To Be, Or Not To Be: The Agony of Passing College Admission Test

0 8
Avatar for Jake20
Written by
3 years ago

To be or not to be, the Hamlet Soliloquy says. And so is the Admission Test of this institution that strictly determined our fate as aspirants wanting to be part of the levelling up standard of CSU.

In liue of the implementation of the provisions of RA 10931, rumors already had it that the questions would be more difficult as the UP type of test was adopted.

As the schedule drew nearer, I became more and more anxious. Anxious for I was afraid of failure. I wanted to be part of CSU that is why I really wanted to pass. Knowing that passing the CAT was a prerequisite, I did not take this for granted.

Rigid preparations. If you really want something, you should work for it. That urged me to gather books and download reviewers to brace myself. It had seemed like I was about to take the Board of Bar Exam because of my preparations, not to mention my sleepless nights spent for reviewing.

Pressure. The day of the examination came and the pressure built higher. On May 20 this year, I entered the room with a mind boggled with many what- ifs. What if I fail? What if I lose the chance of entry?

Enigmatic. In spite of my intensive review, I was overwhelmed by unpredictable questions that I concluded with uncertain answers. Tantamount to taking other examinations, being able to review was still an advantage. However, I would say that the majority of the questions in the exam was out of my common sense and reviewers, as well.

On top of these, nothing is more pressuring than to wait for the results. Eve of June 25, it was a night of ambivalent feelings. All of my classmates were already getting crazy of the official list of passers.

Bitterness. No one congratulated me and every one was mum about my fate in the exam. I just came to know that my name was not included in the list and I was at the alp of disappointment.

Accepting the bitterness of reality was easy for me but to let other peoplw accept it, that I did not know. I did not know how to tell it to my parents who had high hopes for me. I did not know how to say that I failed to the persons who expected me to pass.

But everything changed when I received a call from a friend who confirmed that I actually passed. Confusing as it may seem but my surname was just misspelled. I immediately looked at the list and there I saw the name Jake Angelo Baraquit. Yes. Baraquit instead of Biraquit. Of course, this was the onset of joy and celebration as I reaped what I sowed with the bonus of snotching the highest percentile rank in all takers in CSUP at 99.84.

While I feel blessed to be able to pass, I could feel the downfall that non-passers felt. If I could put my feet on their shoes, I know for a fact that it killed them inside especially those who could not afford to enrol in private schools but unfortunately did not pass.

Indeed, CSU-CAT was a test of cognitive abilities of a student. But be reminded also that failing in the exam does not literally mean that someone is not good. To be able to pass or not to be able to pass have two definite ways to prereginate. Taking into account those dreams of studying in CSU that are denied, prepare yourself for this exam and never get caught flat- footed.

To be or not to be? This question awaits your response.

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Jake20
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jake20
Written by
3 years ago

Comments