Leave us alone

0 10
Avatar for JayTee02
2 years ago

Not quite long a young man walked in. He was so tall and his face was rough.

He sat with me and told me to settle down. He promised to let me go of I admitted to my crime, he convinced me that nothing would happen to me and let me go if I had just said those words.

As a young man, i agreed to those terms not knowing it was a set up.

There a huge camera on me while I admitted raping the girl. By the way, her name was Cassandra.

I stammered as I admitted to the offences I didn't commit

I was asked so intimidating questions which I gave positive response to. And I was also made to sign some documents

When I was done with the video. Two policemen walked me out of the room. I was so weak and tired. I told them I wanted to go home. The policeman in my front just smiled at me and whispered to my ear "You are going nowhere young man". As I wanted to confront him

He took me to a cell and locked me up

I was so pissed, I kept on banging the cell walls. Little did I know that they had gone to arrest my friends from thier respective homes

They tortured them and had them confessed that they did the crime like they did to me

Gary, Moses and Tim were a bit stronger than me. So they could withstand the torture.

When the news got to my mom that I was in jail. I don't even know how the information got to her.

She hurried down the the police station. Confronting them that i can never do anything as such.

They told her that if she wanted to get me out she would have to get a lawyer

The poor woman went to the bank that morning to get some loan and hired a white man who was a lawyer cause that was what her money could get.

My friends parent also hired lawyers. At that time to get a lawyer was over $600.

But there are so set of white men often regarded as "Libiwo" they collected $100 from defenseless victims.

So we had hope that the matter was gonna be be resolved. Moses mom had a friend who worked in CBA (Crochety broadcasting Association)

The media carried the news. There was massive protest. Many people asking for our release.

Actually the white men had intention of killing us but because the news had gone viral. The could not kill us. So they locked the four of us in seperate cells.

They gave us food and water but we were fed once everyday, Me and my friends stayed in jail for 5 days and counting. The lawyers kept on fighting the case. At that moment, I was so prayerful. My mind was full of regrets "What if I had just stayed inside" "what if I die in jail"

I had a lot going through my head.

Our parents were allowed to visit only on Sundays. So this very day was a Sunday, my mom had just come back from church and came to see. She brought me some apples and sweets because she didn't have enough money on her. I didn't even care about the food all that I wanted was for her to be fine because she was the only one I had left. My mom was my fighting spirit. She kept on encouraging me to stay strong while the lawyers kept doing thier jobs.

My friends mom was also fighting for them helping them out.

The cell was smelling bad and dark. I was so scared of the dark so I stayed by the window where little light and air comes in. Days passed, the matter was still on. They fed us dried beans and corn every morning then the next day was gonna be only corn. I was never a fat person but the food there made it worse. I was lean and looking hagard. To be continued

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
Avatar for JayTee02
2 years ago

Comments