The Reasons Why I Don't Like Going Back To The Corporate or Teaching Sector

18 36
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

3 years after I graduated from college were the busiest years of my life, I should say. I graduated at the age of 19 and from there, I began to find work to sustain the needs of my family.

My parents never made me feel that I am obliged to give back the sacrifices they did for me. I volunteered. I had an overflowing passion and determination to find work and earn money as much as I can.

3 months after I graduated, I went to Cebu to start working as a Customer Service Representative. The experience was awesome. I met good people, the pay was sustainable for a single person like me with no obligations to fulfill.

I mean, with the cost of living 7 years ago, it wasn't demanding as much as what we have in our economy right now. Everything has changed. But I had to quit because of the unhealthy lifestyle after almost a year.

3 months after I rested, I looked for work in Davao. I joined the job hiring on June 12, 2016, at the NCCC Mall of Davao. I was looking for any corporate job. I didn't mind as long as it fits my capabilities. However, the school that sponsored the registration process needed an IT instructor and so I passed my resume and got hired right away.

I taught there for almost 2 years. It was an amazing experience. One for the books, I must say. I never imagined myself teaching because I told myself I will not be a teacher like my mom because the job is exhausting. However, ironic as it is, I became one and I have discovered a lot of things about myself undoubtedly.

However, things changed when something happened to me in 2019. My perspective in life has totally shifted and is completely different as to how I thought before. Maybe because of my situation right now, that could be a major factor.

This may sound so negative but I have listed some why I don't like to go back to the corporate or teaching sector:

School kids and their parents are difficult to deal with.

This sounds so petty as one of the factors teachers have to face is the different personalities of the students. However, with the generation today, these kids have this certain level of confidence that turns out to be arrogance and they wouldn't mind if their actions are right or wrong because parents nowadays have lost the grip of discipline on the kids.

Parents nowadays have the guts to attack the teachers when their kids are the ones to be blamed. I have to give credit to those parents who stick with grit and discipline to their kids. Meanwhile, to balance both sides, some cases arise too because some teachers are also abusive to the children. That's not good.

Personally, I couldn't imagine how extremely hard it'll be for me to deal with such various personalities every day. It's gonna be a challenge forever.

Too many workloads but still underpaid.

Let's cut the chase and face the reality that teachers are getting too many workloads but are still underpaid.

When the pandemic started, the mode of learning has also shifted and so, preparations of the teachers or instructors have doubled giving out extra efforts to which demand attention the most.

My mom has witnessed how the learning system has changed from a traditional to a modern one. I must say, it took a while for her to get into the moment. She is doing well with how she uses technology in her class but imagine how draining it was for her or for them to learn a new style of teaching.

They had to invest in modern stuff for learning and that comes from their own pockets. Dealing with Covid-19 lately, protocols were established and everything must be taken into consideration. Not to mention, the administrative works the government is giving to them. What the actual f*ck. They are bombarded with too much paper works and they have to prepare for the class as well!

Limited Promotion options.

One would want to get promoted over time. That boosts one's profile and should establish a statement that you are a good employee or teacher.

However, with how dirty the government works today, connections are the topmost priority when it comes to promotion. So even if you showcase your pure intentions to your work and give out documents showing how competent you are, those employees who have connections to the superiors win. What's new?

That is why, as much as I can, I wouldn't want myself to settle as an employee. I have nothing against those who are working, I salute you for your patience and perseverance. But, I would to emphasize that we should be our own bosses to ourselves! We carry our own time, and nobody gets in the way.


There are still a lot of factors I consider of not going back to these sectors but these 3 are on my top list.

To be fair, what I have experienced in these sectors helped me to discover more of myself and I'm still doing it so. Every day is a learning process. The experiences are something I shouldn't trade with.


Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

6
$ 4.27
$ 4.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

my first job actually was computer teacher for a private school.. hehe until training lang ako because I had the same reasons as you list here...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Ana lage madam. Inubanan pas mga problematic nga attitude sa mga ginikanan no.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kya nga dpat bigyang pansin sana ng ating gobyerno this time ang teaching profession. Ksi first and foremost wlng ibng professions kung wlng teachers. Marami tuloy nagshishift into other professions na pwede. Kudos to teachers out there na nagtityaga pra lng tumulong mamold ang mga bata

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True madam. Di talaga pina-prioritize ng gobyerno ang education sector. Kaya I'll choose Leni as my president kase isa yan sa mga platforms niya and I firmly believe na she has what it takes to be a leader of this country.

Pero if di ka agree madam, I'll respect your opinion pa din syempre. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, lisod kaayo mahimong teacher uy nya pilahay ray sweldo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gidaog-daog jud tawon ang education sector. Samtang ang mga pulis, gapa dakog rana silag tiyan, dagko kaayong sweldo 🤷‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi. Bisan maot na kaayog image ang pulisya haha kuwang pag gihatag na importansya sa mga teachers ron

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero may teacher din na easy go lucky madam🤣may gumagawa kasi para sa knya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mga feeling superior yan sila madam. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why don't you try to work in a private school or academy ate? I'm sure it pays well. Or if you want, sa mga University instructor?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to work in the private school pero maliit sahod eh. Okay na yon na experience ko. Hehd

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro ate sa ibang school kawawa talga mga teachers lalo na sa mga pobinsya. Pero dito kasi sa manila, nako makikita mo na ung ibang teacher dito di nirereview ung mga pinapagawa sa student tapos mararamdaman mo talaga parang wala silang responsibility sa student. Sa gclass nga 3rd quarter na pero di pa tapos check an ung mga assignment na ginawa ng anak ko nung 2nd quarter. Minsan feeling ko pa eh nanghuhula lang sya ng ige grade sa anak ko. Well i know naman ate na may ibang teachers na responsible talga, hindi mo lang sila mailalahat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. And that happens talaga. May behavior din tong ibang teachers na pabaya and tinetake for granted lng ang profession 🤷‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesss kaya sana tumaas taas na ung quality of education at pagtuturo dito sa atin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bataa pa nimu ni graduate madam noh din na hire dayon ka ..maayoha gyud unta nimo hehe .. corporate world will be like “sayang ka” char hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alang kay 3 yrs old pako, gipa kinder nako nila mama. Haha. Sayang ah, wa man gani koy natun-an sakong pagka IT 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga madam..hirap ng work ng teachers..dami pa paperworks. Tapus liit lng swldo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Underpaid talaga madam kaya ng unfair din eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago