(30DofG) The Guilty Pleasures I Couldn't Resist

41 134
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

June 15, 2022

It's already June but my 30 Days of Gratitude series is still up! If you noticed, I don't post one prompt for each day as I only considered this set of prompts as ordinary prompts I want to write once there isn't anything to write about or travel posts and personal blogs to post. This is pretty much helpful to those who are struggling to think about sensible content to write but wanted to keep their writing goal "an article a day." I realized that we all could make 30-day prompts by ourselves so there wouldn't be missing days in writing. And this is what I want to try making next time.

Here are the featured prompts for today:

In taking this challenge, I also realized that we can make our writing a creative one by putting all prompts in one story and not just answering them separately. Quality content matters even in making random articles. That's the only thing we could contribute to this platform.


(Date of writing: 06/02/22)

(30DofG) The Guilty Pleasures I Couldn't Resist

The night before this day I was feeling unwell due to difficulty breathing, probably because of too much carbon monoxide I inhaled from the incense they were lighting up inside the house. I already informed this Chinese family about the negative effects of inhaling smoke from incense but they seem not to believe it since they only stick to their rituals and beliefs. I couldn't react more as I need to respect their tradition and beliefs as well.

Each morning, my male boss would light an incense stick before heading out, then I would be left at home inhaling the smoke, lol. I would then make the balcony door wide open to release some smoke and to give more ventilation, I would turn on the exhaust fan. Or sometimes I would just stay on the balcony for a while until the incense stick burnt out.

While staying on the balcony, there was something beautiful I saw this day. The sun shone so brightly that made my mood so bright as well. I like it when balcony drills beautifully cast symmetric shadows and the plant that stood still by it looks beautiful as well.

Our balcony becomes my sanctuary in the morning where I usually do deep breathing exercises while facing the mountain skylines located in the distance. Someday, I want to climb this mountain as well and overlook the small city where I currently reside.

From our balcony, I also love watching different plants in different colors on different balconies of our neighbors, as well as trees in lushness by the street. Those were the beautiful creatures I'm seeing every day.

It's been more than four years that I've been living in this area and I love watching the beautiful view of the rising sun from our balcony in the morning.

Meanwhile, my favorite part of the evening is watching the sunset from our kitchen. And how it casts colors in the sky along with the glimmering lights from different high-rise buildings is truly fascinating, and that makes me admire the beauty of the night more. It's really therapeutic every time I spend some moments admiring the beauty of the sunrise and sunset from our place and the scenic views seem like real beautiful paintings. And the main reason why these two parts of the house are my favorites.

And oftentimes, when I'm alone at home, I wouldn't mind eating my guilty pleasures, and I know this matter isn't something to be hidden anymore. A person with lactose and gluten intolerances shouldn't be eating these kinds of food, but I love eating ice cream and making sweet delights.

Every time I'm craving sweets, I would eat some then would feel guilty later once I suffered the consequences of my bad action. Who can resist their temptations anyway? But of course, I should be accountable for the consequences of doing my bad habits and believe me, they aren't good, so I'm taking my guilty pleasures moderately and occasionally.


We all at some point in our lives do something forbidden but those give momentary pleasure to us. And sometimes we would question why we need to deprive ourselves of eating food or doing things we want when we can actually afford to have them. But above all, why do we need to suffer from intolerances, especially in food, when they are vital to our living.

Those are usually the questions that would cross my mind every time I'm depriving myself of eating food that I want. But the truth is? These consequences are the byproducts of my unhealthy lifestyle in my younger years. Or my food intolerances were probably inborn, but my parents weren't aware of them and the symptoms only appeared in the later years. And I'm suffering the consequences due to unawarely consuming forbidden food for a prolonged period. It isn't too late though to make a healthy lifestyle.

The bottom line here is, that we shouldn't be just spoiling ourselves, just because we are capable of doing so. And just because we are young we can do everything we want to and only make things right once we grow older and suffer health issues. It isn't actually the right way and we should do a healthy lifestyle at a young age so we wouldn't be suffering the unfavorable consequences at a later age. Besides, we could do more things and it is happier to live when we are healthy.

So if you are still young and if you don't want to regret things later, take time to change your unhealthy lifestyle into a healthy one.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

27
$ 11.80
$ 11.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 16
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

yung gusto mong kumain nang mga masasarap since you can afford to buy it but then you'll also regret it later as your suffering on the after effect, I felt that aigooooo...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And just because we are young we can do everything we want to and only make things right once we grow older and suffer health issues.

Preach! This has been true to me Jane, I was once abusive with what I eat too and if I can get a way to eat meat I will do compared to veggies. Now I suffered I am still young 31 to be exact but cholesterol level is quite high on my age bracket per APE.

