Happiness Is A Journey, Not A Destination

48 97
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Happiness, Goal, Experience, Life, Blog, ...

January 29, 2021

Photo credit: shutterstock.com

Looking out of the window blankly while sipping a mug of warm water to make my feeling a bit lively, but to no avail, cold wind just sent shivers down my spine. The onomatopoeia of the oven made me startled and brought me back to my senses. Signs of depression showed up again after it was triggered by someone. A piece of bread seemed so hard to masticate, throat was dry and seemed blocked that I can not swallow. A stainless fork was like a heavy metal that was so hard to lift up properly. Even making noise and interacting with read doesn't help me that much.

I used to be so positive, but depression is depression! It can kill you silently. The new life each day should be something to be thankful for and having a set of meals on my table. However, my other half kept on asking, "am I really happy?" Feeling weary is what I hate the most and my mind is not in its good state to cheer me up. Sometimes it is our greatest enemy. It can bring us up on a sunny day but it can bring us down to hell on a stormy day.

I felt so down when this bottle came into sight and I got hooked by the words written on it. Seems like someone intentionally put this out to catch my attention, or should I say, to give me a message.

"Happiness is a journey, not a destination"

The events happening in my life lately were so weird, "is this a joke?" I said. As I searched it on my phone it appeared to be written by Alfred D. Souza, aΒ writer, and a Philosopher.

The quote was just so powerful that it brought me back to my senses, and while contemplating the past I asked myself, "how did I end up on this journey?" "What is happiness to me?" "Am I really happy with this life and job that I have right now?"

Photo credit: entertainment.directv.com

When I was a kid, my father's presents and presence made me happy. He seldom visited us due to his work and only saw him twice to four times a year. But I was happier when he wasn't at home too because I can play outside freely. He used to be so sweet to us but one day he became a bad wizard that locked us up inside the castle. Playing outside with friends while he was at home was forbidden. We're like his soldiers that should follow his orders and whoever disobeys his rules will receive a big slash. I was just so lucky to be a girl and a good follower. But seeing my brothers receiving big slashes from our wicked father was horrible. At a young age, I witnessed scenes that I shouldn't see. Get one mistake and all will suffer.

Getting medals when I was in primary makes me happy because I thought my father would be so proud of me. I was happy to have some friends who defended me from my bullies. They said that high school is the best four years in life and yes it was. More friends and school activities made me active and happy, along with that feeling of having a first crush. Just seeing him passing by makes my heart beats faster and my mood brighter. College life was a perfect blend of happiness and freedom. I got more friends on board, away from responsibilities at home since I decided to live in the city, and even felt the real love for the first time in my life.

Photo credit: Unsplash

This chain kept continued until I get a job. I even thought that having a family with my first love might make me happier and might unchain me from responsibilities. However, my journey to looking towards happiness kept changing its position with time. Challenges were thrown from different directions. And the responsibilities placed on my shoulders outweighed the happiness. "When will I be happy?"

I was happy seven years ago when I finally released the grudge I was holding against my father for more than twenty years. I expressed it out so loudly but I just received a gun pointed at my head. A daughter who broke his father's ego deserves to die. If he only had the courage to pull the trigger, I was ready by that time. I thought I was brave enough to face the consequences of my actions, but the weak part of me took over and I ran away.

That was a big break for me. I ran away from my toxic life and wicked father. He got millions so I didn't worried much about my family. I was happy but I'm not. I thought I was happy with no responsibilities on my shoulders, but the baggage I was carrying was even heavier. And only the death of my grandfather reunited us again. Upon seeing the faces of my family and hearing their cries, I said to myself, "just let the time heal all wounds."

I started to fix the broken pieces of the past.

I work and work, because I thought giving back the effort of my parents will make me happier. I thought that seeing my siblings savoring the fruit of my labor will make my hardship well paid off. And with all my courage I conquered the foreign land because I thought happiness can be found here. But looking at myself drowning in the black hole of loneliness is pitiful. In some moments, I am sruggling to reach for something to hold on to, but no one was there to catch me every time I fall.

"Is my life really worth living for?"
"When will I feel the real happiness?"

People thought I am happy with life because they see me smiling. They thought I am happy with my job because they see me enjoying my life abroad. In every step I take, every mountain I climb, and in every place I travel, I always carry that smile and laugh until I get exhausted. However, at the end of the day, I still go back to where I used to stay. At a doomed place of solitude where I thought I am okay. An introvert like me should be liking the solitude, but sometimes the silence is so deafening and the darkness is so horrifying.

The dark night of the soul almost shattered my faith. But a beam of light passed through the window and lit up my room. I thought I will be trapped behind the depressing wall forever. Then at the corner of the darkroom, I realized that.....

I was in a hurry to chase that happiness that I was aiming for, and kept on running towards my ideal destination. But then after a long run, I still didn't obtain real happiness. I was blind, I was coldhearted, I was naive, I was weak, and I was so dumb not to understand that "happiness is a journey, not a destination." There were many obstacles but I didn't look at the way positively. Because I was looking straight at my visual destination of happiness.

Looking back at my past journey....

I should be happy that my family is happy.

I should be happy that I found my real friends.

I should be happy that I have experienced things that others won't ever have.

I should be happy that despite uncertainties happening in this world, I am still blessed with life, food, shelter, and a job.

I should be happy that I inspired people inside and outside my virtual world.

I should be happy because someone is smiling because of me.

I should be happy with the small achievements I have obtained in life.

I should be happy with what I have right now and not with what I am looking for.

And Mr. Alfred is right, obstacles were my life and there is no way to happiness because happiness is the way. I felt sad because I still don't feel that ultimate happiness I was looking for. But I forgot that only we can appreciate the real value of happiness every after sadness.

I know life is not perfect and there will always be something missing, something incomplete, and something unpleasant. I may don't feel that ultimate happiness today but someday, I know, in God's due time, it will come to me perfectly.

Maybe I just need to face the world of challenges with a smiling face. This might take me to the journey of happiness to which I am aiming for. I shouldn't look at it as a destination but a journey. I should keep that journey colorful and wonderful. And in every dark, there is always a light that will pave my way towards my goal and to see the real happiness.

And from this day onwards, there will be no more darkness, no more sadness, no more weary moments, no more dramas. I will stand tall every time I fall and will keep running towards my goal.

If you have read up to this part, thank you for your time. I just want to vent this heavy feeling out because I don't want to carry this for a long time. And I should be happy that I have this platform where I can vent out and share my emotions where some people are willing to listen. I used to sail alone, but then I realized that I need to get people on board to make the voyage memorable and enjoyable.

And I almost forgot that I should be happy because I have a new family - my #Club1BCH family. So in my next journey towards finding happiness and towards achieving my goal, you guys are with me.

Thanks for reading @Jane

Edited: included the part seven years ago. Need to release this all out.

19
$ 3.97
$ 2.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 1.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 6
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Happiness, Goal, Experience, Life, Blog, ...

Comments

May not be my place to speak because i still have relapses in my depression but i learned when i was 16 that happiness was in the little things, really. Like when you get to hug pets or when your cooking turns out amazing or when you manage to finish everything you had to for that day, but maybe that's just what keeps me from relapsing so bad recently

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Ako dn naman.. Mahirap tlga madami iniisip.. Anytime natitrigger lalo naga tao ksama dto

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If ignoring can help tho. But then idk those people around you so idk but you do go out when you're free and that's good avoidance na din kasi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is the 3rd article I read from you today, and it just gave me goosebumps. I used to believe that I will only be totally happy when I achieve all my goals in life, but just like what the quote said, Happiness is a journey, not a destination. You are really such an inspiration. πŸ₯ΊπŸ’š

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thank you for reading.. . yan ang article na nilaanan ko ng luha 😒

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just read this late, I know you are stronger than you ever thought. We are made to be conquerors. Hugs to you! Keep safe always, be inspired so you can continue to be an inspiration to someone else that needs it.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Just like you 😊 an inspiration to us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You don't need to lay your soul bare, and you don't. I like that your writings are inspired from the inner you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much sir.. And for your generous tips

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Come here and let me give you a hug!!! πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—(Can't find any emojis that represents hug)

I can relate to this article. I like the most is the quote "Happiness is the way." Always know that God has a purpose in everything that is happening in our life. Gasgas na tong Bible verse na ito pero totoong totoo ito.

Jeremiah 29:11-12 For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, β€˜plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. 12 Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.

Talk to God. Easier said than done I know. I rarely pray these past days for my mind is so troubled that I do not know what to pray anymore. The trick is, just be silent. Tell the Lord to search your heart, find what's aching and He will surely super duper surely, will fix it. God has a purpose in your life. Don't let depression kill the happiness that you so much deserve.

Hugs!!! πŸ€—πŸ€—β€οΈβ€οΈ

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Naiyak ako dto 😭 am strong but emotional... Cguro nga need ko lng si,, God. I admit I don't visit him nowadays and sometimes forgot to pray before I sleep.. Maybe this thing happened so I can remember Him..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That always happens to me. I actually thought it's better for life to be hard because I'm sure that God is always going to be there for me. Rather than being happy and sometimes, well most of the times, i forget about Him when I'm not facing challenges.

Know that there is always hope in God. Tonight, you can just pray silently and face tomorrow with a stronger heart and healthier mind. πŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺ❀️❀️❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for reminding me.. Challenges are really created so we can remember Him..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

your write up was very touching, maybe it is the story or the emotional distress , infact i was moved. happiness is the very crucial tool in life that keep us heathier no matter what situation we face in life we must find our own way of being happy, i wish you will be happy forever cos having you is also a source of happiness.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Thank you 😭 hearing this kind of compliment from other people makes me happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

seriously i can relate to how you feel , but nevertheless you have found your way of being happy and again seek happiness from and he shall bestow you with everlasting joy, i am happy that you are here, just dont stop you are our strength.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yoh that was heartfelt and very relative. So much truth and potential. I'm proud to have you, you are the coolest and smart all too unique.

It was Bittersweet reading this, won't lie- I skipped most of the 1/5th cos of relations but the momentum you picked up and the things you did are just amazing really.

Good read Bless up!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thank you for reading..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love and light

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you're okay now. You are an inspiration to others , to me and for the club. Each of us has its own silent screams but what's important is we choose to be optimistic and look forward positively.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I need to.. Coz I still have a goal ,,πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Alright β™₯️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

You experience a lot pala talaga no, buti hindi ka nagpakain sa depresyon buti nalabanan mo. In this article you just show to us how strong of a warrior you are, you fight all those feelings that trying to make your mind go all crazy. I'm sure makakarating ka din sa destinasyon mo, yong masaya at walang iniisip na gaanong problema. Pag dumating yan dun mo lang mararamdaman ang tunay na kasayahan.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Sana nga.. Bka sa heaven na ako nun πŸ˜… (knock on wood)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabi ka sa sarili mo, makakamit mo din yan. Tiwala lang πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Am not sure this is a true story, I mean how can a young girl at your age experience all of these narratives? Nevertheless, am happy you have found so reasons to be happy.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Believe me or not, it is based on my story.. And will you believe me if I tell you that we 13 children?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

While reading this, naiiyak ako, i don't know why. Mabe because nakakrelate ako in a way na i always asked myself when will i be happy. Thank you for this Jane, it struck me right through my heart.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Kahit ako man naitak ng sinusulat ko to.. Binabalik yung mapapait na alaala . pro needag move on.. Kundi malulugmok totally sa depression

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True... And im happy that you are happy now..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should be happy because you're amazing, smart, and pretty. You should never be lonely because life has wonderful things to offer, you'll see. You should never be in gloom but be cheerful instead. Here's your number 1 subscriber and he's the first to comment and read!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thank you for doing that..well appreciated

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That pic of you wearing a red sweater... looks like a scene from a classic Kung Fu movie, where you're waiting to beat up a bad guy to a pulp.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't underestimate this lady, can really beat up a bad guy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a good thing I'm not really a bad guy... okay, I'm bad, but just a little. Hehehe. Maybe you're acting like Cynthia Luster at that moment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But you look like a bad guy πŸ˜…βœŒβœŒπŸ€£πŸ€£

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ouch... But I'm a bad-looking guy with a good heart... you'll see.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Action speaks louder than words 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How can I perform some actions when all we have are the comment boxes of our articles?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehem ehem @Eirolfeam2 @ruffa.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo mga naman madam, pano nga naman magkakaroon ng umaatikabong bakbakan kung andito kayo sa comment section. Dun kaya kayo sa Paris, may winter ba sa Paris? Dala ka snow flakes ha if ever melon πŸ˜™πŸ˜™πŸ˜™βœŒοΈ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happy for you Ma'am! You found the real meaning of happiness :))) And I couldn't agree more!!! Nice work po!!!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thanks.. Didn't found yet actually. Am still on my journey

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you're always welcome po! praying and hoping for all the best for you Ma'am! best of luck to your journey po :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should be happy to have a personalized meme :D

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Haha. Yeah I was happy. Thank you 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago