What Would You Do When Procrastination Strikes?

8 61
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

It's Christmas break. Yes, our Christmas break started on the 21st of December. I have been doing things slowly since that day. Enjoying my time with my kids and wife, watching TV, etc...

 Should I not do any work on a Christmas break? On the third of January school will resume and there are lots of things to do. Besides, I should take this free time to focus on my online hustles and make plans for 2022.

However, because of my relaxed schedule, procrastination strikes again!

Created using Pixteller. Photo is mine.

Hello again, wonderful readers. How was your celebration of Christmas this year? I hope you had a wonderful and meaningful Christmas.

Before I proceed with the topic on hand, l would like to offer a moment for those who spent their Christmas in darkness. As may have known already, A number of regions in the Philippines were ravaged by the Super typhoon Ria, locally known as Odette. A lot of the affected areas are still in the dark literally. It might take weeks before the power will be restored.  I know how difficult it is to be in the dark during the Christmas season. I experienced that two years ago.

OOur house taken at dawn, two days after typhoon Ursula hit ourcity on December25, 2019

I wanted to start a donation drive for the affected people in Cebu, but I still have to contact a group there to channel the donations. And I'm still not sure how to go about it.

For now, some prayers for the people living in the affected areas would be a great help. 


Now back to my topic

According to Napoleon Hill, procrastination is one of the main factors of failures. We love to put off the things we could do today.  As the big fat orange cat, Garfield, would always say:

"Never do today, what you can do tomorrow!"

 

In the past three or four days, I have just been struggling... dealing with procrastination. Even now. It's almost 11 PM here and I already wanted to put my laptop down and continue this tomorrow morning.

 Just as this morning, I have been doing almost nothing at all.

Hmmm... what did I do this morning anyway?

 I did my morning walk this morning but after breakfast... I just watched TV. For the second day in a row, I did not make my first post in noise until the afternoon.

Again, I am fighting against the urge to put down this laptop, and go to sleep.

What Keeps Me Going?

 That's the question. What keeps me going? Why did am I still not putting this laptop down. I am already sitting in my bed so the struggle is much stronger. The cold rainy weather doesn't help either. 

So, what keeps me going? I recalled in my mind my goals. I need to finish one post today. So I can make another one tomorrow. I need to earn as much as I can. Why? Now that's the question that keeps me going.

I know why I am doing this. I know the reason I need to earn. The reason is not just so I could have some spending money. No. I need to secure my family's future. I need to earn as much as I can so I can start investing in passive income. That's why.

 Knowing my "Why" is the first step. I need to get more organized so I can do more each day.

I have to remind myself to be persistent every day. Not to lower my guard against Garfield... I mean procrastination.

 This is what I do when procrastination attacks.

 How about you? What do you do when procrastination attacks?

Thanks for reading and I sure love to know how you deal with procrastination.


Related Articles

Dark Christmas by @leejhen

Celebrating Christmas in the Dark by @Jinifer


PS

There is one thing I can no longer put off till tomorrow.

Going to sleep.

Good night, readers.

9
$ 3.36
$ 3.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
+ 4
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

I have this note written in big words 'DUE TODAY' placed in our calendar so I know that things should be done today, not later or tomorrow. I also have list of chores or to do's.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I remember our college days. We will ask each other when's the deadline for our project. Then we will give a joke "Ok, let's start on that day". 🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When katamaran attacks, sometimes I allow myself na magpadala sa katamaran and regret later that I have done nothing for the day. But, more often, I told myself that I should move on kasi pag hindi ko nagawa ang isang task, it will added to the tasks na gagawin ko pa in the next days.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What I do is think what's the worst that can happen and then it all goes away the crazy thoughts cause you know thinking slot just makes your health detoriate and nothing else

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have a merrier Christmas 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I do is I tell to myself that I am not rich and I have bills to pay haha! My motivation is my bills. That is when I am reminded that I should workhard

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, that's a start. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Christmas

$ 0.00
2 years ago