April Food's Month (and condolences)

36 168
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

April 16, 2023

It's been a while read champs! And I am back here again.

They said that April is Fool's Month. But for me, it is Food's Month. I'm not fooling you. It's just that, my April started with a food trip and was followed by more.

Shall we start the food trip?

I should blame this Chinese family. Ever since we moved to this new place, we seldom cook at home and usually eat outside or take out some food. Well, I have no choice but to join them, or else, I'll starve at home.

On April 1st, which was the pre-birthday of my female boss, we went to Whampoa to have samgyupsal after many years. The last time I had samgyupsal with them in the same Korean restaurant was before the pandemic, probably in 2018.

Pork and beef were grilled, wrapped with lettuce along with some side dishes, and eaten while the meat was hot. Korean food lovers here definitely know how to eat this set of food. The last dish that was served was Korean chicken soup which reminded me of chicken tinola.


On Tuesday, a day before Ching Ming Festival, I was left alone at home and I have nothing to cook for lunch but only a banana and sweet potatoes. I thought of making a banana cake, especially since I was smelling the delicious aroma of food from restaurants on the bottom floor.

It was just a random recipe mixing all ingredients in one bowl and then steaming. It tasted good and I liked the combination of banana and sweet potatoes with cinnamon, and oats, topped with sunflower seeds and chia seeds. You can check the full recipe here.


On Ching Ming Festival after doing some business, I thought of finding a place to drink something hot coffee, or tea as I felt cold. I opted to look for a cafe and that was my first time visiting a more decent cafe in Kowloon City after five years of living in the city, lol.

It was a pretty Stone Houses Cafe located just near my favorite park. I ordered its famous English breakfast set with a cup of hot latte. After savoring my delicious food, I checked other rooms of the stone houses to see the historical relics reserved on site. If you want to see more photos in this Stone Houses, you can visit my post on Cinnamon Cup of Coffee here.


Then on Sunday, while thinking about what to eat at dinner, I visited MX located just on the bottom floor, and tried Malaysian cuisine. This is pandan-coconut rice with beef rendang.

It was my first time eating this kind of rice and I liked it. I really tasted coconut and pandan flavors.


Every Good Friday, we used to do fasting in our country. But with this family, fasting is out of the vocabulary even if it's holly week. After eating in a buffet restaurant at lunch, we traveled to Sai Kung, and I was glad to see it again.

The food we ate at lunch hadn't even been digested well yet but we ate snacks. This is a popular Hong Kong bread. It is cooked by soaking bread filled with peanut butter in an egg mixture, then frying it. Then you can either spread it with condensed milk or honey before eating. Too much lactose and gluten, lol. But I ate it. On another plate is fried fish fillet with salad. It's a typical snack here that can be changed to fried chicken.

At night, just a few hours after eating snacks, we dined in at a Shanghai restaurant just located within the vicinity of our new place. And it was my first time eating at a Shanghai restaurant. From the name itself, all foods are Shanghai cuisine that originated from Shanghai China.


Then on Sunday, during our trip to Macau, it was another food trip day!

A popular Macau pork chop bun was served for breakfast. It wasn't really my type but I love their coffee and doughnut.

Macau doughnut. It is so soft inside and coated with white sugar.

At lunch, we visited a famous Portuguese restaurant called A Lorcha. And it was my first time eating Portuguese cuisine. Food may be similar to Filipino foods, but the taste is different. In the end, we paid more than a thousand HK dollars for our lunch.

In the afternoon, we visited the southern part just to eat a famous Macau delicacy which started from that area, the Macau egg tart in Coloane Village. This isn't the same egg tart you are buying in your bakeshop. It has a flaky crust and so soft egg custard. This is just one of the iconic food in Macau which is known throughout Asia.

Night came, and we visited a local restaurant serving local Macau-Chinese food at Rua do Felicidade. These foods were followed by more and we also paid a thousand for our dinner.

I'm lucky enough to be with this family who likes food-tripping. I don't need to pay just to taste expensive and new culinary flavors.

And I should add the latest one. Just last Wednesday, only the two of us (the lady and me) was left at home. We explored the new place and she treated me for lunch. We went to a noodle shop and ordered these. I didn't know that the bowl was too big, so it made me too full. Even if we were full, we still bought tea that day at a tea shop and sipped them while walking back home. Should I say, eating is our way of bonding too? But I wonder why I don't add weight though when we just keep eating here.

And I should add this one I cooked for my lunch last Friday. Guess what it is? It's just a simple recipe using hard tofu, Italian herbs, and tomato sauce. Another experimental cooking of mine and it tastes good.

It's been a while since I posted here. And I just came back to post foods. Should I say sorry to those who craved? πŸ˜… This post was drafted days ago and I just waited for this day to post it so I could interact with this community as well.


However, have you heard the sad news recently? One of our beloved writers, ate @pachuchay passed away. My deep condolences to the bereaved family. She has been my ate on this platform. We may not be that close, but it was so saddening upon hearing the sad news as she's been part of the read.cash family. I heard that the Filipino community on Hive will be making fundraising for her. Readcash family can donate as well.

This was her last comment on my post on Hive 9 days ago. Just 9 days ago!

Life is really uncertain, so don't take it for granted (especially your health because that's your life as well), and make each day happy because you don't know when will be your end.

Your battle is over. You may now rest in peace Ate 🀧🀧.

23
$ 1.22
$ 0.50 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Unity
+ 10
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

April Food's Month brings joy and delight, but let's also extend condolences for any pranks that may go awry

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Am loving all this food hmmm they are looking so yummy πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

the green rice looks really appetizing 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe kakagutom, Madam! Gusto ko itry yung pandan coconut rice parang ang sarap saka ang aking favourite na custard, creme brulee kung ano man ang tawag nila. Ansasarap ng food trip, nabusog ang mata ko!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe.. Try ko madam. Dala ka madami pandan from pinas haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sarap ng mga food sis. Ntakam ako. We miss u friend pachuchay. πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Biglaan yong may Pachuchay. Noon pa man nagpopost na sya about her illness.

Mukhang giliw na giliw sayo mga boss mo, kasama ka rin kahit saan 🀭. You are blessed to be with these people na maganda ang turing, unlike noong iba. Enjoy sa food trip lagi Jane.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi naman masyado..haha.. Pero food nla, food ko rin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yong iba hindi, most of the time yong matitira na Lang at worst yong pet foods pa πŸ˜₯. Mabuti na lang at maganda npuntahan mo. Tca.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nagutom ako sa mga food at na miss ko na ulit mag samgyup..puro ramen lang kaya kasi di mkapag eat out dahil sa schedule

condolences...na shock nga rin ako eh kasi nung last week lang binabasa ko pa mga past articles niya dito kasi madami akong back log na articles...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Puro gluten ang ramen. Nice to see you here madam. Kakalungkot tlga..bilis ng pangyayari..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Weight reveal ate jane πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

2pounds added maybe? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha hintayin namin yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakatakam naman ng mga foods na yan miss jane. Yung samgyup namiss ko bigla.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako, puro relaxation this April. :)) Nakakagulat to know na may nawala nang buhay.. Nakakalungkot malaman, I hope she will rest in peace. πŸ™

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kakalungkot tlga madam πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought, nag comment na ako dito kanina. Nakakagulat naman ang nangyari ke Pachuchay. Sa last naming convo, nabangit pa namin na sana mag-abot kami sa beach dito sa amin. Kami lang ng anak nya ang alam kong taga-rito sa Roxas.

Akala ko on the way for full recovery na sya. Tapos bigla na lang sya nawala.

Pumapasok pa rin sa isip ko na sana April fools day pa rin ang news na to.... :(

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's not a fool.. Kakalungkot talaga....kaya a lesson narin yun.. Take care of our health tlga..and just be happy. D natin hawak buhay natin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oo nga... nakakalungkot. Akala ko ok na sya eh. Nakita ko rin ang post ng sis nya sa noise.app. sinusubukan kong alamin kung saan sya nakaburol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I too have been on a food trip this month. I need to recover or else :D

It's sad to hear the passing of an individual and writer that was an inspiration to so many. I didn't know her or have many interactions with her but I feel the sadness through others. May she RIP and I pray for healing of her friends and family.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

She has been our older sister here..a humorous person and so kind. We have seen how she battled to survive..but she didn't make it 🀧🀧.. At least, she is now at peace and not in pain anymore..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ka naman lactose intolerant madam? Siguro yan na talaga body figure mo, di ka ba nka experience na tumaba before?

I will really miss madam pachuchay's articles madam. πŸ’”πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.01
1 year ago

May intolerance parn madam.sadyang wala ako choice kundi kumain ng bawal. 🀣.. Papaya nalng kain kpag mag constipate lol. Ganito na tlga to. Hndi tumataba

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. May panlaban agad sa constipation. Siguro ganyan na talaga figure mo or baka tataba ka if ever mgka anak ka. 🀭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not that big eater but I easily got hungry, so I don't like much eating in Samgyeopsal. Ehh, feeling ko lugi ako or I would eat much para bawiin daw ang binayad. Mahal kasi eh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi rin makakain ng madami..package eh. Kung ano iserve, yun lang. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mouth-watering photos of food give an excellent feeling to taste them all virtually within a few minutes.

I can't believe Pachuchay is no more!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You made me hungry now becuase of those foods you shared hehe. I do miss eating samgyupsal πŸ˜‹.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kapag lumalabas kayo madam treat ka nila ng food or sariling bayad ka sa food mo? Sarap ng pagkain same tayo katawan madam kain ng kain pero ndi tumataba🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Of course sa kanila. Wala namn ako food allowance kya kung ano pagkain nla, ayun din akin haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok naman pala, ng problem mo lng if gusto mo or ndi ang mga inoorder nila🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life is pretty unexpected and we don't have any control over it.πŸ₯Ί May her family be at patience...and thank you for sharing such yummy food tour of yours..I wish I could try some of these

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Greetings friend. I am also receiving this bad news two days ago. Very sad 😒

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Life is really too short. Always take care there Gertu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think it's a short life but I do think there are many more things we want to do. Thank you for your good wishes 😘.

$ 0.00
1 year ago