If only I had changed the song

1 33
Avatar for JayTee02
2 years ago
Topics: Life

I'm a medical student, in my first year though, so we just finished our first semester exams and I wanted to surprise my mom by coming home without her knowing....lol.....my house is a 3 hours drive. So during my journey, the driver was playing an old school song which I didn't like. I then had to connect to his Bluetooth. My favorite song then was "Essence" by Wizkid ft Tems ft Justin beiber. So I started playing, the passengers in the car all vibed to this song as it went on...lol...I guess the driver didn't like it and then told me to change the song or get out of his car after I had paid for the trip. I felt so embarrassed, One mind was telling me to change it another was telling me just leave the car. Omg...I had to follow the wrong one.

So I left the car. As soon as I got down, it started raining heavily, I searched everywhere for shelter but couldn't find any. My clothes were wet, my books were also wet. Lolzzz...I will never forget that day in my life. I started regretting "if only I had just changed the song" but I guess it was too late. I trekked for about 45 minutes till I saw a truck that took me home.

On getting home, the door was locked. The neighbors told me that my mom had travelled. I waited outside for about 4 hours no food, no water, wet clothes and my phone battery was low. I just sad down at the edge of the door thinking about my life. I was imagining myself eating so much food. I didn't even know when I slept off.

Suddenly, a voice woke me up, it was a friend of mine. His name was Seyi. He was so surprised to see me staying alone. It was a so dark outside. He then told me to follow him to his house. On our way to his house, we saw a big scary looking dog coming. Seyi actually told me not to run but I was frightened and I decided to run. The dog chased me till I fell inside a gutter. I was injured. I broke my left leg. People gathered round me with bright Torchlight. Then I passed out. Al I could remember was someone shouting my name "Thywill" "Thywill".

The next morning I woke up in my room. My dad was sitting very close to me. I could hear my mom's voice from the kitchen and could perceive the aroma of the fried plantain and egg she was cooking. I was so hungry to the extent that I was salivating. My left leg had swollen but was under care.

My mom brought the food to me in my room and I narrated the whole story to her. She was so mad at me for now informing her about my coming. We talked for a while. Then she allowed me to rest.

As I took a short nap, I had a very funny dream. In this dream, the police were chasing me with thier cars. I had mine too. It was a very fast car. Can't really remember the name but the car was so fast. I didn't know why I was being chased but I ran as fast as I could.

They didn't catch me cause I was so fast. When I woke up , I was sweating profusely. Like I just finished running a 400m race..lolzzzzz.

I was on the bed, I could not talk, walk or even move. I was so thirsty. Then I remembered all that happened to me and tears came rolling. If only I had changed the song. My dad walked in to check up on me and found me crying. He pet me then gave me some food and water.

I was off social media for over a month because I was so Ill. My friends came visiting from time to time.

It was an experience I will never forget. But I was glad for one thing. When my result came I had a cgpa of 4.64/5. Which was a very excellent result. My parents congratulated me.

Something funny later Happened 3 months after the incidence. I saw this same driver in the park when I wanted to go home..lolz. he could not recognize me. The car could contain 5 people and I was the last person to complete it so the car can start the journey. I told the driver that I was going to enter the car. The passengers didn't understand why. One of them was even insulting. In my mind I was like "if only this man understood why"lol. Before the driver saw the last person to complete it , it took him over 3 hours. He was so frustrated. But I was not in a haste to go to school. So I patiently waited. Hmmmm this life, what his around comes around in a funny way.

Maybe I had done something to deserve that experience.

Sponsors of JayTee02
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
Avatar for JayTee02
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments

I was wondering if this was your real story or fiction :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago