Things I should have done

4 11

Did you ever question the decision you made in life? Things like I should have done this and that?

It 5 years ago when I made a decision that made me of who I am now.

With a young age, I made decisions impulsively. Worst is, I didn't listen to the advice of my parents and grandparents because what I have in mind is to explore, and to not think of the outcome.

So here's the story .....

It was year 2015 when I graduated in college. Right after we graduated, I was encouraged by my classmates to work as a Customer Service Representative in Cebu. Without thinking twice, I applied for work and got hired.

I was kind of nervous that time because I will be away from home for a long time alone. However, the excitement is just overwhelming. My parents were skeptical at first but later accepted my decision as they were just being supportive.

I was really eager to have a job that time. The feeling of being a fresh graduate when you are out there looking for a job is a requirement as we expect.

I was 19 years old that time. I was very young. I am not familiar of the city at all. I just trusted my classmates who are already there working. So I went to the same house as them.

I got hired right away. The training was good for 6 months and after that will be the regularization.

During the training process, at first I liked it. The eagerness to learn about the job, how is it like to talk to the customers, the pros and cons, and all of those. It was all an excitement, at first.

On the latter when we the schedule was changed, I had a hard time adjusting because it's graveyard. So I had a lot of concerns like my body clock, the time when I go to sleep, and the time for my meals.

The training also got harder and harder as we got endorsed to the production floor. It was nerve wracking to speak English when it's not your first language.

That's when the time my regrets went in. I lost weight, I lost appetite because of lack of sleep and improper eating schedule, and homesick. I got really sad.

I missed spending Christmas with my family. It was so heartbreaking when people outside are celebrating Christmas and you are inside the office working, being reprimanded by your customers because of the service that we are not responsible of.

I finally had a chance to go home after New Year. My family saw the weight loss, I actually felt sick the whole time. It was really bothersome.

When I went back to work, I decided to file my resignation because of the lifestyle I'm into. I feel nauseous all the time, and I don't feel good at all.

I went home and finally rested for 3 months. My father got really bothered of my weight because I got so thin. I need to recover and gain some weight again.

If I have to turn back the time, I would have changed my decision and chose to stay with my family.

My health was the main victim of this impulsive decision and I will carry this in my entire life.

However, that experience was not all bad experiences. I actually made good memories and lessons to cherish to.

Above all, I'm still thankful of God for not leaving me behind.

This experience taught me on how to make decision intently. As what the law of motion by Isaac Newton says, "in every action there is always equal and opposite reaction."

2
$ 0.06
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty

Comments

maka relate ko.haha. 3 years pud ko nag work as agent maam sa Alabang.. dili.lalim mag adjust ug tulog kai dili.fix ang shifting schedule. mi overweight pa jud ko...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Lahi lahi jud pud og effect sa lawas ba. Naay uban pud, niangay sa mode of work. Naanad rpud sila kadugayan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oo.depende.ra jud maam. pero.abnormal jud ako lifesytle especially pag morning ang tulog.sige kog mata mata..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mao guud sir. Lahi rman ang tulog sa gabie gud. Dili init. Igang man pero di jud pareha inig udto nga singoton ka pag ayo. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now a days it is normal for a young person to become impulsive and curious about what the world looks like away from the family. Parents are just always there for us, help and support us no matter what we do in a good way.. You are lucky to have a parents that cares so much about you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right about that. It also taught me how to value the time you spend on certain things. Nobody's perfect. We all commit mistakes but what's important is we learn from it and not to do it again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I totally agree. Being in a BPO industry is not easy. Honestly, the stress your getting from irrate callers. People shouting at you when it is not your fault. I feel you girl!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I got low tolerance of stress, really. That's why I quit. I'm no longer happy with the work, it has been my everyday stress and it's not healthy anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago