Life Advices That Didn't Work For Me

4 38
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Back when you were in your younger days, I'm pretty sure you've encountered adults at their age giving you life advices. They say that you should take it from them who's had those experiences. I wanna know if those advices worked for you?

I've had these common life advices from the adults before that didn't work for me. And for sure, some of them didn't work for everyone too. I guess it's about how you take the chances and opportunities in life and put them into order.

So as for me, here are some of them:

"Follow your passion"

It must be a heavenly feeling when you are doing what you love and you take benefit out of it eventually. I mean, I'm not just talking about the emotional fulfillment you feel but also, the means of providing your everyday needs.

When you love what you do, you must be very passionate on it. You gotta have that unbreakable determination to keep things going, and that nothing should stop you. If there's something that comes your way, you provide considerable solutions from it with grace.

However, not everyone has a clear passion or may not have the means to pursue it. Sometimes, people have to prioritize practical considerations like paying bills and taking care of their families over pursuing their passion.

That's kinda what is happening to me right now. Personally, I would love to pursue music and media. It's something that I really wanna do but it demands a lot of practice, time, focus, and energy to be really excellent with it. And with my situation today, it's far from making it to be a possibility.

Although I would say that I'm not losing hope on that part. I still foresee myself performing on stage singing along with the crowd with our music.

"Just be yourself"

This doesn't really apply to everyone and to me especially. This advice can be confusing and unhelpful for people who are still trying to figure out who they are or have been criticized for being themselves in the past.

Many people are being criticized for who they are, and they're defined or judged for who they were in the past without even knowing the entire story. I'm a quiet person, and I'm judged why I'm like that. It's like I have to explain to everyone why I don't really interact with people and it tires the hell out of me. The world is full of judgmental people. They always have something to say.

However, some people take advantage of this advice too. They do something bad to the society and they'd justify that they're just being themselves. That's not good. Instead, I certainly believe that it's better to focus on self-improvement and growth while staying true to one's values and beliefs.

"Happiness is a choice"

This advice is not applicable all the time. While having a positive mindset can help improve one's mood, mental health conditions like depression and anxiety cannot be cured simply by choosing to be happy.

I mean, it's better to acknowledge the situation that you're not okay and there's something in you needed to be fixed. It's important to seek professional help if needed and to acknowledge that mental health struggles are valid.

Acknowledgment should also come with willingness to get out from the darkness and recover from it. One would need strong support system to keep them in checked and guided.

"Money can't buy happiness"

I don't believe in this statement. Money can buy happiness. With money, you can buy anything you want and provide everything you need making you happy. It's joy, satisfaction and fulfillment is what money can't buy.

These three mentioned is a different level of sensation that you feel when there's contentment. When one doesn't feel contented, he/she will never be happy.

While money may not be the sole source of happiness, it can provide stability, security, and opportunities that can contribute to one's well-being. It's still important to recognize the role that financial stability plays in our lives and to work towards achieving financial security in a responsible and sustainable way.

"Forgive and forget"

This comes out so personal to me. While forgiveness can be a valuable tool for personal growth and healing, it's important to remember that forgiveness doesn't necessarily mean forgetting or reconciling with someone who has hurt you.

It's okay to set boundaries and prioritize your own well-being, even if it means cutting ties with someone who has caused you harm. You can put back the broken pieces of a mirror, but you can never put it back to its original form.

We're talking about trust here. It's the betrayal and pain that this person has caused me. I can forgive what you did but I will never forget the pain you have caused me.


Wow, this turns out longer than I expected it to be. It seemed like I got carried away with my insights from my personal experiences.

So how about you? What advices or statements you don't believe or didn't work for you?


All images are from Google.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

6
$ 0.22
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @Eybyoung
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Pag depress ang tao tanan advice dili man mag work.. all they need is someone who listens and does not say anything at all coz it will add to their confusions.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yiiiiiz madam. True kaayo na :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tinoud kaayo madam labi na depress kaayo, stress kaayo bisan pilion nimu maging happpy dili gihapon ka maging okay basta2 dayon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True madam. They tell you to be happy as if it's simple.

$ 0.00
1 year ago