Live A Life You Will Remember

34 75
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 30, 2022

Have you ever thought about how to live your life that you will remember? How to live fully and happily despite the challenges?  

Looking back at the past, I realized that my happy days are lesser and setbacks are more. These moments filled my mind, the laughter and tears, success and failures, ups and downs, and they will continue as long as my body systems are still functioning well. But what if my mind deteriorates and starts to forget things, will I remember everything?

@PVMihalache once told me, "Live a life you will remember." He's also the one who sent me this photo.

As we age, we tend to look back on our past journey and where we started. Would you rather see the ugly ones or the beautiful ones? I would choose the latter. I guess forgetting things is something we don't want to happen, especially forgetting the happy moments of our lives and our loved ones.

I once had a patient in the Philippines who was often forgetful of the present things but can clearly recall the happy memories of the past. That's peculiar right? That often happens to old people even to young ones with forgetfulness.

Every day, I would bring that patient of mine to her garden and I would start to ask questions just to fill her mind. Because most of the time, I saw her staring blankly at the space and seemed to be thinking deeply. As a Caregiver, one task we need to perform is to keep our patient's minds active to avoid getting Alzheimer's disease. One way is to keep asking questions, usually about the past, or allow her to solve puzzles and other forms of entertainment.

It was actually fun hearing her past stories. She was a physician and she often mentioned her work in the hospital. Then about her late husband and her kids. She lost her youngest child and her face looked sad while narrating her stories. It's not just actually the past happy memories that we could remember when we get old, but also the pain and sad ones.

At the age of ninety-something, I was amused by how she can still recall those memories. I wonder if I could do the same when I reach the age of 60 or higher. My job at her house ended when she was sent to a Home for the Aged in Manila. It was her remaining children's decision just to be closer to their relatives in Manila since she only has an older sister in our province who also needed some care. 


We all know that setbacks are inevitable and often compromise our well-being. However, we shouldn't let those setbacks ruin our beautiful memories of our younger years because every single moment we have in life is added to our memories, both bad and good.

This phrase actually has a song, and its lyrics are so meaningful. It's about taking risks and doing something great and big, something that we will remember.

Stepping out of our comfort zone is quite tough. I know a lot who are afraid of it due to unforeseen circumstances that may come that they might not be able to handle. But once we learn to master our courage to step out of it, we'll encounter a lot of challenges and face our fears. We'll get through storms, stones, pains, and tears, not just happy moments. But along with those challenges are lessons and memories that won't fade in our minds. Memories that we will remember.

As the song said:

So don't hesitate to step out of your comfort zone and do something different. Take the risk that's worth taking. Because we never what tomorrow holds. We never know our end.

What if it comes like a bolt from the blue? Do you want to regret not doing things you wanted? What if you reach a long life, what would be the memories that you'll share with your children and grandchildren? Will you share about your journey of staying inside your comfort zone? Your stories about not accomplishing anything? Your failures and regrets? That's pretty boring.

There was a writing prompt on the Weekend Experiences community on another platform and it's about having only a year to live. So how will you live with it?

In the fiction story I made, I let the character run away and risk things for the sake of doing what she wanted before she dies because her entire life only revolved around her family and work. When she ran away, she was like a bird that has been freed from being caged for a long time and she felt real freedom. She did risky things that she wanted to experience in her life without any hesitation. At least, in that way, she won't regret not doing those before she dies.

Just like in the song:

It's certainly easy to live the life we will remember. Simply do good things, scrape off the negatives, just be happy, and seize every single moment. Don't hesitate to pursue your pursuit. Don't be afraid to do new things and big ones. Face your fear to overcome them. Because you don't do such stuff, you will only get regrets later.

PV quoted one more, "one day all it's left is the legacy we create and what others think about us."

So if we want to leave a good legacy, we just need to live a life that we will remember. At the same, live a life that will be remembered by people around us. And we can only do these by doing the right ones. Be good, do good, and be happy 😊. As simple as that.

You can get the lyrics of this song here:

Thanks for stopping by.


Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

22
$ 7.37
$ 6.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
+ 11
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Masayang nagtry ng bago from time to time. Yun din sabi sakin ng mga friends ko YOLO daw so dont be afraid to explore habang bata pa kase para kapag matanda ka na you wont have regrets about your life kase marami kang naexperience

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It doesn't matter how long we live, but how well we live is the main thing. So we should try to live our life in the good way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At the age of ninety-something, I was amused by how she can still recall those memories

That's very impressive! Most oldies usually lose a lot of their memories by the time they get to that age bracket, but she can still remember hers. I can't even remember things from a decade ago, and that's already a big problem 😆

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣.. But that's an amazing part of old people.. They clearly remember the past, but easily forget the recent happenings.. My grandparents are like that..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

90 something...wow... That's to show us that memories are powerful and she kept those memories fresh in her mind by replaying them in her head over the years.

Speaking on living a life to remember... One of my favourite quotes says: "I would rather live a day and touch many lives than to live for hundred years and not be remembered for having done anything significant in the lives of others."

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That's another quote worth remembering...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Janeeeeeyyyyyy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is true and certain that one day we leave this world and the only thing that will be left it how we live our lives and what people think of us And that is why it's good to leave a good legacy behind

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is good that we live that when we remember we would be happy with ourselves. Living a good life is good at least people will always remember you for your good deeds.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Natawa ako sa photo na nasa wall, okay na sana kaso may JOKE sa taas, hehe! True, madam. Sometimes people are so busy living, we miss making memories to remember.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sang photo madam? 😅 Awhz yung kay PV hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"one day all it's left is the legacy we create and what others think about us."

It o talaga ung tinatatak ko sa utak ko ever since eh. Masama or mabuti ka during your living years, Its the legacy you created pa rin ung maiiwan tlga and ung maiisip ng mga tao na naiwan mo.

Now ko lang nalaman ate work mo, ito din ba work mo sa HK? my aunt din ako na caregiver and grabe ung experience niya, para din silang doktor sa dami ng alam niya eh.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oo.. Pero dami gawain aside sa caregiving.. Kakapagod din..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salute ate hindi din biro iyan. ❤️❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While my grandma was alive, one of her favourite activity was telling us stories of her adventures when she was younger. At some point i got tired but the joy it brings to her face when she sees someone to tell this stories is priceless.

I think when we grow old, what we do at our young age, especially the good ones will be the shining light that brings smile to our face.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

My grandparents too like telling us funny stories about their past.. 🙂. We just keep laughing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Live the life you will remember and will make you remembered. Yan naman ang sa akin ate hehe. Yung legacy na maiiwan natin dito ang mahalaga.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I mentioned it there hehe.. Yun mas mahalaga , yung kabutihang maalala ng iba

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Live a Life I will Remember? I have a lot pa naman though the adventure is that many still, it's a memory that I will happily remember when I get old 🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What about doing what you really want? 🙂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmmm, anh dami kong guato talaga na gawin madam. Pero I dunno why I cant force myself to you know finally do it 😓

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You just need more encouragement and self confidence

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True miss Jane. We should learn how to get our comfort zone kasi kung hindi hindi natin malalaman ang ibang bagay. Kailangan natin mag explore para to learn.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi tyo matuto kung magstay lang sa isang sulok

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes miss Jane totoo kaya dapat lumabas tayo sa comfort zone natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka sis, we only live once and we gotta make the best of it. Try and do anything that excites or makes us curious.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yung tipong risky haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He said the right. But i think i remember all the happy and sad day's of my life. But i want to forget the worst days but i can't forget those

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Those can not be forgotten

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As they say ... YOLO! Was funny to find the word "peculiar" in your article... done the next episode of Sarcasm Saturday and that word is at the essence of the post! Great minds do think alike!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Really? I'll gonna check on that haha. Thanks for these quotes.. My draft didn't become blank today 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

will post it on Saturday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the reason why I should try some crazy stuff that I've never tried. Those things that I don't like doing I should try. That food I don't like to eat just try and have a taste of it. Seriously I want to go in a club and dance and try dancing on the pole while being drunk hahaha Something I can laugh at when I'm old. I didn't do many crazy or wild things when I was young and maybe I'm too old for that now but still why not. 😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Madam. Same here. I want to go to a bar or club and dance like crazy 🤣. I wanna do ziplining, paragliding, and bungee jumping 🤣.. But most of all, I want to travel with my family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago