Why I Love Using Medibang Paint

11 131
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

July 24, 2022

No one can argue that Adobe Photoshop is the best photo editing / graphic design application available for desktop computers. However, Photoshop is not free.

With their current subscription schemes that are quite pricey for the average user, it is not quite practical for a startup graphic artist to pay for an expensive subscription rate.


Greetings my dear read-cash family. Those of you who have been following me here in read-cash and noise-cash probably noticed that I have been using Medibang Paint a lot. In my two-art article 10 Free Graphic Design Apps Graphic Artists Need To Try, the number one application on my list is Medibang Paint.

I admit though, that Medibang Paint has its limitations. That is to be expected. In the first place, Medibang Paint is designed Primarily for Manga artists. It was not designed as a photo editing tool. Nevertheless, I use it often even on my Windows laptop.

In this article, I will share with you the following

  1. What is Medibang Paint

  2. Some Limitations of Medibang Paint.

  3. Why I love using Medibang Paint.

  4. Beyond Creating Manga


What is Medibang Paint?

Medibang Paint is a free digital painting and comic or manga creation application. It comes with a lot of brushes, fonts, and other resources.

It's a lightweight cross-platform program.

Limitations of Medibang Paint

As I mentioned above, Medibang Paint is a digital painting and manga creation application. While it's fully loaded with numerous brushes, layers, and other tools. It's nowhere near the full capability of Adobe Photoshop.

  • No photo editing tools like healing brush, clone brush, content awareness, etc...

  • Pen Tool has no direction-line. While Medibang Paint has several pen tools, e.g. straight lines, multi-segment lines, curves, and shapes, they don't have the direction lines to control your curve.

    Instead, you have to adjust the distance of the anchor to adjust the shape of the curve.

  • Cannot Adjust The Tolerance Level of the Magic Wand Selector. This is one big drawback of its Magic Wand selector. The magic wand will only select the adjacent cells or pixels if they have the same color as the selected pixel. Note that the Expand option is not equivalent to the tolerance level.

These are just a few of the limitations of Medibang Paint compared to Photoshop. However, digital painting, and manga creating-creating quite powerful tools.

Here are the reasons why I love using Medibang Paint

The Medibang Paint User Interface

Why I Love Using Medibang Paint

1. Free!

Yes, you can use it for free. There are ads but they are minimal and non-intrusive.

2. Easy To Learn And Use!

I may have listed Free as my first reason, but the main reason that I loved Medibang Paint the moment I tried it is it's easy to learn and use. If you are familiar with Adobe Photoshop, you will find the UI (User Interface) of Medibang Paint quite similar to that of Photoshop.

3. Loaded with brushes, fonts, and other tools.

The brush options are almost similar to that of Photoshop. Some of the basic pens that you will find are

  • pencil

  • pen

  • pen (sharp)

  • airbrush

  • smudge

and a lot more. If they were not enough, you can download a lot more free brushes or you can make your own.

Color pallete and the pen selection

4. Multiple Layers with Blending Options.

Being able to create multiple layers for different elements of an image offers a lot of benefits. One main benefit is you can erase or make any type of correction in one later without affecting the image on the other layers.

With blending options, you can create different effects on your drawings.

5. Free Cloud Storage

Once you sign up for Medibang Paint (for free), you will be able to access their cloud storage service with whether with they can save your work on their cloud storage and access them from anywhere using any device You can also sync your brushes.

6. Time-Lapse Function

This is a recent addition to the application. If you want to create a time-lapse video /gif, you don't need to use a third-party app. All you need is to enable the time-lapse function.

7. Exportable to PSD.

This is a function available only to the desktop version or Medibang Paint Pro. You can export your work to PSD (Photoshop Document). This means you can open your file and continue working on it using Photoshop or other apps that can open a PSD file.

For the mobile version, you can save your work in the default MDP format on the cloud, open it on a desktop, then export it to PSD.

These are my top seven reasons why I love using Medibang Paint.

Beyond Creating Manga

In the past two weeks, I have been musing with Medibang Paint and creating some comic book pages. They were all rough sketches so far.

But in the past, I have used Medibang Paint in creating some layouts for tarpaulins for some events. They were mostly for the birthday celebrations of my son.

Thus, you can use Medibang Paint to create not just comic book or manga pages.

Thanks For Reading


10
$ 3.86
$ 3.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Eunoia
$ 0.02 from @BlueFlipper
+ 1
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

There are a lot of good features hope I'll be able to learn how to use it too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope it's not hard to use since it has limitation, but I'mma try it one day. Thank you for sharing!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The limitations are almost negligible. Mostly, what you can't access on free account are the premium brushes and their premium cloud storage and folders

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm considering Medibang for drawing on Android. But, I still compare it to Ibis Paint. Both are good apps.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I use Ibis Paint too... it's just about personal choice... but sometimes I work on my laptop. I can access my work from any device if I save it on the cloud

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am no expert when it comes to these stuffs, but everything really has limitations no matter how ideal something is. As long as something creates a more comfortable , cheap and easy way of usage for users, then, it is still worth-using. By the away, I am only familiar about adobe photoshop since my friend used to use that one. I will ask him about medibang paint since he is into manga. Stay safe and see you aroun.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sali ka din sa mga art community sa other side bro.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sa Alien Art nag post na ako dun. Try ko ring mag post sa Sketchbook this week.

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wowwww. Keep it up, bro.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the features you mentioned about Medibang paint pro. I am already learning about coding and I needed some digital art for good NFTs creation. I can make a good try for this application. Thanks for writing about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome. For clarification though, Medibang Paint Pro is the name of the desktop version, though I am using both the desktop and mobile versions, I am using mostly the mobile version which is officially Medibang Paint (with out the pro). I got confused of that sometimes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago