My Aunt in Oman

2 22
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

So I was scrolling looking for communities that I could join and I found this community which I thought I could make an article about my Aunt in Oman. So here how the story goes:

My aunt is already 48 years old and still working as a domestic helper. This is her main source of income since she started at the age of 22 years old. Kuwait was the first country she went, then Dubai and now in Oman.

She actually finished 2 college courses. Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Elementary Education. Crazy how fate works, she met a recruiter right away after graduation and encouraged her to work as a household helper in Kuwait.

I could hardly remember the first time she left us as I was only 3 years old that time. She worked in Kuwait for 10 years, then she came back home and stayed for 10 months, then went back to Dubai for another contract. She stayed there for 10 years again and went home stayed here for a year.

She left for Oman last November for a two year contract.

My thoughts about this? Well, as I grow older slowly being aware of how the things are going in this world I have come to realized that we should value the sacrifice our loved ones to us.

The thought of just being away from the family and their safe space is such a big deal. The homesickness they have handled for such a long time is unbearable. Not to mention, domestic helpers are the most prone to domestic abuse and violence.

I just couldn't imagine how strong my aunt is or the ofws in general. To endure all the pain, the sadness and the anxiety they have managed so far. Their lives are at risks staying in a foreign country.

I am not saying the other countries who accept filipino workers are known as abusers or violators. It's just that, you're lucky if you're boss is not so strict.

Sad reality is when they discover a nationality of the person, they tend to discriminate and abuse right away.

I just hope for the best and my prayers are with the OFWs, and most especially to my aunt.

5
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

nice article, thank you. she is quite brave

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. She inspires me on how to be stronger and fight every difficulty that I face in life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I have lived in a gulf country all my life. And I have seen similar stories here with my own eyes. Discrimination happen alot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a sad reality. It happens usually on Asians and black Americans 💔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Different parts of the world have different preferences and for some reason they do it on the basis of skin color and shape.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for approving to article I published. I really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah you can post what you want here but just dont copy article in the Internet. You can earn to comment and post but dont forget to like the post too. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago