Time and Tide Wait For None

19 63
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago
Topics: Story, Life, Time

Time flies too fast, 2020 is almost over. We are 24 or 25 days away to welcome 2021. Wow, it just feels like yesterday is still the 1st of January.

2020 has been a roller coaster ride, not just for myself but for the entire world. This year had full of surprises and it changed so many lives. Emotionally, financially, physically, and psychologically. The pandemic did contribute to a tragedy for the whole of humankind.

By the way, how was your 2020?

As for me, it is almost the same as how my 2019 went. I do not have a job, and I stay only in the house because I am still recovering from my health issues. The only difference is, we lost our grandfather, and I became the front liner of the house. I do the groceries, and run other errands for the house. I'm 25, so I'm allowed to go out and buy groceries and stuff. So that's basically how my 2020 goes, to sum it all up. Then, I have come to realize this idiom that I read "Time and Tide waits for none".

This means that time never stops. It constantly moves. It doesn't stop for anybody. The clock is always ticking, regardless of whatever we do.

Therefore, we should spend our time wisely because every second counts. Time is something we cannot afford to bring back but only the memories behind it.

Everything is possible with time. It all comes down to how you manage it carefully. Successful people know how to spend time in a wise manner. You can earn money through utilizing time but you cannot buy time from money.

I'm pretty sure that you guys are familiar with the story about "The Rabbit and The Turtle". This is a good example of the idiom "Time and Tide wait for none".

Once there was a turtle who's always being laughed at for his slow-paced movement. Meanwhile, there's a rabbit in the same community who's deeply praised for his speed.

For the sake of fame and recognition, the rabbit challenged the turtle for a race. The turtle didn't mind refusing and accepted it because he no longer wants any more humiliation.

The race was scheduled after two days. The rabbit practiced hard of winning the race. He even started the celebration beforehand. Meanwhile, the turtle remained humble and didn't even think of winning the race but for as long as he gives his best, he's okay with it.

On the day of the race, everyone knew that the rabbit would win the challenge. The rabbit even ate a lot thinking that he would still win the race even if he walks only for having a full tummy. However, the turtle has full of determination and is eager to give his best shot.

When the race started, the turtle moves at a slow pace while the rabbit hurriedly hops in continuously eager to reach the end point of the race. As a result, he was able to reach halfway through the race within a span of a few minutes.

The rabbit decided to take a short nap after reaching the distance. He found a tree, lied down under it, and took a rest. Without realizing it, the rabbit went to a sound sleep because he had eaten so much food before the challenge.

On the other hand, the turtle continuously moved although in a slow-paced but was consistent on his determination to reach the end. And so, he was able to cross the rabbit while he was in a deep sleep.

Moments after, the rabbit woke up but he noticed that the turtle is already distant from where he is. He runs fastly as he could to reach the turtle and win the race but the turtle was much ahead of him.

The turtle won the race, celebrating his victory while the rabbit cried crossing the line as the loser. The rabbit was full of regret and disappointment in himself for taking things for granted.

Time and tide wait for none. The turtle managed his time and worked hard to be successful in the race. In life, we must have the same mindset as the turtle where he never gives up even if the world is already telling him that he will lose.

Sometimes, I evaluate myself as the turtle but most of the time, I consider myself as the rabbit. I procrastinate. I tend to suspend things that are supposedly needed to be done because there I firmly believe that there is enough time left. But when the time comes, I cram losing my focus and so I end up having a mental block.

However, if it is something that I am most passionate about, I make sure that I work hard for it.

So, how about you? Are you the turtle or the rabbit? Share your thoughts with me.

Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty

10
$ 2.62
$ 2.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago
Topics: Story, Life, Time

Comments

I hva eno idea where i stand because i never run out of things to do but the problem is if what I'm doing is actually productive or not. There's also that dilemma. Like when i draw. 1.5 hours is gone but did it ever amount to anything in the end? So it's hard to tell sometimes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Because there are times where you are in the zone, and you just realized why it happened or why did you do it 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di baaa! Or like when you're organizing stuff and nagulat ka na lang na naubos na buong maghapon na yun lang ginagawa mo. It's a weird kind of satisfaction though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right. Haha. And you see stuff before so you reminisce memories and play with it 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have a very inspiring and wonderful article its nice to read it. And i can feel that you are a strong person and its a very unique way of you. ❤️ Much love and god bless you Jeaneth 💐

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay, thank you so much for your valuable comment, Marty. It's my first seeing you in my comment section 🙈😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love-lots 😍😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is just a right timing article for my current situation. I have been thinking of writing an article about time too but I can't seem to find motivation to do so.

These past few days, I have always wanted to have a slow paced walk. I am used in walking fast or doing things really quick. I feel like I always have a deadline. And so I got exhausted and I think the only way to recover is to rest and continue with my life in a slow paced manner.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have been restless for quite some now. This has been an old issue I believe? Frustrations are bottling up and you are just tired to fight it. 🥺 I think your work has a major contribution of your current situation?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am both it just depends on the moment and task. This year was as bad or good as the years before. Only exception I can't be with my daughter and there are no celebration days. ☹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi, I haven't heard from you for a while in my articles though but I'm happy that you commented and thanks for the upvote. ❤

Why can't you be with your daughter? That's sad. 💔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My daughter lives abroad and the borders are closed. I doubt we can travel before summer 2021.

My connection is very slow and it's hard to load, post and comment. The providers are not ready for people living online. I hope you are doing well. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh. So she moved out and lived alone since after school? What is her work now?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No I moved to make it possible for the youngest to go to school. My daughter works for a company in the USA, an online job. She can stay/work at home. Just needs a good computer and internet connection.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. That's good to know that she has an online job already. However, the internet can barely meet the expectations?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's hard and she mainly works at night but at least they pay and I believe better than the former job she had. She just needs to figure out about the tax. Paying in the USA already and not twice.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello! We are in magical December,for me this month is the best. In this story I feel like turtle and also doing like turtle.I dont like to rush with nothing better doing slowly,hard to be success.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know right. I can definitely relate. When things don't go under my comfort zone, I lose focus and can't work well 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm the rabbit most of the time. I'm always chill and go with the flow 😆😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago