Unforgotten Memories

36 97
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

April 29, 2021

I was bored yesterday and can't think of any topic to write about. So I take out my phone and read articles just in case I can pick up some good story or topic to write. But still, nothing was popping out in my mind. So I opened my Facebook and check the notifications, then message to my family in the Philippines.

Then I opened my photo album and scanned my old photos. I'm thankful for Facebook as it kept old photos intact and become an important way for obtaining information about my family and friends abroad. It's not just a way to obtain current events, but also a way to reminisce the past by just scanning and recollecting the old photos and memories.

It was the year 2009 when I graduated from college and it was the first time that both of my parents attended my graduation.

I got my color from my father 🤭

Seriously, they never attended my primary and high school recognitions and graduations, because my father was always on duty and my mother was busy attending to my little siblings. It was always my auntie who was attending my graduations and it was just myself who was receiving the medals during recognitions.

Anyway, I was always understanding to them. Back to the photo, as you can see my eyebags are dark because of the sleepless nights just to finish the software system with my group and revise our thesis book. Graduation is really the day where you can say, "finally, goodbye homework and projects, goodbye terror instructors, no more sleepless nights, no more school stressors."

And since I was always away from home, I seldom see my parents and siblings. Most of the time I was at school and boarding house. When I saw my mother on our graduation day, what caught my sight was her bumpy belly. I asked her, "are you pregnant again?" She just answered, "No, it's just my big belly." I know it wasn't because I know the shape of a pregnant belly, but I just ignored her since I can't do anything about it. Then I was right, a few months of staying at home, I saw her big belly getting bigger and bigger.

And it was July 2009 when our youngest brother was born that almost take away my mother's life. I told her to stop bearing a child anymore since she's getting old and weak, and she might die the next time she gets pregnant. It wasn't her fault alone, it's my father's fault as well. But that was the end, and she didn't get pregnant anymore. Here's our cute little bunso (youngest sibling).

He's now in primary five and I'm proud ate here (big sister) because he always got awards and medals during recognitions. A few months after, I got my first job in a Freight Processing Outsourcing company run by the governor of Leyte.

I was lucky to be a pioneering employee of the newly opened department of that company. Since I was a graduate in Computer Science, knowing computer and programming stuff were advantage to me. I easily master their system and increases my working speed and quality. And that made me be on top, both Manila and Leyte sites.

I strived harder to be qualified for the weekly incentives, speed, quality, complete attendance without late, those were the requirements. Luckily, with the skills and knowledge I have obtained during the training, I was able to maintain being on top and receive weekly incentives. The Php 1000 I was receiving wasn't bad and it all goes to milk, diapers, and other baby stuff for my youngest brother, as if I have a baby.

The department also chose special billers and since I maintained good quality, I was chosen to be one of the special billers. If you are familiar with AAA Cooper, John Deer, Hitachi, Universal Studio, those are just some of our VIP clients abroad.

The special billers and next to me is also one of the top billers

These ladies were my barkada (peer) along with my colleagues I first met. These ladies were the ones who helped me move on from my painful breakup. The one next to me below is Mitch, the person who influenced me to study Caregiving.

Covered the photo bombers, my gay supervisor and the other one is kuya of the department 🤣 (the last Christmas party with them)

After production, we sometimes go to the nearest snack bar, have food trips and other stuff, and sometimes go to the sing-a-along bar next to the snack bar, or do overnight swimming at the beach near Mitch's house. I had a lot of good memories with them and I considered them as my closest friends.

But I got tired after three years of working. I felt like I don't want to work in a company anymore that is always in a rush. We have Time Allocation (TA) each day that was 2 in the afternoon, so all our tasks should be done before 2 pm. Sometimes it's so tiring trying to bill all the Bill of Ladings given to us, it is as if we were being chased by a bull. And the early morning schedule was tiring as well. I need to wake up 3 in the morning since our working hours starts from 5 am to 2 pm.

And luckily, one of my former colleagues offered me a position in their company. It's one of the biggest remittance centers in the Philippines. The work is not related to my course, but the salary was higher so I grabbed it. Aside from it, there is no rush at work and it's stress-free, computer, money, vault, paperworks, those were the things I need to handle in my new job.

After passing the exam and final interview, I was immediately assigned to work in our area. And since I was the only employee living in our area, they place me as a candidate for Branch Manager in our branch area. They tasked me to be a reliever in different branches of Western and Eastern Samar. Then three months after, they assigned me to work on an island in Cebu. I was hesitant at first, but it was part of my training so I need to accept it.

