My Childhood Issues

8 53
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Do you have childhood issues? Growing up, did you experience something that made an impact in your life?

A childhood issue is a problem or a difficulty that a child may experience during their development years. These can vary from physical, emotional, social and behavioral challenges.

So I'm gonna share some of the childhood issues I have which I think are common to anyone too:

Sibling or cousin rivalry

I grew up in a very competitive atmosphere in the family. Back in the days, I can feel that me and my cousin who are almost or on the same age as me, are being compared to me.

This specifically happens on our academic achievements. Growing up, I felt the pressure of over-achieving what they have achieved because you'll hear comparisons about what we do.

As a result, it affected my self-esteem. Growing up, I have become a shy, introverted girl because I feel small whenever I encounter children at my age achieving more than I do. Now I realized how toxic my childhood was.

This is not the environment a child should experience. Let your child discover their capabilities and abilities then support them. Parents should be the prime supporters of the children and should not the dictators of what your children should do.

Bullying

As mentioned, I grew up and developed to be an introverted girl. That was because, I was a transferee from other school. I felt different and it took me a while to bond with my classmates at that time.

During grade school, I have witnessed my classmates bullying my other classmates. To my recall, I haven't personally experienced bullying in grade school. I don't really mingle with my classmates and don't bother of what's happening around me.

However, every lunchtime, I see this classmate forcing my other classmate to eat her lunch. What she does was, she gives her viand to my classmate and gets mad when my other classmate does otherwise. I felt bad for my classmate but I can't stand up for her, I am also a weakling and that bully classmate was rich. You are no match to rich people. That's a sad reality.

Abandonment

I started schooling at the early age of 3. I have a handful good memories of those years but the abandonment issues started when I entered grade school.

It was the first day of school, and I had nobody with me. Everyone was a stranger to me and I felt so uneasy to see so many kids and adults in that big school. Everything was new to me. Imagine the anxiety of a 5 year old girl watching the kids being fetched by their parents as soon as the bell rings and as the sky gets darker.

I felt so anxious of why my parents haven't fetched me yet. I was losing number of kids within my vicinity as their adults picked them. My hands and legs began to tremble when I could barely see anyone with me on that day. The skies went darker and I started to cry.

A few moments later, my parents showed up and I broke down. I could barely move my feet. They were all stiff. It was traumatic to me. I learned that our motorcycle broke down as they were on their way to fetch me from the school mom taught and it took dad a while to fix it.

Learning difficulties

Oh my. I have so many learning difficulties in childhood. Mathematics was the hardest one, in academics. Not to mention, the household chores I have to learn too while my younger sister is growing.

But I'm gonna highlight how traumatic and stressful my childhood was learning Mathematics. Looking back, I can see how anxious I was whenever we have our Math classes. Those were my nerve-wracking days in grade school.

I went through one on one coaching with dad too about solving multiplication using my hands. It was a bloody one. I cry every session and couldn't focus because I was so scared of him raising his voice whenever I gave his the wrong answer.

While writing this, I realized that I didn't take it bad though. I know my parents' intentions was for me to learn in every way that they could think of. However, if it goes beyond like abusing the child or punishing them, that shouldn't be tolerated anymore. That's a different story.


It's important for parents, caregivers, and educators to recognize and address childhood issues promptly to provide children with the support and resources they need to overcome them.

This can involve seeking professional help, such as therapy, counseling, or medical treatment, as well as providing a safe and supportive environment at home and in school.


Do you also have childhood issues? Share it with me.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

8
$ 0.22
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Eybyoung
+ 2
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Despite all these problems, I want to remain a child. I wish I could go back to my childhood

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't had problems with academics, I actually don't take it seriously.. I can be one of the top students even if I have several absences.

But my childhood is a hell.. until now, I'm still on the stage of accepting how my childhood went.. I don't even consider it as childhood.

Childhood upbringing and traumas will shape how individual pose themselves in the future..that is why childhood is very important stage that a parent should take care off.. let the kids be kids without pressuring them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can be one of the top students even if I have several absences.

Di nako mo sukol madam. Hehe. Bitaw oy, crucial gyud kaayo ang childhood stage. Diha man gud ma form ang perspective sa bata ba then dala dalahon na niya as memory when they get older.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i had one on one session with my papa too Not just math subject but as well as english spelling..He's a terrible tutor. 🀣..sla kuya umiiyak lage kc napapalo kapag mali ang answer.. The funny memory I had with them was when kuya spelled crocodile as crocrodile. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ til then, lage na namin sya binubully na crocro 🀣🀣.. Kahit si papa natawa..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha. Those were the days madam. Pero nong time na yun, sobrang pressured tayo ba pero when we look back all of it, matatawa nlng tayo🀭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also experience na ma e compare sa iba lalo na sa mga siblings ko yung feeling ko ako lage ang mali,hayss. πŸ˜₯

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ganon pa rin ba na fe-feel mo until now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan sis, mas maayo keep distance nalang focus sa family kana lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago