Being a total newbie to audio recording, I didn’t know what Gifter was babbling about.

He demonstrated it by loudly saying “haaaaaah” inside the bathroom. When I heard that mini-echoing sound from the bathroom walls, it was then that I understood what he meant. I asked him what’s the big deal if such a kind of sound exists.

Isn’t it enough that the room is soundproof already?” I asked. Gifter then discussed something about eliminating that reflected sound so that only the raw signals of our vocal chords will be picked up by the mic.

According to him, the best way to come up with a clean singing track is for the singer’s voice to be raw. Effects will then be added later using computer software. It was then when I said that Gifter being a geek is truly helpful after all.

So how did we solve the reverb problem in the bathroom? Well, let’s summarize it by looking at this photo.

That box is the cardboard of one of my keyboards, we split it wider, then put some more cardboards that would serve as its floor and ceiling. Inside the box, we push-pinned my keyboard’s bag, to serve as a sound diffuser.

This idea is a product of both of our research, and that makeshift device in the photo served as the recording booth that we used for days as we recorded our vocals.

Gifter’s annoying obsession.

Gifter is still unsatisfied with that setup. He still thinks that sound might still be reflected somewhere else in the bathroom. To solve it, we used my bed cushion. We let it stand vertically behind us as we began singing.

Thankfully, the cushion was thick enough to stand upright as it leaned on a heavy chair. Still worried about other possible reverberation, Gifter took my towels, some bags, and even my laundry basket and placed them strategically in some areas of the bathroom.

These, he said, could diffuse the reflected sound further as it would prevent some minor noises of our body movements from penetrating through the microphone. Oh, if you could only see how annoying he is when he does things such as these.

So how did we sound as inside that bathroom studio? Well, let’s just say it’s a story for another day.


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone.

12
$ 3.88
$ 3.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Expressionless
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Wow. Just wow ate jeaneth. Ang galing lang. Can't believe na kaya pala magka ganitong studio type kahit simple lang. Okay naman eh. Pag kumita na kayu pwede naman unti untiin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dumiskarte lng kami dee. Maximizing resources ika-nga. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung gusto ..may paraan tlga madam. Buti okay sa grandma mo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmmm, I don't think okay talaga sa kanya madam. Pero wala sya magawa eh. Hehe. Support nlng.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

karemember ko back then when we were recording audio too, my husband asked me to record it with our bed foams surrounding me. we even covered ourselves with comforters...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As in madam? Ing ana pud diay ka meticulous sya no. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uu kay klaro kaau ang mga gagmay na noise jd

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pero nag condenser mic mo ato madam?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously you and gifter are doing great efforts to record your songs. I wish you all the best for this.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, Farah. ❤️ we really hope we'll be successful on this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The efforts will pay off soon ate :) Ang complicated pala ng recording hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Medyo tedious talaga sya Cherry pero enjoy naman. Hehe. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish you success madame... Di ako masyadong naka online pero I am glad to have read this article first. Keep it up!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, madam! This means a lot to us. Keep safe ha 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan pala kaselan Ang recording madam?

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Yes madam, pero medyo OA narin yong isa. Na obsess na. 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe talaga Yong effort nyo sa pag install ng sound proof na room, at plus factor talaga na napaka creative nyo.

Saludo ako sa effort nyong dalawa, na excite ako sa resulta ng recording nyo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Salamat kaayo madam. We've successfully recorded our songs in my bathroom. Excited na kaayo mi i share among music dinhi. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Voice echo can be problem in bathroom. I am excited how you did it. Anyway if it is wade then you need to make a perfect separation. I wish you best of luck sister, I hope it will bring great reward able to buy a music studio room.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We're glad that we recorded there well. It was exhausting but at the same time fun converting my bathroom into a studio room. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang witty nyo ate hehe and kudos to gifter sobrang dami na nyang alam bunga ng pag reresearch nya. Goodluck po sa inyo :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

He spent every bit of time researching jud madam maong OA nasad kaayo sya usahay bahin ana. Haha.

Thank you madam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ang effort sis! I see a future sa ginagawa niyo, 3 years from now malayo na kayo sa kung saan kayo nagsimula, believe me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🥺🥺 Thank you so much, Joy. Manifesting that.🤞

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't for the two of you to be successful in what you are currently working on right now ate Jea. I am sure na mag susucceed kayo dito. Gusto ko maging isa sa witness if ever i kwekwento niyo ng yung success story nyo po

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Will definitely and proudly share jud Neil nga dri mi sa read.cash nagsugod. Also, we are grateful nga naila tamo dri kay very supportive kaayo mo samo endeavor. Thank you so much ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago