Life Update: What Is Wrong With Me?

23 26
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Hey guys, readcash hasn't been my top priority these days. I don't know, I lost my sense of writing and producing content. However, I came here to express what I feel towards myself because even me, I am having a hard time catching up with my difficult personality.

I was wondering if someone understands me here, or if someone shares the same behavior as I have when it comes to establishing relationships (friendship or romantic). For years, I have been studying my personality and I have discovered something as I went through a lot of experiences.

I have this behavior where I can be at my most sociable state online (rarely happens in person, only when I'm most comfortable with you already) and just pour so much energy and enthusiasm in the conversation for a day. However, you should expect me to be distant after that because it's for me to recharge my social battery.

The tendency is that, people whom I interacted with get emotionally attached and expects attention from me after (which I don't blame them because we have established great emotional bond already) and when I explain to them that I don't really mind interacting with them after a week or a month and just catch up things with no bad vibes at all, they get disappointed because I don't meet their expectations.

It's like they want to stay in touch everyday but on my part, they're asking too much for me. And that's where the misunderstanding starts. I am serious when it comes to relationships but isn't it my right to have my personal space and be in my own world too?

What makes me feel bad is that they feel like I am only treating them as an object for entertainment because of my patterns of communication when in fact it's not. It's just that, there are days when you don't feel like talking, right? It's setting boundaries as well.

The thing here is that, I have already told them to manage their expectations and don't demand too much time from me because that's when I go back to my cave and recharge. If I want to get in touch with you, I will do it. That should be out of my own will. Not forced.

But it turns out that we're not on the same page. It makes them feel that they're only an option for me. A lot of us would say that we shouldn't change for who we are, but in reality, it's hard to find people who truly understands you and that explains why I don't have buddies in my life. Maybe because I have been so distant with people all my life.

I want to have this kind of friendship. But I guess it's difficult to find something like this. Are you an irregular texter too?

That's when both parties won't be bothered if you chat back after a week and just continue the conversation as if you stayed in that zone?

I have attachment issues, I would say. I must admit, it's a bad habit of me dismissing someone's feelings towards me when I tell them that they shouldn't get too close to me unless they wanna be romantically involved with me but I must like them back because that's a different story.

I tend to tell them to just chill the friendship and mind each other's businesses but the reassurance is there that you will be there in times of trouble.


Anyway, so much for that. I just came back to let you know that I'm still alive and as always, dealing with the never ending existential crisis. Haha. How are you guys?

Let's catch up in the comment section.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

6
$ 0.15
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.01 from @SuperJulalaine
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Actually ganyan din ako, I mean.. I am sociable naman but there are times na ayoko rin. I don't have steady friends din and I am fine with it because I can't spend a lot of time for them din naman..

That is normal madam and there's nothing wrong with how you feel.. mature people understand that real adults needs space as we have a lot on our plate to take care of.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pareha gyud ta madam. Hay salamat, naa jud naka sabot nako. Mao lge, I want that kind of mature level of friendship bitaw nga dili petty ba. Chill lang gud unta.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha ksp ra nang imong na friend madam nga need gyud attention 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Each of us has different personalities. The people whom you have friendly relationships might have the quality time love language, so they are expecting of a text from you, responses. Maybe the best way to handle it is to make yourself clear to them that you are also different, sometimes you want me times so that they will no longer be worried or in drama when you are not around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes madam. I agree with that. I made myself clear and told them to manage their expectations about me disappearing or ghosting in no time pero mag langi lage dayon. Hago kaayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't really experienced this in the real world but have in the online world. It really doesn't bother me most of the time if I get no reply or a late reply. TBH it annoying when you have news or need advice, I don't have many though that do that. I tend not talk to them unless they hit me up. So should I expect a late reply to this comment? haha joking

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. No, I'm in the mood to socialize right now. But yeah, we share the same behavior of not talking to people unless they hit me up. To some, they say it's pride. Is it really?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really don't think about it much. If I talk to someone a lot than all of sudden it goes a day or two with out talking I'll reach out. It's not a pride thing for me anyways

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Right, I agree with you. But if it's someone you just knew online and you're still getting to know each other, I don't understand why they demand time from me. Unless personal feelings are involved, probably. 🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It could be personal feelings not necessarily romantic but maybe they feel a special connection. Some I believe put too much stress forcing friendships. Some invest too much time with one person which is why they may demand time from the other. The saying comes into play, "don't put all your eggs in one basket"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dang! Spot right on. And with that if they don't get what they expect, they get frustrated. Makes me doubt of myself if maybe I'm really the problem itself. :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't doubt we all have the right to talk when we want to talk :) just because one may have a spark doesn't mean the other should feel obligated even if they dont

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap naman nun madam yung di ka nila maintindihan kasi iba yung expectations nila. May mga tao talagang di marunong umintindi satin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And it makes me doubt myself madam. Murag ako man siguro ang naay problema.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dili madam problema nila madam. Dapat kamao sad sila muintindi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Curious ako sino sla tinutukoy mo. Hehe. Ang hirap ng ganun, yung may taong mag eexpect ng something special in return. Db pwd friends lang? Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Just people I came across online madam. 😅 It's hard to cope up with their expectations talaga eh lalo na't it's not really my thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede naman friends Lang muna

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I prefer that ghosting thing na hindi attached sayo ang friends mo, tapos kahit magreply ka after few days walang hard feelings haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Diba? When kaya? 🥺 Do you friends like that? Sali ako. Yung chill lang ba. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo Jeaneth, kahit highschool friends kapag nagkita parang kahapon lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda naman ng samahan na yan. Sana all 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For sure you have one or more too

$ 0.00
1 year ago