Ang ganda ng pic ng balcony! Basag trip lang yung insenso.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice view from your balcony sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being lactose intolerant, doesn't eating ice cream make you flatulent? What I mean is: aren't the side effects of giving in and eating these foods?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For lactose and gluten, yes.. Then mushy feces when eating lactose.. Constipated when eating gluten.. Two different side effects lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can totally relate to that guilt trip that comes with eating something you said you wouldn't. It reminds me of the time I was trying to stop drinking coke because I was addicted to it, but I found myself going back to drinking it after a few days, and then I will make a promise to myself that I will stop but I still end up breaking the promise 😂. But right now I have totally broken free from that addiction, I realized I need to take care of my health now so I won't suffer the consequences when I am older

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Glad you are.. I met someone before who is addicted to coke..she even replaced rice with coke, lol.. I wonder how she is now.. Or if she's still okay 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Replaced rice with coke? That level of addiction is really extreme 😂 I hope she is okay now, that lifestyle is bound to lead to serious health issues later on in life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lmaaaaaao. I know you have sweet tooth and wouldn't keep off these guilty pleasures. You should have entered this post for the weekend challenge too since one of the questions asked us to list our guilty pleasures.

That is your view from the balcony? I would always go there too everytime. That's a spectacular view, Janeeey. Wow. I can sit there all day while I allow their incense to burn out hahahaha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's what Im doing.. The smoke really sucks..I can't breath well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry darling. Can I join you at the balcony? What can I bring along that you would love? 😍😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've also started this 30 day challenge and it's been helpful. A day doesn't go by without me posting anything

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looking at the pictures I feeling have them all to myself 😜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister with lactose intolerance you should great care about eating. Evening scene though a huge building present a splendid view. You had really enjoyed life four years ago here. Sister still you are in Honk Kong?.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I totally agree with you po because there are simple yet bad habits which effects are long term. And anyways, I am so in love with your place pooo!😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dito din sa terrace namin ate Jane may magandang view lalo na kapag sunset na. Makikita mo talaga paano mag shift ng color ung skies eh.

Well in terms naman sa mga unhealthy foods, nako di ko tlga maiiwasan yan lalo na kapag binubulungan ko sarili ko na "deserve ko to' 🙈🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha..okay naman ganun..wag lang palagi 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Siguro sa akin yung sa foods din ate. Sabi nga nila, mas masarap ang mga bawal. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga proven tlga yan lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your house looks amazing, like somethig we see in a movie... I wish I had such pretty house.. and the foods you shared, ahhh, am hungry now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Then you grab some Dolly 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha I wish technology is so advanced so that we could grab everything from laptop lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super ganda naman NG view mo diyan sa balcony, well kung ako din sa sitwasyon mo, baka hindi ako makahinga, kasi sensitive talaga ako sa mga ganyan, minsan nga kahit alikabok Lang ay magkakaproblema. Ako. Dati, napaka hilig ko talaga sa junk foods, halos araw araw ako kumakain, but later on, Ayan nagkasakit ako, Kaya ngayon, I think once week, tumitikim PA din ako, Kaya guilty ako. Heheh, sarap NG sweets na Yan, who can resists?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naging unhealthy lang ako nung college.. Lage processes food binibili.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will stay in this your house for the rest of my remaining days and nothing will make me want to leave that place the view is the view of paradise itself and nothing more. I think we all have that one thing that is our guilty pleasure and for me is fish 🐟 anything I eat fish I will be seriously sick 😫 and I just can't seem to keep an eye off them anytime I see them I just want to buy and eat every bit of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My first time hearing about someone who gets sick when eating fish,😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are times I don't have control over myself for what I desire to eat. I just allow myself get what it wants but not too much of it. If I have opportunity to live in such a neighborhood, I would so Cherish the evening hours. The sky is so lovely I mean.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should take everything in moderation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously lang talaga, maigi at may balcony jan, what if wala naku naku. Diko kaya yaan. Dito nga samin lapag may nagpausok, inuubo talaga ako. Di namsn makapag reklamo kasi kabilang ilog un pero abot talaga samin aigooi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako pa namn hndi makahings mabuti sa usok..prang mas ashtma pro wala namn 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The views that you had in your place, are indeed beautiful and it can literally makes you feel relaxed at the same time. I love the way you capture the sunset and the sunrise, they are naturally amazing. However you are right, we should be aware with our food intakes while we are young, spoiling our cravings was fine, but it should be moderately. Perhaps due to unawareness we suffer from different types of illnesses even at our younger age. But with a proper diet and self discipline I think we can still save ourselves from our unhealthy diet and live healthy.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yup.. Better do the right thing before it's too late..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakaka dagdag cravings yung sweet waahh ganda ng labas ng place nyooo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup.. Relaxing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's really a good advice on health issues, most times they are a lots of food that we would love to eat and we refuse to take it due to the types of food that the doctors have prescribed for us. Some will just not want to listen to what their doctors had told them, not knowing that if the effect don't show up today it will definitely show up tomorrow during the old age.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True...that is something I regret...taking an unhealthy lifestyle in my younger years.. But I guess it isn't too late yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I’m always unhappy whenever I see good foods I can’t eat due to my intolerance. We will be fine at the end😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have too? So sad for us 🤧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Once in a while we have to give in to our desire. Though they might hurt us🤣. On a lighter note, if we don't fight the constant urge to take these unhealthy stuff it might end up turning into an addiction and might affect our health.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True...we can take things moderately anyway..

$ 0.00
1 year ago