Working On Another Rendition of Kenshin

9 37
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

October 18,2022, Post no. 229

I still have a number of topics in my list that remains unwritten. A few of those are related to personal finance, earning online. Then, since I am now discussing Internet threat and security in my class, I wante to write an article about that topic as well.

However, after my class this afternoon, I decided to relax a bit and starte working on another rendition of Kenshin. I am planning to enter it for this week's challenge in Hive.

Greetings my faithful readers and friends. Before anything else, I would like to express my gratitude to those who have been faithfully reading my articles. Especially those who leaves a comment and a like. and of course those who drops some... you know what. :D. Thanks for giving me support in one way or another.

Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty

Anyway, for those who have been following me in noisecash, noiseapp, and Hive, have seen my previous drawings of Kenshin Himura of the Anime, Samurai X. Now, I just want to share with you how I created this rendition of Kenshin.


Why Kenshin Again?

A few months ago, I alread drew Kenshin with the same pose. This was inspired by the movie poster of the live-action adaptation of the anime. However, I decided to do this again, for at least three reasons.

  1. I want to enter this for this weeks Hive PH Art Challenge

  2. I wanted to add more (and as accurately as I could) details especially on his sabakato or reverse-edged sword.

  3. I want to improve how I draw the hands especially the one that is holding the sword. I have a tendency to draw the fingers out of proportions.

The Process

The Sketch

I started with the sketch. I did this last Saturday. I spent about two-three hours on this sketch.

Then I turned the sketch layer into blue and reduced it's opacity. This way I can trace the outline on another layer.

The Outline Layers

I started tracing the outline. As you can see, I did not trace the hand yet. I decided to create another layer for the hand's outline

Coloring

I colored the katana first. I did not include the 'ito' or the wrappings of the handle first. I wanted to add that later.

One challenge in drawing the sabakato is, how to show that the sharp-edge of the blade is facing the wielder of the sword. Thus the name sabakato or reverse-edged sword.

I erased some lines of the sword where the finger overlaps. Then I started coloring the rest of the skin and the hair

Adding More Details

I added some dark streaks on the hair. Then worked on the "ito" or handle wrappings.

This is not yet finished. I still to work on his hair and add more details on the ito.

I hope you enjoyed this.

App used: Medibang Paint For Mobile

Device: Huawei 10.4 inch Tablet

Input Device: Huawei MPen 2

Est, Duration: 5 hours.

Thanks For Reading


Check out also my other earning sites. (Note: Contains referral Links)

|Read.cash | Noise.cash | Hive (Via Ecency)Forum Coin |

|Publish0x | Cointiply |

Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links.



6
$ 0.87
$ 0.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @BlueFlipper
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

Good luck! You have captured the expression on his face that I remember Kenshin to be :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks. I kinda based this from the OVA version.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am already fan of your art, it is much better Kenshin than previous. I am also learning digital art but still I had to get a lot of things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, Blue. Yeah, this is much better. hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! 😲 Grabe sir ang galing niyo. Na amazed po ako. Super ganda. Napaka talented niyo sir. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat.... post ko na later ang final image sa hive. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Walang anuman sir. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are so talented, my friend. Please keep it up. I would love to see more of your works. I appreciate them🙂🙂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago