9 Habits That Are Secretly Destroying Your Motivation

23 48
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Have you been unhappy with your life? Do you feel like you are not living in your fullest potential? Failures, disappointments, and setbacks are all part of a journey. However, you may not be aware of these habits that secretly destroying your motivation:

1. Checking your phone when you first wake up

This is how 5 minutes can easily turn into an hour. I'm sure, most of us are guilty of doing it and there's wrong with admitting this. However, have you been happy with this habit? Does it keep you from having a productive morning? Or did you find yourself stressed because of the devastating and annoying posts on social media? Or because you checked your work or school email and you are to face deadlines? Or checking read.cash and not getting a tip from @TheRandomRewarder ? Yeah, is it really demotivating.

Well, you need to try some quiet time instead and do exercising, going for a walk, or making yourself a nutritious breakfast. Then, you'll be surprised how a good morning influences the rest of your day.

2. Making excuses for yourself

There's a difference between "I can't" and "I won't". Being afraid is valid but when something scares you, it becomes a reason for you to give it a try. Like they said, "Get out of your comfort zone." If you're afraid to ask your crush on a date or never go after your dreams because you don't think you're good enough, then you're just making excuses.

Rejections might happen but let them decide, not you. If there's one thing worse than failure, it's regret. It is foolish to lose a battle without even trying to enter it.

3. Not getting enough sleep

I believe this is what I'm most guilty about next to checking my phone when I first wake up.

Do you have a habit of sleeping late at night? You tell yourself, just one more episode or just a few more minutes texting with boo.

Well, creating healthy boundaries is essential. There's nothing wrong with unwinding at the end of a long day with watching your favorite kdrama or series in Netflix or texting with boo but you'll regret it fist thing in the morning when you stay up too late at night.

I blame my boo when I get to sleep late at night although it was a mutual decision to stay up late. πŸ˜… When I lack sleep, I am so irritable the next morning. That's how sleep influences my day.

4. Comparing your success to everyone else's

When you treat your whole life as a race or competition as if there are deadlines to catch on, you'll gonna burn out yourself for sure. Don't fall into the mindset of believing that you have to do more in order to be successful. What's the point if you're not happy?

Avoid the social media trap and recognize people's highlights are just that. They have gone through a lot that we never knew so each success has its stories to tell.

5. Dreaming without an action plan

It's okay to dream big and have aspiration but making it into reality is a different story. Don't expect something big will happen if you just stare at your window dreaming to travel around the world. At least, book a ticket πŸ˜…

Overnight success is just a myth. You will encounter hundreds of rejections but be thankful because those are just stopovers that you'll learn lessons from so you can be ready ahead towards your goal.

6. Making School, Work, or Relationship everything

Dedication is an honorable trait but too much of it is bad. Find a balance between these aspects. If you draw your attention too much to your work, you are already neglecting your health and you are losing your relationship with your partner, loved ones, and family. Moderation is the key.

7. Allowing distractions on you workspace

Well, this habit may differ according to one's preferences. Some people can focus with so much noise in the background. TV is on and earphones are loud as well. While others prefer to work alone in a quiet environment.

8. Caring more about results on the surface

Do you do these things just to make an impression or you really care about what you're doing? Sometimes, people fall into the trap of overloading themselves into activities as if their self-worth relies on them. Do something that you really love.

9. Lack of Self-Love or Self-Care

There's a reason why you put an oxygen mask first before you get to help others in a plane crash. This means that you need to take care of yourself first so you can take care of others too. Be healthy, pamper yourself, and have some me-time. ❀

My reference

14
$ 1.38
$ 1.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

It's what I do in the morning, wake up early, scroll my phone and see if I have earned something overnight. When I see no notification then I start to get up and go.. There are just times that I'm too lazy and what demotivates me is the cold morning. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Me too. I supposed to check the time only but I ended up turning on the wifi and check read.cash mainly if I got a tip. Same same routine 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

6/9 🀣🀣🀣 I don't go with 5,6 and 8. Yehey I got good grades.πŸ˜… I am more in number 1 but I changed that and minimize using my phone already. Also with 7. You can't just concentrate when there are lots of children roaming around🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's nice!

Trueee. Children's noises are really distracting. I mean everything is annoying but you have to control your temper when you confront children. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then there's me who overloads everything but is still motivated in the end because art is art but the greatest motivator is definitely coffeeee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Well, I would day you have a great skill in balancing everything. Coffee really makes your day noh? Not a coffee person so I can't relate but I have known people who start their day with a coffee. They shouldn't be a chance to miss it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nahh I'm a bit of a procrastinator din. But I don't drink coffee regularly. I just drink when i need to do something that requires brain cells, else super tamad ko and i won't finish. It's different with art though because I'm already motivated with the imagined outcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed. It's really different when you're passionate about something that you do. Art has been your best friend ever since. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now if only i was as passionate about job hunting as i am with art, that would be a huge load off me πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If we have the same amount of passion of we have in our hobbies to job hunting, then it wouldn't be a thing at all. Keep it all comin' 🀭🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are things that are difficult to undone, like those sleeping late at night, when being used to it, it is difficult to stop the cycle. Sometimes the surroundings are the factors that hinders motivations and it is a fact the society can affect us. If only we can ignore them and just focus what we think is best for us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with this too. External forces contribute so much to our motivation as well making us to be distracted and lose grip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sacrifice is an honorable feature but its too bad. Find a balance between these aspects

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. Balance should be present upon achieving your goals. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah, view my page

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure. Will do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it actually is "obviously",,it may be hard and easier sAid than done but we need to take those as another driving force to perform tasks effectively.not all of it but why not if one can,take it one at a time as long as there's change from demotivation to a motivation

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, it's easier said than done. However, if we work on it from time to time then I believe it would be possible. I, for one, need to work all of those mentioned. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like Garfield, your own up three? A long time ago I read some comics.

Habits are too many a good way to stay motivated. To continue with life. It's good for self-esteem as well.

To me, it's not the habits that destroy my motivation but people do. People who boycott me for example.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I own a cat that looks like Garfield although he's not the same breed Garfield has. He's a snob cat. Haha

I agree also. There are people who are greedy that are afraid of you achieving success. Crab mentality. That's a great impact for us to lose motivation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What makes it nice?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago