It Wasn't My Forte, But It Became My Passion

26 70
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

September 27, 2022

I came across this post about a set of questions for writers by @fantagira, which was initially posted by MJ, followed by Emily. Upon checking MJ's first post about it, I found out that those questions were from a certain site, and there were 100 questions for writers. Those questions are actually intended for book writers, but they are also suitable for bloggers like us. We are making stories anyway, just in another way.

If you want to visit the site, just click here.

Among all the questions, here are the ones I chose to answer.



When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I probably have said this many times, writing wasn't my forte back then. I was into watching entertaining videos, giving feedback on FB posts (including criticism), and fangirling. I never wanted to become one as it involves a passion for writing to create a better story, which I didn't have (before).

I remember back when I was in secondary school, I hated writing essays because our teacher required us to write at least 500 words. The longer the essay, the higher the score. That was absurd. Some classmates just repeated sentences to make the story longer. That's when we learned that some teachers were not even really reading the content of our submitted papers.

In my third year, I joined the school publication just to have some extra-curricular activity because being just a plain student was boring. But then, I was just good at the beginning. I eventually became bored with it too, especially when I opted to join the CAT. I chose to march in the field with a sword and a rifle, instead of holding a pen and writing, lol.

I was relieved when, in college, I no longer had to deal with such school tasks as essays. Only a few times. It's because we were into computer stuff. And when it comes to making a thesis, at least it was mostly research-based. We don't need to squeeze our minds to produce a book.

Although we all know how to write, not all are capable of producing content that can be considered the work of a real writer.

Read.cash was the very first blogging platform where I started to write. I didn't even consider myself one when I was just starting here, because I still don't know how to make good content on my own. Most of the time, I was getting ideas online until I realized that I wouldn't grow in this field if I don't learn how to make my own.

I considered myself a writer when I learned how to write quality content, stories, and series purely from my own thoughts. It wasn't easy at the beginning, but through the knowledge gained in reading, determination to learn, and consistency, I was able to apply the knowledge I acquired in my own way of writing. And that's when I learned how to write my own niche and learned about other niches too. It's been two years since I've been writing. Do you think I won't learn anything? It will be an insult if you doubt it.

What inspired you to start writing?

I'll be a hypocrite if I say I was inspired to write just because I like it. I can't even continue journaling my life stories. I'm inconsistent at it. The rewards I'll receive from writing inspired me to write.

However, as I stayed longer here, this became my passion and part of my daily life. The inspiration for writing has changed and it is not about rewards anymore, but rather the fun in doing it along with meeting new people, reading inspiring stories, and being an inspiration to others as a writer.

Just like what is written in my bio, which I got from an unknown author,

"There is nothing more exciting than meeting new people, hearing their stories, and being inspired."


How do you handle writer’s block?

This is the inevitable part of being a writer. Our minds often get exhausted, and even if we have a lot of words to say, they seem tough to put into writing. We experience this when we are tired (both body and mind), so the only way to deal with it is to take a break and rest until our minds recover.

Taking a walk outside can also help to clear our minds. There are a lot of things outside that we can use in writing. We can also get ideas from reading different stories by different authors on the platform. Some stories are informative, some are inspiring, some are mood-triggering, and some are mind-boosters.

We don't need to push ourselves to think of what to write. It will naturally come when we are inspired and well-rested.

What advice would you give a new writer, someone just starting out?

Before I thought I couldn't be a writer and that I was not capable of making good content. It's when I believe in myself that I can that I begin to learn things on my own. Something that I can be proud of. Doubts and criticism are natural parts of the process, especially if you started in the wrong direction, tainting your reputation and leaving others unable to move on. Gaining their trust back is as tough as gaining a reputation. But then again, if others don't believe you, just believe in yourself, and keep doing the right thing. And most importantly, learn how to deal with criticism and doubt because there are a lot of judgemental here. Just make one mistake, and everything will become the same to them. That's the sucking reality.

For the newbies here, never break the rules and always follow the right path. Gaining a reputation is always the first thing to deal with, and this can be done by interacting with the community and doing the right thing. If you are good to others, they will be good to you. If you interact with them, they will visit you. Do it not just on the first day, but consistently, because nothing is accomplished overnight.

Be patient and don't just focus on the rewards. Just continue making quality content while interacting with the community. As the adage says, consistency pays off in the long run. If you are struggling with writing, don't force yourself to write; just write whatever your mind says. Let your imagination work along with your fingers. It's tough at first, but once you learn to master your passion for writing, it will be easy and smooth. Find inspiration, create your own niche, and don't copy others. A new niche can be acquired naturally later on because learning is a constant thing in this world.

Just like Fantagira said, read and read. It's the most important part here, not just writing. There are also a lot of beginner's guides that you can find here that would help you compose better writing. But don't just read; you have to absorb what you are reading. Read, learn, and apply those you learn in your own writing. That's how you will improve and grow as a writer.

But above all, have fun, learn, inspire, and be inspired.


**(Check out the new nois.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency  PeakD Torum •Twitter

 

19
$ 6.49
$ 6.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

In fact you are a great writer! I enjoy reading through. Keep enjoying your writing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love ko ang writing pero hindi ako magaling. Laking pasasalamat ko sa readcash Jane dahil parang nag evolve ako, Kaya ko magsulat ng mahabang article half an hour. Parang naging talent ko na hahahah.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same.. Kpg nasanay na..madali na lang..basta my topic

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For sure, read.cash admin would be proud after reading this. His site became your source of passion even though you're not a writer before. 👍

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks.. But I don't think so 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maski ako ate di ko tlaga forte tong writing pero feeling ko andito na ko sa momentum na parang career na career ko na, taas pa ng grades ko sa may technical writing haha 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Career narn to dhil kumikita tyo haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Writing is also out of my league 😃. I don't even like writing a diary back then but now writing becomes my stress reliever. But I didn't consider myself as a writer, I am just a lost wanderer who got stock in writing because I found fun. It's not also about the earnings why I got stock, but the freedom that I got on expressing myself through writing without worrying about being judged. That's what I love about writing now. However up until now I still can't do anything about writer's block. If it comes I can't do anything but sleep and stop stressing myself from trying.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I guess that's a perfect way haha.. I better sleep to if I can

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being a writers isn't an inborn character, it's acquired through continuous learning the art while consistently committed to it. We ate all in this together. We'll done, I really cherish that advise part.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said sis 😘 All part of the journey. Maybe one day we’ll write a book too 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess you can hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love this write up and the advice you gave to upcoming writers. I knew what inspired me to write and that was long time ago. I just saved this prompt and would write something too on it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sure .. Looking forward to reading yours

$ 0.00
1 year ago

if di ka po ba masaya sa ginagawa mo pero you still do it and eventually becomes your daily work pwede po ba yun matawag na passion? since we do it naman with dedication and hardwork 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

When you constantly do a certain thing that makes you happy, then it's a passion

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we attached to someone or something than wr do it or care of with heart not for the sake of money

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also walk outside and try to refresh my mind whenever I find it difficult to look for a topic to write

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I knew a little bit about you, ate Jane. I am not really a writer but through time, I am learning and still am. hehe!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Of course, you know..you are part of their group... Just mind the things that you are learning and learn how to filter the truth and not.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako madam, what's inspire me to write is money, lelelel. I am not sure yet if I like writing or is it my passion? All I know is is it makes me happy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Anything that makes you happy is considered as passion

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ehhhh, diko pa rin gets talaga ano ba kasi ang passion haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are big enough to know that. Don't be denial .

$ 0.00
1 year ago