Living In A Branded World

60 138
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

January 20, 2021

I had a conversation with this she-friend young lady when we went to a shopping center. We were roaming around that time in a shop with branded stuff. I was checking the shoes as well as the tag prices when she asked me.

She: Why don't you buy one for yourself?
Me: Naah, they're expensive. I can buy more stuff with that amount.
She: You buy la..(Cantonese tone)
Me: I Am contented with what I have right now and if I will buy one, it would be for my parents.

Same story when she found out that my phone got broken for the fifth time. Yes! I accidentally dropped it more than five times 😅 and fixed the LCD five times. The effect of readcashing while working, walking, marketing, shopping, etc 🤣. She asked me again.

She: Why don't you buy a new one? I feel pity for your phone.
Me: I want to, but not now. My phone is still fine and I don't want to abandon this because of many important intangible things inside. (I was referring to readcash and my digital wallets 🤣)

I am not a materialistic person. For as long as my things are still functional or usable, I won't gonna replace it just because it is torn, broken, or with scratches, and if it is fixable, then I will gonna fix it. The amount I used in fixing my phone is even enough to buy a new cheaper phone, but I just don't want to abandon it for many reasons. Additionally, my collections of photographs are there too.

And one day, this young lady needed a dress for their party. We went to shopping centers to look for dresses, and I noticed that her mother likes going to shops with branded clothes only. I then asked the girl.

Me: Why don't you go to boutiques, there are many pretty dresses there and quite cheaper, you'll gonna use it once anyway.
She: I don't know with my mom, she doesn't want her friends to see me wearing a low branded dress.
Me: That is hilarious. They won't gonna see the brand anyway because it is hidden.
She: Exactly. But it is always her decision.
Me: You know why those clothes are expensive? It's not only because of the quality but also because of the name. Some stuff is expensive but doesn't even have that great quality. It is because of the name attached to it. And another reason is that, the location of the shop. If the rent is expensive, then the products have higher prices compared to their other shops.

That is how our conversation goes, and with that, I suddenly thought with this question:

Why many people like buying and collecting branded merchandise?

  • Economic Scale

Photo credit: fashionunited.uk

Some people buy branded merchandise because they are capable to do so. It's like wearing branded things tells others where we are on the economic scale, a certain rung on the socioeconomic ladder. Those who are wearing limited-edition and branded merchandise means they are in a higher class or a job with a high salary, while those who are wearing RTW clothes are in a lower class.

Of course, I belong to the lower class. In my entire life, I never bought branded clothes, shoes, or bags. Oh, I did buy pants worth P1,000+ ($20+) before from the money my father gave me as a Christmas present. And during that time, I really want to buy something quite expensive for myself, but I don't want to spend my money on expensive stuff. And that is the only thing I have that worth a thousand, the rest are cheaper ones, except for my phone, luggages and my gold jewelries are my other form of investment.

  • To Fit Into Society

Photo credit: whowhatwear.com

Another reason why some people like buying branded merchandise is because they want to fit into society and feel that they belong to the group. But we don't actually need to own branded merchandise just to fit into their so-called society, because we belong to our own kind of society.

  • Go with the flow

Photo credit: fashionjackson.com

And nowadays, some people like following what's on-trend. They will gonna buy this and that, just because it is what society is using. They feel like wearing similar and familiar brands help them relate to others in the group. And some people believe that the brands will contribute to greater social acceptance especially in fashion. They like buying branded clothes that are perceived as trendy, fashionable, or high class, or that they fit into a certain peer group.

  • To Show-off

Photo credit: new-corner.com

But in some cases, they will gonna wear branded merchandise just to flaunt it to others especially to their friends. Just like the mother of this young lady. She always likes buying branded stuff because she likes to flaunt it to her friends. She always likes to outshone them in all possible ways.

  • Sense of Pride of Ownership

Photo credit: gyar.mercedes-benz.com

Another reason why people like buying branded merchandise is because of the sense of pride of ownership. Those are the people who always want to own beautiful and well-crafted things, and with high quality just like the branded merchandise. That feeling when they slip that stainless steel and gold watch over their hand, and they appreciate that sound when it snaps like art. That feeling when they hop out from their shiny Mercedes and when people look at them gives them the sense that they are rich and famous. And the sounds of the car door when they shut it gives them the sense that they have purchased a well-made machine.

  • Fanaticism and Loyalty to the Brands

Photo credit: pinterest.com

Some people will buy branded merchandise because of fanaticism and loyalty to the brands. Just like those car lovers who have a strong affinity for Mercedes or Chevrolet. Or those fashionistas who love wearing Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Dolce, and Gabbana. They developed that emotional attachment to the brands.

  • Sense of Accomplishment

Photo credit: vulcanpost.com

And another acceptable reason is some people like buying branded merchandise to reward themselves for their hard work. There is nothing wrong with buying something good for ourselves using the fruit of our labor. It gives us a sense of happiness when we own something that we could typically afford to buy. Those things serve us remembrance or gift for ourselves for being hardworking.

If you will ask me, why I don't like buying branded things even if I am capable to do so?

Because I am not materialistic and I am a practical person. Every time I choose a product to buy, I always consider other things that are needed to be prioritized rather than buying an expensive one. Once I saw a P2000 tag price, I always consider other important things such as water and electric bills, or the tuition fees of my siblings. Or sometimes I will tell myself, "with this P2000, I can already buy one pair of pants, one bag, one shirt, and treat myself in my favorite restaurant." That is how I think.

I do have some branded things but it can only be counted with my fingers. Just like I've mentioned above, I sometimes reward myself with something I can typically afford to buy. But most of the times, I reward myself with foods not things.

I really don't understand why there are people who want to fit into higher class society even if they only belong to the lower class. They will gonna save money just to buy a branded one even if they have debts to be paid, and the worst, some will gonna borrow money just to buy branded things they want.

Many people who buy branded merchandise are not actually in a financial position to be able to afford branded merchandise, because they do not act rationally, or in a way that is in their best financial interest, and that causes a financial burden.

Me wearing $10 worth of clothes 😅🤣

Just being decent and presentable is enough to fit into society. Brands are not actually what matters, it's just how you carry the clothes and how you act in a society. No matter how beautiful and expensive you are wearing if your attitude is rusty, everything becomes so ugly.

Thanks for reading @Jane

25
$ 3.81
$ 2.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.10 from @bheng620
+ 9
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Ukay-ukay talagaaa! 💖💖💖💖Ang mahal mahal sa mall ang pangit pa ng tela ( mahal din kasi ang rental fee at naka aircon😹) sa ukay marami din namang magaganda quality pagalingan pumili haha. Kadalasan yung mga business attire ko na pamasok sa school galing lahat sa ukay tapos sasabihin nila ang ganda ng quality ( ukay lang to mga bes worth of $1 lang hahaha)😹😹😹

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Madami mgaganda dun . need lng time mag halungkat 😅🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me neither po, just like being simple, only buy on ukay-ukay most of the time or before po, sometimes buy some branded items but those on sale lng po, lol, for my mother or brother po, now, haven't able to do that or be in ukay-ukay 'coz i'm being practical po this time, most people bought branded items with the reason u have cited or give above n also para po mging sikat po cla dhil afford po nlang bumili nun

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What's happening here, can't find your reply again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You've said it all here, some people like showing off even though they are not financially bouyant , they leave necessity and fancy material things, in University there is a friend I have who wear expensive despite that he doesn't have much more money with him but after he bought those he will later come to us to borrow things. I just pity their lifestyle. Besides you look ravishing In the picture.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

I really don't understand why there are people like that . .. Why not save their money for more important things.. Thanks for the compliment btw

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga bat nga and daming ganyan ano, ung nagpapaka gastos pa ng sobrang mahal dahil lang sa tatak or brand. I mean, same pang din naman sila sa cheap na damit at pants, maluluma din sila, magkakabutas, matatatastas so bakit dika pa dun sa mura diga.

Ako naman puro short ko Ukay ang price 50 to 70 php, good quality pa rin at till now nasusuot ko pa rin, kahit nga kupas na sinusuot ko pa, basta matibay pa at di mapupunit pag akoy bumukaka 🤣. Sa damit naman, ukay din ung iba pero karamihan blue corner, alam mo yun ung iba ibang kulay na tshirt, v-neck or rounded. Napaaka mura lang, 130 ung rounded 180 int v-neck natawadan ko pa mg hanggang 160 🤣, tatlo naman kasi binili ko ahahaha iba iba kulay. Sa pants naman, di talaga ako mahilig sa pants, pero mumurahin lang din pants ko, dun nga ako nabili sa lucky 99 kasi mumura ng bilihin dun. Kapareho lang din naman ng design ung sa mga branded kaya bat bbli pa ng mahal. Kowww never mind, ako din pag nakikita ko ung nga pants na nasa 500 to 1k ang price "Okay nevermind, di nalang ako bibili." Ahahaha.

Pahabol, pang telenovela na pala comment ko ahahahaha

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Haha . same tyo my price limit sa binibili.. Sakn kpg tshirt more or less 100 lng budget, pants naman 150-200.. T shirts ko dto galing baclaran iba2 kulang tig 80 each lng ata yun.. Whole sale kya mura 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang mumura naman dito nga ang mamahal, minsan pati ukay mahal din, ako nalang ang di minamahal talaga 😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lage my hugot eh noh? 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahaha syempre, di mawawala sa buhay yun 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Jane you must read my reply and you must give me response

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And you shouldn't copy other author's article.. I saw you published an article from other author . you translated it to your own language without his permission

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulation my dear friend as you a great and successful writer I am trying my full effort but I am not up voted my dear friend about 3 Month dear what you feel this my situation ?. It is very dissatisfied dear .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your comment is moved to spam, that's why you are not receiving tips

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Who i can be not spam comment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The reward to self part is well on point. Everything else is class, pride and prestigious. Expensive things are real nice but mostly to feel better than good, after getting it not because of getting it. I honestly think that we overlook the fact that there is no difference between these people and the ones not buying these branded stuff. Its a bit more about intention and the work you put in with that intention. Got to feel good, clean to maintain the good vibes also this spending of theirs is mostly after everything else is taking care of. Utilities are always paid off more than a year in advance, never worry about shortages or lack. Its an abudance, ease of mind flow state of being.

Good read!

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Good comment as well 🤣 thanks

$ 0.02
3 years ago

I agree with you. And just like you, I don't buy branded or any expensive stuffs that I can buy for a cheaper price.I would also say the same thing, why buy something so expensive when they would'nt even see the brand. Being practical is my way of living just like you 😁 andami sa divisoria kayang pwedeng bilhin, madami din sa ukay ukay 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Truelalo.. Dami dn branded sa UK 🤣🤣 hey my tele ka?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kung suswertihin may pera ka pang makukuha😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Price doesn't matter to me and so is the name.. As long as i'm comfortable sinusuot ko sya kahit pa paulit ulit ko sya suotin basta't malinis lang keri na 😁.. I don't know sa iba nakakaproud nga naman magsuot ng mahal at may pangalan pero ako i always look at the price tag first before i decide to buy..

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Same 🤣🤣 price tag tlga una tinitingnan. Kinocompute ko pa yan. Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nasa pagdala nman yan ng damit eh. Whatever you're comfortable and confident then you're good 💯❤

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Tama

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buy the unbranded version and put the saving into Bitcoin Cash!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the tip sir.. Exactly.. I save money than buying branded stuff

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Clothes from UK is enough po @Jane. I love UK-AY 😁😁

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Me too 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like to go shopping. I only buy when I have to. Jane, you look nice.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Me too . am a minimalist so i don't really have that much stuff 😅🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too . am a minimalist so i don't really have that much stuff 😅🤣

For me, everything is simple and that strives for perfection.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Proud Ukay user here. HAHA

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Haha.. Same here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Luv it, nice and great article I been read.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ukay ukay is life It challenge you for looking good clothes Very cheap and very good.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Yes am ukay ukay lover too 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sakin kalimitan sa tsangge ang damit.. Never pa ako nakabili ng branded na damit..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

JANE oh JANE…


Why are you so wise?


Because of that, you have lured my eyes


into seeing such a kind beauty,


that takes more than a visage to truly see.


You have the mindset of a rich person,


but to poor guys like me, you teach amazing lessons.

In this world, you’re a natural work of art,


'coz you’re not only pretty, but also very smart.


You work so hard to earn great achievements,


and for that, I’m always in amazement.


For many days already, this has been my only wish:


That someday, we’d make lots of beautiful babies!


That’s my dose of poetry, I’ll end it with a curtsy…

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Nosebleed here . why are you so good at making flowery words? 😅🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Flowery words? No Ma'am. They're just honest manifestations of emotions from the deepest, innermost corners of my ever-gentle, extremely-caring, passionate heart. That's what they are.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ikaw na sir... Galing mo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako na ang ano? Sana ang karugtong niyan ay... "Ang sinisinta ng aking puso." Pag ganyan, papayag ako kahit di pa magti-tip sa akin ang Bot ng isang taon!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol . you know what? 2 teachers na dumaan sa buhay ko, both rejected 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Siguro napakataas talaga ng standards mo. In that case, I should avoid pursuing you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really. I just have this trust issue. That's it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand. I'm sorry for putting you in this scenario.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't take it seriously . we're only joking here right? 😅🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really want to know you more Jane. I want to know the amazing woman behind the greatness you're showing here. It's only very rare when some member of the feminine species impresses me, and you happen to do it effortlessly.

I really admire you, and I'm not joking about that. But it seems like you're doing your best to evade whatever tactic I'll unleash. Maybe I should just stop this nonsense, it's heading nowhere.

Good luck with all your efforts Ma'am. I'll still be admiring you on the sidelines, secretly. May God bless you in all your endeavors.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You will know me more once you stay longer here 😁 and I don't want to lose a readcash friend just because of that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A bit early I seen a guy showing off with his new t-shirt... does it count as showing off?

$ 0.03
3 years ago

I guess so 😅 I really don't think like that kind of people showing off their branded clothes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its a good read, I am an ukay-ukay Girl from the Philippines. Im not really into branded ones.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Same. My murang branded clothes sa ukay-ukay 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Personally, I like only things that I know that it will last long. For example, I want to buy branded clothes because of quality. Wear to express, not to impress.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Well many likes to wear to impress 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm a bargain hunter. I think most of my stuffs I bought when it's on sale or really cheap. But I will buy expensive things for my family. You're beautiful and sexy Jane. 🥰🤩

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Thank you.. Bargain hunter dn ako 🤣🤣 at mahilig sa ukay-ukay 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago