Are You Consistent With Your Values?

13 50
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

How do you value your values? Are you consistent with it? Generally speaking, values are defined by how you stick to your principles, how you react to such situations, and how you know your truth. It is a set of beliefs that you strongly believe in.

I must say that there is a difference between religion and values. Oftentimes, people would always label your religion to your set of values. Your values are defined by what religion you have but I don't think it always goes with each other. You can have the same religion but have a different set of values.

A lot of people would say that we don't share the same values. We came from different backgrounds and upbringings. And that is true.

Values dictate what you believe is right or wrong, good or bad. It is not because of the culture or religion you are in but it's about your personal beliefs.

Having said that, my decision could be wrong for you and not for me. That works either way as well. It opens up the possibility of sharing different opinions towards another and that's how the world makes it complicated. That's reality.

But the question is, are you consistent with your values? What are those? Let's find out by answering these questions:

What can you not live without?

This is something with necessity. What are those things that you need and can't survive without them? It can be a material possession, a person, or an emotion.

When it comes to material possessions, wifi or the internet has to be included. Most especially if it has become of your daily routine. However, others are still living without internet though. I wonder how peaceful their lives are without the toxicity of social media.

Some would say they can't live without honesty or respect. I mean, who else can't? If there is no honesty and respect in the relationship then you are just like building a house with no proper and strong foundation.

What can you not live with?

This question mainly talks about the things you can not compromise. Things that you can not dare to live with.

Some can't live with people who don't have integrity, are toxic, liars, and are untrustworthy. Of course, we should instill forgiveness in our hearts. I believe everyone deserves a second chance but if this person has gone way too much, we have already reached our breaking points.

For me, I can not live with hypocrisy.

I can't live with people who are so good at putting on a show being generous to everyone, or are ready to help anyone but actually has an ulterior motive of using the people that may be of use to their advantage.

A lot of people have this. Some are just hiding behind their masks. Who would dare to reveal themselves in the public anyway? Their intentions are not pure. They trick people and take advantage of their kindness.

What can you live without?

Now, these questions target your sense of priority. What are the things that you can live without needing them? Again, it can be material possessions or qualities of a person.

As for me, I can live without vices. I am not an alcoholic person, I don't smoke, I don't gamble, I don't have an obsession with buying expensive things like shoes or branded apparel, I don't usually go out and travel, I am a homebody.

So expensive trips and luxurious material possessions are not my priorities. If I wanted to work hard for money, it is to support my family and other people who needs help.

What can you live with?

This is where it gets a little bit complicated. You will answer this based on situations that affect your values. It is something that you are willing to compromise.

This question tests your perseverance and patience. What is something that you are willing to be patient with? Even if you don't get comfortable doing it, you do it for a reason.

As for me, I can live with anxiety and doubt. I have been living with these two but I have to deal with it because I have a strong sense of purpose that I need to fulfill. My purpose or plans are bigger than my anxiety. I shouldn't let it control my life because I'll be off to nowhere.


So these 4 questions are to help you determine what your values are. If these are something you believe in, then go for it. I believe everyone should be the captain of their ships and not let anyone dictate where their life should go to.

At the end of the day, there should be no judgments on how you evaluate and list your values because we have a different sense of priority, morality, necessity, and compromise.

If you guys wanna answer these questions, feel free to tag along and mention me in your article.


Lead image source

Reference


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

10
$ 4.67
$ 4.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 6
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

We're the same sis. I live with anxiety and doubt. I can say it's my weakness but I never let it eaten my whole self because I know at the end I will regrets and I am the one will be lose. I am the one who suffer the pain. I chose to fight it and do my best to escape it and it will help myself a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ana jud madam. Di mgpadaog sa anxiety. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao gayud madam. Dili gayud magpadaog.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like those questions listed above. Values are created through meaningful effects from our environments. Wellx I could say sticking to my values, is sticking to the values of my parents. However, we still have our own core value which we live by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So basically, your values are based on what values your parents have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try ko to madam, hehehe... I'd like to share my answers tru article na lang hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Go lng madam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But our values are greatly influenced by our religion. I agree it would be really hard to live with hypocrite people, who speak differently but act the opposite of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would have to agree with that. But it is still a person's individual beliefs that make them as a human being.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Would definitely answer these. Sagutin ko sana sa comment but I think I'd like to elaborate more. Dapat talaga alam natin what are our negotiables and non negotiables in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. Tama yan C. Nego and non-nego 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your articles really make sense to me ate Jea. Reading the title, I immediately click it because I wanted to know if I am consistent with my values. Well, part of me says yes and the other part says no.

I cannot live without my family. Huhuhu they are my source of strength and I don't know know what to do without them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too, can't live without them and personal space. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago