Lesson from a Dying Man

0 26
Avatar for JayBrian23
2 years ago

I know him since he was my aunties husband. Since childhood, he is one of the people whom I consider as my second father. Among all my mother's siblings, they are the closest to our family.In fact, me and my cousins even exchanges clothes.

I know him as a jolly man, a very hardworking father, and a good friend. He always throws jokes and made fun of everything, he was the life of the party. We witnessed the up and downs of their family, but they thrive because of his goals of his family, and even went abroad just to sustain there needs. He is also very dear to his friends since they can call him in times of needs.

But there was a flip of the situation, when he became alcoholic. He is still the same jolly and a good friend man, but the care for his family seems dim. He seems to chose his friend and partying than his family. He works for himself, and came home empty handed and of course drunk. The peaceful and lively home became gloomy, and a family is close to Armageddon.

Time has passed by doing the same thing, untill one day he got sick. And found out to have an inflated spleen. This is where his energy drop and rarely interacts. The jolly man became gloomy and a friendly man became alone and silent. What a turn of event. But I love seeing the family members care for the head of there family despite of what had happened. Sadly, he passed away last September.

What lesson can we get from his life? I have determined two of it;

  1. Life is short

    Death is inevitable, it will come whether you like it or not, it might be sooner or later.

  1. Make use of your time

    Spend your time on what's important.

I remember from one of my favorite book "Tuesday with Morrie" by Mitch Albom, Morrie said "If you learn how to die, you'll learn how to live".

This is what mostly disregarded, the truth that we'll gonna die. If we are aware of it, we will think of things that are important, and we will have the wisdom to choose where we should spend most of our energy. Choose your life battles, enjoy the gift of life while doing what's best for you and to the people around you.

Thank you for spending your time reading my article. I am new to this platform and improvement is one of my main purpose why I am here. You can comment your criticism and advises on the comment section. I will be very happy and open for any suggestions. Thank you and Godbless everyone.

Sponsors of JayBrian23
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of JayBrian23
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JayBrian23
2 years ago

Comments