Market experience

2 43
Avatar for James2k21
2 years ago

Good morning to you all, it's a morning to give thanks to God for his protection over our lives for 364 days now. Its just one day left to the new year!!! I really can't wait to see what all these new year hype has for us. I couldn't drop my article yesterday because I wasn't able to finish writing in time. I expected to finish it around the middle of the night but I slept off again thanks to the stress I went through yesterday at the market. I went to buy some clothes for the new year celebration because I received a call from someone who promised to take me out on the first day of the yet and I need to dress well, reaching the market, everywhere was filled up and I really was concerned that if this COVID of a virus is still very much in town, the outcome of yesterday's overcrowding would be epic. The people in the market were so many, buyers and sellers that want to make their last profits before the year runs out, the traffic jam was on a different level as cars were moving at a speed of 5m/hr. It was that bad and when we got close to where the jam was locked, it was an accident that had occured there a few minutes before we arrived, it was really fatal and I won't want to go into details here because some people might not be able to handle the trauma but all I'm saying is that people are in a rush and I can't but wonder where they are rushing to, heaven?. Not to sound savage but a little patience would have saved a life there and that's why I'm appealing to all of us here especially we that can drive to be careful out there, don't struggle with every other driver on the road, especially if you're Nigerian, you should be able to relate better because it's really bad here and the level of impatience here is top notch. I don't know about other countries because I've not being everywhere around the world even though that's my dream but I hope that all my friends here from other countries stay safe too.

Sponsors of James2k21
empty
empty
empty

I'm just going to head straight into this article because that seems to be the only thing running in my head right now.

As early as 8am, I was out of the house, I wanted to get to the market so early before everywhere gets locked up by last minute buyers and sellers. As soon as I got to the junction where I'd board a bike, the crowd there was already scary and I was on a long queue before it was my turn to board a bike. That alone took up to an hour and that was just the first transport boarded, when I got down I decided to withdraw some cash from the ATM because I was trying to avoid network issues from my bank if I decide to transfer at the market, it was another long and slow moving queue there also and I needed to be patient and when it was finally my turn, I noticed why the queue was slow, the ATM could only dispense #4,000 at a time, it had a technical fault and I wanted to withdraw#40,000. I smiled and looked back at the long queue behind me, their faces were not smiling and I knew that they'd almost skin me alive if I had to withdraw ten times before they did. So, I just decided to be a gentleman and left the place and they really appreciated it, I went to another ATM where the queue was manageable and I was able to withdraw in less than 30 minutes, the time at the point was already 10:15am and I was just about to start the main journey.

I sat a little for some minutes to catch my breath because I had been standing for up to an hour and after I regained a little Strength, I took off and just thought of ordering an Uber which I did in no time, my Uber driver arrived and the journey started, I was enjoying the drive until we hit a traffic hold up. It was just as bad as I stated above and I later got to the market late, around 12:36 pm. The market was already filled and I had to walk in between humans and cars, I'll tell you that it wasn't pleasing, I wasn't even in the right state of mind to beat the prices down to my pocket, I just wanted to leave that place ASAP and I couldn't even get all I wanted to buy. I really regretted getting there late and I promised myself never to go to the market at last minutes again...

Thanks for reading ❤️

7
$ 2.53
$ 2.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 1
Sponsors of James2k21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for James2k21
2 years ago

Comments

I can't remember when last I visit market

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You really need to know the new experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago