Is it okay to share your password to your partner?

2 53
Avatar for Jdine
Written by
1 year ago

This has been one of the reasons why couples fight and claimed to be one of the reasons why a partner trust the other. Especially if it's a social media password and/or the mobile phone password. It seems that for other people, sharing your password to your partner is one way to determine the level of trust in your relationship. However, there are also those who likes to keep each other's privacy.

Fight starts when one likes to keep his/her privacy and the other wants otherwise and demands an access to their partner's social media accounts and mobile phone. This could give misunderstandings that can cause a buildup of doubts between the couple and can be very annoying and suffocating which might lead into a toxic relationship. Unless, your partner has no problem sharing his/her password to you.

Then again, there are couples who has no issue in keeping their passwords to themselves. They don't need to know your password to trust you. People who value the privacy of their partner. The same goes to couples who share their password but still keeps the privacy. What I mean is, even though your partner knows your password, he/she doesn't open your account unless it's really important or necessary. And I don't mean "stalking" when I say important and necessary. What I meant was for important and necessary situations like when it's life and death situations, or something like that. Not to stalk.

There are upside and downside in every situation. There are pros and cons in knowing your partner's password. It depends on what your purpose is and on how the situation fits the importance of accessing their account/ phone.

Trust is important in a relationship. Without trust, knowing their password will never be enough for you. If you think they're hiding something from you, confront them. Ask them to open their account on their device if you want. Or don't ask if you think you won't even believe what they say.

Personally, I think looking through my husband's social media accounts or texts or calls once in a while is okay. But to do it every day just for me to trust him will not do both of us any good. But I'm not gonna lie... we know each other's password. We're even logged in on each other's phone. He cloned the app and we logged in our Facebook on both of our phones. But I removed the notification and I rarely open it. I even forget that he's logged in sometimes. He sometimes ask me to message his mom or other people using his account. I don't like scrolling through his messages. I respect his privacy the way he respects mine.

Am I stupid for not looking? Am I easy to cheat on? The answer is no and no... It's not stupidity. It's being mature and having manners. It also doesn't make him cheat easily. I can prove his loyalty and faithfulness without disrespecting his rights. And I believe that someone who wants to cheat will always find a way to cheat no matter what. Even if you tie them in a tree, even if you lock them inside the house, even if you watch their every move. And the more you suffocate them, the more they want to let go and be free.

There's also no point in wasting your time doubting instead of enjoying your time and your relationship. Every time you doubt, you're wasting a peaceful and happy moment with him/her. Give him/her the benefit of the doubt. But that doesn't mean you avoid the facts. Action speaks louder than words. Be respectful but smart.


4
$ 3.91
$ 3.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Jdine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jdine
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Hi, it's been a while since I open my account here in rc. And then this article of urs welcome me, so I can't help myself but to read it. For me more than trust and respect towards ur partner. We need to have a confidence with ourselves that no matter what ur partner doing behind ur back is not gonna let u down. I mean to say, being a girl if we became too much attached with our partners privacy to the point that we neglect to give them space. It may result to a big mess in your relationship. But if we have confidence in our self and let them think that we don't care if they will do things behind our back. Because if they do something then they don't deserve me. By doing so I guess they will think twice for doing something that they know can make them lost u. Guy's are afraid to be cheated as much as we do. So u just need to play ur card.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey Ferfer! How are you?! Miss your articles!

$ 0.00
1 year ago