SkinCare Generation (The Darker and Lighter Shade Of Me)

35 84
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

May 19, 2021

After reading madam @tired_momma article about her favorite skincare products, I was inspired to share mine too.

Filipinos are naturally born with "morena/moreno" or brunette color and sometimes we felt insecure and ashamed when comparing our skin to fair-skinned people. Although not all Filipinos are tan or brown-skinned, thanks to their fair-skinned ancestors who inherited their skin colors to them.

Year 2013, murag ko nasunog diri 🀣 beach pa more 🀣

I was born having a natural Filipino skin color which I got from my father. My mother has a fair and smooth skin, especially when she was younger, and I was unfortunate not to get a big portion of her DNA. She even represented Ms. USA in their school back when she was in elementary. But my father's DNA is just so powerful that I have almost inherited all his traits.

I didn't bother about that though when I was young as I even want toasting my skin under the sun when playing. I have uneven skin tone back then, the covered part of my body and my legs have fair complexion, but my arms, face, and neck were dark. As if I was a child of a farmer who always accompanied his daughter to harvest his plants at his farm, or a fisherman who always sails on the sea with his daughter.

But as I grow up, I felt insecure, embarrassed, and my skin color gave me low self-esteem. When I was in secondary, I felt intimidated sitting next to my fair-skinned classmates and I was wishing to have fair skin too. But I didn't care about it when I joined CAT. For two years of having field formation every afternoon, my skin became darker, but at least I wasn't alone, as my co-CAT officers have darker skin tones as well due to daily field formation.

When I stepped into college, I started to be curious about my appearance and started to take care of myself more. But I was only a student, so I can't afford to buy beauty products for myself. But I was eager to change myself physically, so I always set aside some amount from my weekly allowance to buy affordable beauty products for myself.

COLLEGE Skincare Products:

  • Ponds Skincare products

  • Block&White lotion

  • Papaya soap

The very first facial care products I have used was Ponds Skin Care products, as it was always popping out on TV advertisements during my college time and mostly recommended for teens. My face was clear though, with no pimples at all, but because I want to lighten my color, I have tried Ponds whitening facial products and papaya soap. My classmates in college have pretty and fair skins as well, and I wanted to be more confident when facing them.

I missed this class 😭 (dark resolution lol)

Being in my adolescent stage also helped me glow a bit, and studying in a private school with air-conditioned rooms turned my skin lighter. During my first year, I've seen slight changes in my color but when I got into second year college, I've tried the egg white facial mask, unfortunately, it didn't work, and just caused pimple breakout on my face. That was an epic fail and the start of having more pimples.

My pimples were not really that many and big like others, but having pimples on my face was uncomfortable and giving me lower self-esteem. They were ON&OFF actually, sometimes my pimples were present, sometimes not. It was so uncomfortable especially when I was with my ex. He even has a smoother face than me 🀣. But even if I wasn't "hiyang" (suitable) to ponds facial cream, I still continued using it because it was affordable until I graduated from college.

https://edenjoysaban0.wixsite.com/beauty-beast/post/online-shops-to-buy-cheap-but-legit-beauty-products-in-ph

During my first job Skincare products:

  • Eskinol with Dalacin-C

  • Ponds facial cream

  • Vaseline lotion

  • Papaya or Dove soap

But when I started to work, I have changed my facial cleanser to Eskinol. That helped me a bit to get rid of my pimples. Some people also advised diluting Dalacin-C tablet on Eskinol cleanser and as they've said, it was more effective in treating pimples. It worked on my face during the first months of using the products, but as I used it longer, the effect gradually fades.

Just tried this St. Dalfour cream once.

https://www.indiamart.com/proddetail/st-dalfour-beauty-whitening-cream-22714265855.html

Then my ex was influenced by his sister to use St. Dalfour cream and it was really effective. Since my colleague was selling that cream, I have tried it too and it turned my face lighter. But I did not continue using it after consuming one small bottle since it was quite expensive and it costs Php 1,000+ per small bottle. Later I found out as well that it contains a chemical that is not good for the health.

The St. Dalfour effect 🀣 Still the same 🀣 Beside me is @Ken of noisecash 🀣

I'm not really using beauty products religiously and sometimes I'm lazy to apply them, so the effect doesn't last long. My skin color still turning back to its original brown color πŸ˜…. I continued using Eskinol every time I have pimple breakout, even when I worked in Cebu.

Cebu days Skincare products:

  • Eskinol with Myra-E

  • Myra-E facial cream

  • Kojic or Dove soap

  • Dove or Myra-E lotion

  • Myra-E as my supplement

My workmate was using Eskinol as well but instead of putting Dalacin-C, she was diluting the Myra-E capsule. I was a copy-cat so I have tried it as well. I also changed my facial cream to Myra-E moisturizer, and I used dove soap and dove lotion. I became a dove lady since then and taking Myra-E vitamins every day.

