Why Do You Need To Write Detailed Goals

2 44
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

January 3

In my previous post, Do Not Make Your New Year's Resolution, I mentioned the common shortcomings of setting a New Year's resolution. The number one problem is, after the "spirit" of the new has faded, the resolutions fade away as well.

 Instead of writing a New Year's resolution, write your definitive goals instead.


How are you doing on the third day of January? How is your new year doing so far? I hope you are doing great thus far. In this post I will share with you the following:

  1. Why do you need to write definitive goals

  2. How to come up with a plan to achieve your goals

  3. How to come up with a goal statement and;

  4. what do you do after writing your goal statement?


Why do you need to write definitive goals?

 Before we answer the "WHY" let me explain first a couple of things that make your goal(s) definitive.

 Include as many details as you can.

Goals should be definite. Meaning, when you write your goals, you must include as many details as you can. If you dream of getting rich, you must define how rich you want to be. As in, how much money do you want to have?

 If you want to own a brand new car, include the brand, the model, year, and if possible all the features that you want to have in your car.

 It's not enough simply to write, I want to live in a new house. Describe, how big the house is, the color, the number of bedrooms. Does it have a garden? a grotto? Does it have a pool?

 If you want to be fit. Write down how much weight you want to lose or gain.

I think you get my drift.

 When Do You Want to Have Them?

Then set a date when you want to achieve your goals. As Robert Herjavec says, 

"A goal without a deadline is just a dream!"

 Moreover, a dream without a deadline will remain a dream indefinitely.

 Why do you need to include all these details? Setting a detailed goal is like aiming for the bullseye in your target. Your not aiming for the outer circles of your target, you are aiming at the center.  This will help you focus on your goals.

 How to come up with a plan to achieve your goals

 The next thing you need to think about is what you intend to give in return to achieve your goals. Start with listing down what you have, including your skills.

  • What do you know?

  • What skills do you have that you can use?

  • How much time are you going to dedicate to achieving your goals?

  • What are the things that you need to learn?

 Beware though, sometimes, in our quest to achieve our goals, sometimes we get tempted to take some shortcuts. Some would even fall prey to get-rich-quick schemes that are likely scams.

 Make a Plan

 After you have defined what you are willing to give in return to achieve your goals, make a plan.  

Let's say, you want to accumulate $500,000 in 5 years. Meaning you need to accumulate $100,000 per year on average. or about $8,333.33 a month. If you are starting from zero, earning that much may seem impossible. But with various online opportunities these days, some people are claiming to earn $100,000 a year from YouTube alone.

 Moreover, this is where the magic of compounding interest can be put to good use.

 How to come up with a goal statement.

 You already have what you need to write a goal statement, namely, your goals,

your deadlines, what you intend to give in return to achieve your goals. and your plans through which to achieve them.

What do you do after writing your goal statement?

 Read your written statement twice a day. Once after you wake up, and once before going to sleep. And as you read your statement, imagine that you have already achieved your goals. Imagine that you already have the desired amount in your possession. Feel the vibration of the engine as you sit behind the wheel of your dream car.

 If necessary, update or rewrite your statement.

 Final Thoughts and Acknowledgement

 The formula that I share with you here is based on the method outlined by Napoleon Hill in his book Think and Grow Rich. I read the book a few years ago, but have never put what I learned into practice fully. Although I believe, that the little things that I learned from this book and applied, have led me to read.cash and noise.cash and cryptocurrency. With these, I felt like that I finally found the right path towards achieving my dreams.

Thanks for reading

Check out my other content at:


Credits

Lead Image: created using Pixteller

Other images: Unsplash

4
$ 4.19
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

I'm sincerely inspired by all you mentioned above. I'd have to rethink my resolution amd analyse them properly properly I can make proper use of my time into actualization of my goals for the year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My sentiments precisely, kuya,

$ 0.00
2 years ago