A Test of Faith & Character (II)

22 41
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

June 10, 2021

This was the most challenging day so far this year. The night before that, grandma was already having a hard time breathing because of her cough. I couldn't handle the stress anymore so I texted uncle about grandma's situation.

About an hour after, uncle arrived and told us that he will look after her in her room.

The house's ambiance shifted into a room filled with worries and concern. I know I have felt this before. I believe it was when we learned that grandpa was fighting for his life for hours.

I must say that doubts took over and I let them control the situation. Gladly, I'm able to recover and didn't let that happen that long. How can you not think of all the worst possibilities when you saw in your own eyes how weak grandma has become since day 1.

Morning came and I got surprised why mom and dad arrived so early. I believed my uncle called her and informed them how grandma was doing. So they flew right away they learned about the situation.

The entire family has now decided to book an appointment for her checkup. While in the car, grandma looked so weak that she couldn't walk on her own. Uncle had to carry her so she can sit in the wheelchair upon arriving.

I was with mom too and my uncle who drove us to the hospital. I contacted the secretary of the doctor and asked regarding the checkup but I was informed that grandma has to undergo a swab test because she's showing signs of Covid.

However, I really believed that grandma did not get covid. It was just pneumonia. It was the symptoms that made her positive on the result.

Good thing I accompanied my mom to be with grandma at that time because it would be so hard if I would leave grandma unattended. She sat on the wheelchair so weak and she kept on drooling. That must be the acid within her stomach. I believed her ulcer got triggered by not eating her meals.

I went through the process and after an hour or so, a nurse came over to our area and informed me, "Ma'am, gi swab namo si nanay ganina then nag positive sya sa result ma'am ay". In English"Ma'am, we have undergone a swab test for grandma but she came out positive for Covid".

I was in huge disbelief after hearing what she said. I went blank and I couldn't keep up with instructions because my mind was still in the process of digesting them. When she walked away, I told my mom about it and shared my thoughts with her.

My mom couldn't believe it also. I informed my uncle about it and he suggested to tell the nurse about grandma's vaccination. He thought that it might be because of the vaccine that made her positive but they told me that vaccination still doesn't guarantee everything.

Minutes after, another nurse came to me and informed me about the necessary actions to take on grandma's situation.

First, we were advised to wait until the resident doctor checks up on grandma. The doctor who's supposed to check grandma was still busy so the resident doctor has to take over. She gave us prescriptions and I bought everything from the pharmacy.

We were also told that grandma must be sent to a rehabilitation facility because as of that moment, all hospitals in Malaybalay are full and all of them have waiting lists too.

My uncle suggested to the nurse if they could just send us home since we have a room that has a comfort room in it. Grandma will just isolate for the entire period of quarantine. However, the LGU nurse told us that the rehabilitation facility will be a better option in case something emergency happens, they will send grandma right away to the hospital.

Minutes after the negotiation, the vehicle arrived, sent grandma and mom to the rehabilitation facility. They were sent there before lunch.


I was left in the triage area with my uncle and decided to go home and take our lunch. It happened so fast that I couldn't grasp every detail of it. It was too overwhelming.


The next article would be about their experience in the rehabilitation facility.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone. ❀

13
$ 34.45
$ 33.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ellimacandrea
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 7
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Hugs madam Jeaneth. πŸ€— You were so strong for being by her side.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your grandma is stronger than you think. She'll get through this Lil Sis. Hope you'll not lose your strength too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were there the whole time to check up on me brothah and it helped me a lot to get through it. I appreciate it. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll always be there for you Lil Sis... I love you like a true family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you brotha ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Visayan translation: "Salamat, lapot nga sabaw nga babae."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na experience ko talaga yang sitwasyon na pressure magpa swab kasi na admit ang anak tapos may ubo syang konti tapos sinabi ng nurse na e swab sya tapos nag refused ako at tinanggi ko talaga kaya hindi nila ako pinilit. Kaya nagmadali kaming umalis sa ospital,basta may ubo daw kasi automatic na yon e swab.Kaya sana evrything will be fine with your lola,and may God will give you all strength with this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero na checkup nman anak mo sis? Kase dito, protocol talaga eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry for what happened to your loved one. I know this is just a trial, God will help you and your family overcome. Never let this virus discourage you. If that were me, I would be aghast, too. Keep strong and just have faith in God. He is the most powerful healer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admit that I doubted the situation ang negativities ran over me but thank God he never let that happened to us. Thank you for the encouragement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit siguro ako madam mapapatulala pah ganun. Grabe kasi symptoms ng covid. Buti na lang talaga nakarecover agad si lola mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ako naniwala na covid yun madam. Normal cough llng talaga yun pero ng positive dahil sa symptoms. Pero dapat di maging complacent. Extra ingat talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo madam. ako nga pag lalabas napaparanoid ako. yung bang ayaw ko naghahawak ng kung ano ano.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It must have been a very hard experience for the family. Honestly, if one of the family member got covid, it would really worry you. You always ask how thyre doing and whats hard is you can see them much. This month of June has been a hard time for both of us dai. Hopefully, ma okay na c lola nimo and praying for her full recovery too...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat miss andi. Challenging jud kaayo ning June nato oy pero thank God jud kay nalamapasan nato. πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao jud dai.. bisag usahay kapoyan naman ko oi.. grabe jud kaau ning June. Laliman ka, gabie, naa nsad bad news. Amo half brother didto sa cebu nga naay tumor sa brains and eyes, kay nawala. Kanang nikalit lang ug gawas nya wa na mKit.an. mga hapon daw last nakit.an nya 8pm na wala pa. Mao gipangita sa silingan nya wala. Dayun gi post sa fb. Naay nkakita sa UP Lahug. Nya, gi rescuehan kay ng seizures daw. Hays.. nabalaka jud mi. Nakit.an siya mga banda 10.30 pm na.. πŸ₯ΊπŸ₯ΊπŸ₯Ί ngano mani si June oi..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kmusta man sya karon miss andi? Hala oy. Maka stress kaayo ang June ay. 😣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi dai. Mka stress kaayo.. makalimot sya usahay sa iyang ginabuhat ako manghod. Karon kay mejo okay okay na daw sya ana akong stepmom...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prayinggg for your grandma po :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This must be a lot and an unexpected shock to the entire family, it is tough seeing people going through a hard time regardless of their age.

I wouldn't want you to panic, just pray and have faith that things will be alright.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the encouragement, George. I appreciate it much. πŸ™β€

$ 0.00
2 years ago