I was worried that the associates in Cebu might be strict or unfriendly. But when I get there, I found out that most of the associates were the same age as me. The other one even from the province of Samar, some were from Palawan, and Cebu city. Even our supervisor was so friendly and approachable. All associates from places outside Bantayan Island lived in the same Staff House. All celebrations like birthdays, Christmas, and other events were celebrated at our staff house.

My 24th birthday with them, and other bdays celeb

And what I like about working in this company were the events and parties. Christmas parties were celebrated in Cebu City so all our branches were closed and we all travel to the city while bonding and food tripping on our way.

And the last event I have attended was the company anniversary where they chose to celebrate on Bantayan Island. I enjoyed the party so much, there were different games, seafood, and met new associates from the mainland branches. My housemates also like food tripping even at night. Sometimes we will take out foods from outside then eat at the staff house before going to sleep. So unhealthy right? 😅 That's why I gained weight because of them.

But after nine months, they assigned me back to Samar where associates were not so friendly and the area supervisor has favoritism. After a month of staying with my co-associates in Samar, I decided to file a resignation because I wasn't happy anymore. I have always said to myself even before, "why would I work longer in a company if I'm not happy anymore?"

I was supposed to be the branch manager in our place (Basey Samar) but since I resigned, they put someone from other place.

And just a few weeks after my resignation, the typhoon Yolanda hit our province. I guess, my resignation was meant to happen. I was able to help my family during the Typhoon, as well as getting everything back to pieces after the typhoon. I helped my mother manage her booming store as it became the source of food and other goods in our place because all stores in our town have been damaged by the Typhoon. We were just lucky to live in a place away from the sea, but since we live near the river, our house was partially damaged as well, but our two-storey store saved us, because it's on the upper side and separate from our house.

For a few months, I became jobless and all I did was to help my family recover from the devastation. Until I got bored and tired of doing house chores and managing other stuff. Besides, I don't like hearing my father's shouts and rude treatment to us. I attended a job fair for Yolanda survivors and one of the companies was looking for a secretary bound to Cebu. Since I know that field, I submitted my resume and waited for their call.

Then one day, my friend Mitch told me that she wants to study Caregiving in my Alma Matter school, ACLC. I suddenly missed going to school and Mitch's plan was great as she wants to work abroad with me. But I got bored waiting for the call of the company, so I enrolled in Caregiving too.

But just a few hours after that day of enrollment, someone called me and told me that I need to go to Cebu to start my job. I asked him if I still need to do an exam and final interview (for assurance) but he said that I will start my work right away. I doesn't know what to respond to him when he asked me if I can gather my requirements and travel to Cebu the week after.

Life always gives me a hard decision. But I can't refund the money I used in my enrollment so I chose to stay and rejected the job opportunity in Cebu. I was actually thinking of the better opportunities that I can have once I finished my Caregiving course.

But there were no regrets as I met new crazy friends and for six months, I was always having fun with them.

We always like having food trips after class, go to birthdays, fiestas, even christening 😅, overnight stay at our classmates house with some galor, and pool parties. They were my bad influence as well, beause they taught me how to drink alcohol 🤣. But they know that I have low tolerance to alcohol so I usually take 1 shot then drink soft drinks and just eat the pulutans (appetizer or snacks accompanied with alcohol). Lol

After six months with them, we all went in different directions.

I did not continued working in the hospital and worked as a private Caregiver instead. I only have one patient to handle unlike in the hospital, besides, the daily salary was quite higher as well. Some of my friends work in private and public hospitals. Some were married to foreigners so they migrated abroad with their husbands. One in Canada, in Norway, Italy, Australia, the other one work in Korea, and my best friend Mafe went to the US and live with her husband on Cayman Island.

Since my first plan was to work abroad, I pursued it, and here I am, working abroad.

It seems like I had a great transformation from the first photo to the last 🤣

From a simple computer biller to an associate then became a Caregiver. I believe everything happens for a reason. If I have chosen to work in Cebu rather than studying Caregiving, then I shouldn't have my best friends by now, and probably, I shouldn't be working abroad by now, and most probably, I shouldn't be here on read. cash and no BCH in my wallet by now.

But sometimes, I am contemplating the past and asking myself, "what if I pursued my computer programming career? I might be successful by now." But it's a toxic job for me, so maybe I will easily get bored as well.

What matters now is the present. And a few months by now, I will be handling a full-time freelancing job. Will I get tired and bored easily as well?

That's the question, and I guess, I need to prepare for alternatives.

Either I will stay in my country and work in a public hospital near our place, or pursue my plan to work in Japan.

Life is a continuous journey, so we need to keep going.

27
$ 15.80
$ 14.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
+ 13
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ohhh you went through a lot of jobs, ate OnO i thought you were always a caregiver but you were a comp sci major pala. that's really surprising

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Ay akala ko alam mo 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nahh i didn't know 😅😅😅 ngayon lang talaga

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. This is just a great example of life being unpredictable. Seeing you went through so much forks in the road, with so many twists and turns I can't even organize my thoughts properly haha. But this story is quite inspiring. Also, this puts in perspective what we really lost with this pandemic. Get together, fun times, bonding and all that. P.S. Naalala mo pa thesis niyo? haha

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Salamat.
Oo nsa bhay nga copy nun. Computerized System sa high school ng groupmate namin

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay galing.. Buhay pa din. Hahaha ung sakin wala ng copy eh. Pagkatanggap ng grade, boom. Delete. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My hardcopy naman copy 😁 pro soft copy yun wala na ako. Kc nagka virus usb ko

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahah syang lang din .. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Matindi ang glow up madam. Hehe. Di kana mag re-renew jan?

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Hndi na . pahinga muna

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, you gave me an idea what to write. Pero huh gwapa at sexy si Madam! Madam, baka feel mo mgforeigner din :)

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you madam.. Mas gwapa at sexy ka ,😁 Wala nagkakagusto madam.. 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haang cheksy ni madam... You have a lot of experience worth inspiring. SANAOL talented gaya mo. Pursue your dreams in Japan. They have higher salaries in there or yet in Israel but needs a big amount to enter the place though.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read through your journey, nakaka inspire, indeed pursue jd sa dreams.. sky's the limit..go to japan! As long as wala pay kids...

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Kung maachieve 😅 thanks btw

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those golden days of yours by the way I'm the only one who is noticing you're not changed from teenage to now you're still same not much changes hehe all credit goes to facebook but now you saved your memories in this article whenever you'll read it after some years

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I don't think so..maybe on photod. But every time I look at the mirror and seeing the fine lines and dark eye circles. I can say that am already aging 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have read your post inspiring. I see you have more talent . you are not born to be simple employer jane but something more bigger . Tell me more about you

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Just read my next articles 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well documented xa, un ang advantahe ni fb khit san tau magpunta d na ntin kelangan magdala ng makapal na photo album pra lng tandaan ung mga ibng memries na minsan limot na, qng d pinaparemind ni fb o kya nagbabrowse sa albums ntin. Gwin q nga din minsan qng wla ng maisulat😁

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Sure. Minsan mga ireremind tayo ni FB sa memories nakraan db.. Hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabe yung experiences mo. Ang saya lang. Ang daming masasayang memories. Iba talaga pag makikita mo mga old photos daming happening na maaalala then laht ng stories parang kahapon lang nangyari kasi naaalala mo pa lahat ng detalye.hehe pero ang nagustuhan ko di ka natatakot magtake ng risk sa mga desisyon mo

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Ganun tlga.. Kaso wala fix desisyon kya kahit saan napupunta 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have the body of a woman in her early 20's... impressive.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thanks 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dami mong good memories with friends. Ako 26 na kakaunti lang na experience puro luma na un walang bago 😟. Well, kasalanan ko din naman kasinkaha ganon ano di kasi ako maghanap ng work aigooo.

Mas mukha ka ngang masaya sa last picture kesa dun ss nauna ee. Malamang kasi kaka graduate lang saka daming puyat days yan for sure. Ganyan din ako noon ee IT student pa nga.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Haha.. . stress na stress ako fourth year college.. Yun laging puyat matapus lng thesis at software.. Sa last naman.. Nadala lng sa camera 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha same di oa naman ako sanay na haharap sa tao kaya pag may defense aigooo aw utot lang ako haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay someone don't find what to write and then makes a massive article. Whereas I pan from before but mine hardly becomes 5-6 mins worth🙂🙂.

And my parents also never attented any programmes nor they visited my school to ask teachers about my progress. But yeah, mom mom went twice when they showed us our exam paper. But I will she didn't go there. I got bonk as my numbers were average😅

$ 0.05
3 years ago

🤣😂 try to visit FB maybe you can make a massive article 🤣 Yeah I hate them back then ..even school meetings they never attended. It's always my auntie... Because they are always busy.. So far, I had good grades 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I prefer smoll average one. They are cute🐱🐱 Sometimes I try to trim my articles and make them smaller so that people can hold their attention🐱🐱

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have a point. But sometimes, if I can't trim it, I just posted it all 😅 just like this one..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Remembering is living. An expression that became popular in my country a long time ago. I like the style of your writing and the way in which you weave together small fragments of your personal history, partially impregnated with your personality.

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us, strangers in the analog world but close in the digital one. Reality surpasses fiction when it brings you meaning and value.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I like your writing too... .and thank you for always appreciating my works. Good memories will last indeed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Memories are like dose in our bad times. You have a great collection. Bravo

$ 0.00
3 years ago