How Does Silence Benefit Our Overall Well-being?

7 32
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Are you the type of person who enjoys silence? Does it bring you peace? Or is it just the main cause of your overthinking?

Silence is sometimes taken for granted by many. It is when a person gets too busy with everything and they tend to forget the peace that they deserve at the end of the day.

Is it something that you need in a day after a long one or you wouldn't mind because you radiate energy through socialization? On the other hand, are you someone who badly needs it as it is where you recharge yourself and have me-time?

Personally, a little less noise would be a luxury for me. I mean, I recharge my energy by having alone time. I don't want social interactions with someone for a time, just my phone, music, and Sunny beside me.

Then again, we all have our ways of recharging ourselves. Although yesterday, I was in the electric corporation office to pay our electric bills. I was there for 4 hours because they were too many people paying too. It was Holy Week last week and everyone was in a rush to pay on time.

Imagine how hard it was for me to encounter small talks for 4 hours. It was really exhausting even if I only nod most of the time. Maybe because I tend to absorb everything they say so that concludes how drained I was.

But here, I'm gonna list down how beneficial silence is to our well-being:

Silence strengthens our focus.

Many times when you want to focus on something while someone is talking, you signal the other person to be silent because you want your brain to narrow down your focus into something?

That is why you are able to concentrate more because you have finally achieved that focus that you needed to think about something important.

Silence boosts our creativity.

When you are out of ideas, do you resort yourself to going somewhere and breathe some air? That's where you generate creativity as well. It is some sort of giving your mind to breathe as well because it may have consumed too much pressure.

When your mind is calm by practicing silence, it would certainly boost your creativity. No wonder why Pablo Picasso, Da Vinci, Van Gogh, and the like produced so much quality on their paintings.

Silence improves our self-awareness.

Usually, when we are in an argument, we tend to lose our temper and we utter words that would cause harm to the other person. As a result, you have ruined the relationship and that could change the ambiance.

When we are alone, that's when we can reflect on ourselves. Sometimes, when we give ourselves too much spotlight to everyone, it deprives us of doing self-reflection because we get overwhelmed by the attention we are receiving.

Silence gives us more patience.

With the amount of time we devote to social media, we can't grasp the idea of facing toxic people. From there, we miss out on the benefits of silence. As the planet revolves, doing a fast-paced one, we tend to lose patience and has a short tolerance for frustration.

It is important to have time for ourselves and enjoy silence because it cultivates calmness and serenity. If we regularly practice this, we would know how long our tolerances would be for becoming impatient. The power of silence is indeed gold.

When I find myself getting frustrated and stressed, I usually go biking and visit grandpa on his grave to breathe some air to relax and calm my mind. It really helps. It's effective for me. If I don't have the time, I practice the breathing technique. So that extends my patience and brings back my focus.


How about you guys, do you enjoy silence too? Or is it something you don't get fond of because it leads you to overthink?


Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

7
$ 8.23
$ 8.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.03 from @Meyzee
+ 3
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

when I became a mother, silence and me time were two of those things that I can enjoy only for awhile...hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Mahirap nga siguro yan madam no for moms. May kids to look for eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes pero i take it as a season.. makakaraos din hehe soon in God's time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. Di man sad ta pasagdan sa Ginoo no matter what ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Muy buen comentario es Silencio es la mejor arma para defenderlo a la hora de un ataque, cuando enfrentarnos una discusión, nuestra mejor arma es callar y observa, en casa hemos aprendido eso, la mejor técnica para el estres, es alejarse tomar un rato para reflexionar, respiramos muy hondo y meditamos, eso es un buen remedio, la respiración profunda es necesaria para nuestro organismo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako madam eh gusto ko ng katahimikin pero ayoko naman nun palagi. Siguro un balance lang ba. Kung ano2 kasi naiisip ko kapag tahimik, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truee naman. Nag-ooverthink tayo minsan. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago