Humpday Wednesday

16 61
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 24, 2022

Happy humpday readcashers! Is it even happy?

I woke up in the morning seeing the sky too cloudy and the sun seemed hesitant to come out behind those thick clouds. There's news from my boss that a typhoon is coming. My country is currently experiencing stormy days and the typhoon would probably come here after leaving the Philippines premise.

This will be the second typhoon this month if it landfall here. More than a week ago, HK suffered from quite a strong tropical cyclone and I even shared it in my marketing blog on Market Friday. You can click here if you want to read it. The typhoon fell on Tuesday and was extended to Wednesday, and the rain remained throughout the week.

This made me ask, "why does a typhoon fall on Wednesday when it's my time to wash my clothes πŸ˜”?" The third day of the week is my schedule to wash my clothes since I'm just like a tenant here and I don't own the washing machine πŸ˜…. I hate it when it's raining on Wednesday as our dryer is broken and I couldn't wash my dirty clothes. More clothes will be stuffed into my hamper.

But after a while, it seemed like the Sun heard my complaint and it started to cast rays and went out from hiding behind thick clouds. Without hesitation, I washed my clothes and took advantage of the fine sunlight before the typhoon creates havoc later or the next day. But I hope it will just fade and won't fall here or at any place.

The sun is pretty isn't it? Later in the afternoon, the wind started to strengthen, and dark clouds started to form. An indication that heavy rain or strong typhoon is coming. We can't really predict the weather, it's fine but can be a disaster. Safety precautions should always be taken into account and we should always be vigilant.

In preparation for the coming typhoon, people swarmed across the market and Kowloon City again, hauling food and things they needed in case the typhoon stays longer because again, it is unpredictable and people here always want to be prepared for whatever will happen.

Coincidentally, Wednesday is also a marketing day for those looking for discounted products as the biggest supermarket in town is on a big Wednesday sale.

It happens every week and this gives us, shoppers, the opportunity to get big discounts on different products, from food, garments, and merchandise as the supermarket is a one-stop shop for daily needs.

Some shoppers were saving more fresh milk as it only costs HK$5 per box today. It's still expensive for me though (because I'm converting the price to our fiat currency in my mind 🀣).

After stacking some things into my shopping cart, I went straight to the counters as all queues were long. It took me more or less 15 minutes to pay for the stuff I bought.

On my way back home, I came across this bookstore with a very long queue that reached up to the pathway outside the store.

I remembered some posts of my co-Filipinos about getting back to school for real and no more online classes. Students here in Hong Kong will be back to school as well in the first week of September so people are buying school supplies ahead of time.

I wonder how my youngest brother is doing now on his first day in high school. He's an aloof boy that still needs some support and encouragement. The last time I called my mother, she mentioned that my brother is hesitant and shy to go to school alone to process some things, so my mother accompanied him in the meantime.

This reminded me of those days I was enrolling in high school with no one else but me. I ventured into the city that is far away from home in college with myself as well. I even explored the capital city of our country, Manila, alone for the first time. And going abroad? Of course, alone as well 🀣. At a very young age, I learned to be independent but it helped me a lot to form into who I am today.

Just another random article with a random topic.

Thanks for stopping by and please be vigilant there in the Philippines. Keep safe!

Follow me on:

β€’read.cashΒ β€’noise.cashΒ β€’HIVEΒ β€’Publish0xβ€’TorumΒ β€’Twitter

18
$ 2.75
$ 2.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 7
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Wow. You always have a lot to do on Weds... I guess nature is jealous and wants to prevent you from washing your clothes so you will stop looking too pretty πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. Nature is jealous of you, Janeeeeeyyyyyy.

Please stay safe Janey and my thoughts with those affected.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May God protect everyone from any type of typhoon. Better you change the day for washing your clothes or repair your dryer... LOL

Is there some sort speciality in Wednesday, or it's holiday there on Wednesday? Because you do laundry, and shopping also discount on Wednesday...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It was little bit cloudy from the morning. But now it’s looking like a sunny day here too. It happens sometimes with me also when i plan for washing my clothes, weather becomes cloudy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang daming tao diyan Jane ah parang Christmas, nakakaintindi ka na ba ng mandarin?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

September pa pala start ng klase dyan sis, Dito nagstart na nung monday peru sa kindergarten September din sa kanila. Wala pa nga ding gamit si Sam-sam kasi wala pang requirements na binigay si teacher para isahan na lang hehehe.. sana di ganoon kalate para di kami makipagsiksikan sa store heheheh.. Nakakapagod kasi pumila ng napakahaba hehehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Without hesitation, I washed my clothes

What a coincidence, I also washed my clothes today πŸ˜† we have never had a typhoon here in my country (I thank God for that) but I know how important it is to stock up on supplies when something like that is lurking around. If a mass shopping occur in my city just like the one that happened in HK, merchants will use that to their advantage and hike the price of goods

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Not here though...prices remain...unless there is a new pandemic and having lack of supply and panic buying..but things get back in control eventually

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good the sun finally came out and you washed your clothes. I pray everyone be safe from the coming typhoon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Diyan pala papunta yung bagyo miss Jane. Ingat kayo diyan. Dito nung andito pa ang bagyo grabe ang lakas ng ulan. Walang tigil.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

still converting into local fiat currency - haha this is so nice.

Ah the sad part is waiting in queue to pay, 15 minutes seems like too much. Well, I see Hong Kong is a really busy place. You've spent a Good day!! It's raining here can't go anywhere sadly.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's stormy here now 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, what a piece. You're lucky to see a small ray of sunlight. It's cloudy here at this part of the world.

Hope your clothes dry up before the sun goes down again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opposite kayo ng kapatid mo hehe. Pero magboboom din yan and makakahanap ng tropa afterwards

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mahiyain yun si bunso. Ako din naman. Kaso wala ako kasama nun eh..no choice kundi mag isa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uyy kayu na next? Ingat kayu diyan Ms. Jane and happy shopping charr

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Malakas b bagyo jan? Grabe lakas ng hangin dto

$ 0.00
1 year ago