Looks the same though, just so light changes in my skin tone 🀣

I was assigned to work in an air-conditioned branch for a few months so my skin tone became lighter. But what I hate about my skin is it easily turns dark when exposed to the sun for too long, and it takes months to recover the skin color.

One time we had island hopping on Virgin Island Cebu. We stayed on the island for the whole day and my skin turned darker and sunburns appeared on the next day.

Toasted skin 🀣

I was assigned back to the non-airconditioned branch so it took me months to recover my skin color and a few weeks to heal the sunburn. When I went back to Samar, I continued using Eskinol but I stopped taking Myra-E.

Caregiving school days Skincare products:

  • Eskinol Calamansi (plain)

  • Myra-E facial cream

  • Kojic or Dove soap

  • Dove, Vaseline, or Myra-E lotion (it depends which one is available)

And when I studied Caregiving, I was still using Eskinol and Myra-E facial cream but not taking any supplements anymore. I don't actually care about my skin that much during those days.

Back to my original color 🀣 I missed Mafe 😭

Caregiving working days Skincare products:

  • Dr. Alvin Rejuvenating set (includes facial cream and cleanser, sunscreen, kojic soap)

  • Vaseline, Dove, or Myra-E lotion

When I started working as a Caregiver, my former Caregiving classmate told me about Dr. Alvin's rejuvenating set. It has an affordable price so I tried it as well. The peeling process took for a few weeks and I really had a lighter complexion after using the reju set for a few months. My skin liked the kojic soap as well, and it treated my pimple problem.

I'm still using the kojic soap and cream on my face and my body even until now, and the reju cleanser only if I have pimples on my face. And before going out, I make sure that I put on sunscreen protection on my face. Since then I'm not having extreme pimple breakout anymore, only a few when I am having a monthly period.

My skin becomes lighter especially during the cold seasons, but easily turn darker during Summer as it is too hot here in Hong Kong. The Summer here is too different from the Summer in the Philippines because HK has fewer trees, and establishments and residential buildings are air-conditioned which gives out hotter temperatures.

My current Skincare products

I'm using this set if I want to detoxify my skin. Bentonite clay is also effective in removing pimples and blackheads on my face with a mixture of coconut oil and tea tree oil. My nose is also prone to blackheads so I'm using this Biorè pore pack when I felt like I need it. And every time I want to pamper my body, I'm using this A Bonne Milk Salt body scrub. This makes my skin softer and smoother after bathing.

For my daily skin regimen, I'm using Dr. Alvin soap, cream, and suncreen every morning, Jeju Aloe Ice at night. I also make sure to put vaseline lip bam every after brushing my teeth to moisturize my lips. For my body, I'm using this Dove body cream and Dove body soap, it is really pampering and smells so good.

I want to stick to these products as they are not that expensive and suitable for skin type and I'm already tired of switching to different products.

And for now, I don't want to mind about my skin color anymore, as I easily get tanned under the sun. For as long as I don't have pimples on my face, then it's fine. I even like seeing natural Filipina colors like @tired_momma's. And sometimes, to be truly beautiful we just need to appreciate our natural beauty.

We all have different skin types and the products vary from person to person. Being a female is sometimes stressful as we always need skincare products and they are quite costly to maintain. And in this generation, we don't want to be far into the lifecycle of trend and we always need to stay presentable in front of other people to prevent being criticized by them.

But do you know how to become truly beautiful?

"Acceptance of who we are is what will make us beautiful."

Don't hesitate to share your own story below 😊

21
$ 0.55
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
$ 0.05 from @z_graeden
+ 9
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

thay phase tho- but vitamin E is good since it's a glutathione pre-cursor din. more gluta in the body na naturally derived, the higher the chances na pumuti yet I don't do that πŸ˜‚ hanggang vitamin E soap lang me

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mahal foods na may gluta 🀣 hndi rn ako mahilig sa fish kta less omega sa katawan lol..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you dun need to find gluta foods, just vitamin E rich foods talaga and das good enough omega-3, you can get that in chia seeds naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan ang glow up! Ganda... Gumamit din ako ng ponds at eskinol pero hindi sakin hiyang. Ang hirap maghanap ng skin care na fit sa skin mo. Kaya eto ako gumamit ng brilliant set. Okay naman, nawala yung mga acne.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hirap nga.. Hndi ako hiyang jan nagkakapimples lng ako.. Kojic soap ng dr alvin hiyang sakn.. Every day sabon sa face yun nkawala ng pimples ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O diba alagaan ang skin mga morena skin di man maputi basta makinis pwede na. 🀣 Alam mo madam yang Eskinol + Dalacin C napakalife saving nung tinigyawat ako ng bonggang bongga tapos anlalaki. Nakakabili pa rin ba nyan?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

D ko alam.. Prang need na ng resita kpg bibili ng antibiotics. Db dalancin-c antibiotic dn? D ko alam kung makakabili pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Acceptance lng tlga jiji.. ksi iba-iba ang skin tone ntin, mron ung iba na khit gaano kaexpensive ng skincare product nila still moreno/morena p rin. Not to brag pro mejo fair nman skin q, nung nag-online selling aq I tried to pamper myself on skincare products but later on tinamad din aq.. minsan naiinggit aq sa ibng mga young moms dhil todo ang pag-aalaga nila sa skin nila, but then I said bsta wla aqng pimpols at makinis si mukha okay na.. pro dun sa dove at eskinol peborit ng mga hiskul, relate to that. Ewan lng sa mga bata ngaun

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Dove parn ako til now.. Eskinol stop na.. Sensitive skin ko kya mild soap at lotion lng gamit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatamad magskin care. Naalala ko noon, napag-aralan kong magdiet at effective pero lalo akong umitim. Balak ko,ulit magdiet at magskin care kaso tinatamad po ako. Baka kasi mas mahal ko pa ang BCH kaysa sa physical characteristics ko haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Kht aki ngayon tinatamad na 🀩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ako masyadong meticulous sa skin care madam. Ang tamad ko na pag gabi. Gusto ko na humiga agad πŸ˜† pero yung akin ay aloe vera lng.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ako dn naman. Kya useless hndi tumatagal ang effect 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gumamit din ako nung aztec kaso hindi keri ng balat ko hahahaha. Lalo akong nagkaroon ng breakout kaya nagswitch ako sa milder ingredients. Gumawa din ako article about sa skincare routine ko baka trip nyo pong basahin HAHAHAHHA pakapalan na to ng mukha sksksks https://read.cash/@kli4d/my-skin-care-routine-a4995323

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Bka inaraw araw mo? Yung break out simula )ng yun. Kc prang hinahatak paibabaw yung mga pores mo.. Pro kung incontinue mo, lilinis dn feslak mo pro akk hndi araw araw. Kung gusto ko lng. ..wala naman ako pimples na..blackheads lng πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay siguro nga po nilalabas lang nung aztec yung mga tigyawat pero mainipin po kasi ako hahaha kaya aun nagpalit agad ng ibang skincare

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try mo ulit okay naman sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. You remind me of my daughter. She cried because she didn't want to be brown like me when they told her that she looks like me.

Well, the physical appearance is important, although, with the years and the wrinkles, which I still do not have too much, you discover that the important thing is the color of the soul. Who is beautiful on the inside, will radiate it to the outside in a way that nobody will ignore you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True.. Hey I like the colors of african girls and indian girls.. But I'm too ugly if I'm too dark 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, makapag sulat nga rin nang ganito πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ magkalabasan na nang skincare πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Gora.. Bet ko skin mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same tayo sis konting bilad lang sa araw itim na agad ang malala pa sa akin sis yung ilong ko mas maitim kaysa sa pisngi πŸ˜…kaya hassle kaso sarap kaso mag beach at magbabad eh. Nagamit din ako ng ponds nun yung black ang kulay kasi nakakalighten talaga siya ng dark spot pero now olay, aloe vera na yung my snail kasi di ko hiyang yung puti kagaya sayo at yung bonne milk salt din sometimes.nakakapagod din magpaputi πŸ˜…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Minsan ko lng sla magamit hndi maintain 🀣🀣 kakatamad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh lalo dito sa probinsya na laging sa bahay lang naman at malapit sa bukid kaya di natin ako nagamit araw araw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakin skin white lang tsaka ponds πŸ˜‚ pumuti nga pero nung tinigil ko nagkatigyawat haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Effective syo.. Sakn hndi 🀣 pati boys pla gumagamit 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag ako nagka juwa, saka nalamg siguro ako magkakaroon ulit ng skin care routine. For now, katamaran is eating me kaya wala na muna hahaha.

Si mama ko eskinol din ginagamit. Sabi nya lang linis lang naman daw ng fez nya. Ang dami ngang libag na nadadala sa kanya oag nagpupunas sya using bulak πŸ˜‚. Ung sakin diko pa natry, katakot baga.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Makinis naman fes mo kya d na need. Panglinis ko rn eskinol datin. So far ngayon less libag na fes ko 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ngani, basta pag nakilala ko na the one ko saka na ako dadali ng pagpapaganda, charingggg ahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tagal pa yan 🀣 Pganda na pra may magkagusto 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi ka naman sa matagal malay mo naman on the way na pala πŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anjan nga si A pra syo 🀣 pansinin mo kc

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, wala na bye bye na talaga yorn haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ito seryosong tanong hahaha ano yung Jejo Aloe something? Im seeing tomatoe and a green one here in phil specifically in watsons. Can it lighten darkspots area? Like underarm or thigh or bikini area? Coz since I gave birth that has been my problem tho its lighter now but its never been the same :(

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aloe vera sya na nilalagay sa red bago iapply sa face.. Pampaliit ng pores at blooming sa umaga 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago