Warning! Stay Away From Those Mobile Loan Apps

20 46
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

August 25

Around 10 this morning, I received a call. The number was not in my contact. I picked up the call. The woman on the other line introduced herself and mentioned a company name. A lending company. She asked me if I know a certain person. A red alert started flashing in my head.

I asked her again about her company. She replied accordingly and then asked me again if I know the person she mentioned. I reluctantly said yes. Then she asked me if I could tell the person concerned that she is one day overdue for the monthly payment of her loan!

"EXCUSE ME?!!!!"


Greetings once again my dear readers and friends! Have you ever used at least one of these mobile loan apps?

Screenshot of Mobile Loan Apps in Google

If you did, how was your experience with it? Would you like to share it in the comment below? (Without naming the company please).

Anyway, I got irritated when the call center agent asked me to relay a message to their client on their behalf. I asked why (while trying to be polite as possible).

She reasoned I was listed as a reference person by their client. That's when I lost my cool.

Created Using PixelLab

Looking Back.

It's not the first time that my name and number were given as a "reference person" by someone I know to a financing/lending company. The first time was about 5 years ago.

My number was my name and the number was given by a person whom I have not spoken to for years. The caller said that I was listed as the reference person of their client whom they can not contact. The caller asked me if I could relay a message to that person. I said I will try but I said I have no contact with that person anymore.

The next day, I received another call from a different number. The caller asked the same thing, so I explained again that I no longer have contact with that person.

But in the succeeding days, they kept calling me that I already memorized their script. There was a time when I interrupted the caller and gave my reply to her unasked questions. However, they kept calling me for weeks. Sometimes they would call just after dawn or sometimes during dinner time.

I threatened the succeeding callers that I will file harassment charges against their company. I would tell them that I am recording their calls as evidence of their harassment. After a while, they finally stopped calling.

Reference Person

I think these financing and online lending companies don't know or simply abuse the definition of "reference person".

I told the caller earlier that the "reference person" should be used or contacted only to verify the credibility of their client before they approve the loan. They should NOT use the "reference person" as their collector or messenger!

I think she was still about to continue with her script when I hang up the phone.

Later, I saw the person concerned. I told her about her "one day" overdue. She was puzzled like she did not know why I was contacted. She thought maybe the app got it from her contact list.

I have heard of this sneaky way of accessing the contacts in their client's phones. To use their app, and thus avail of their financing services, the users must allow the app to have access to the contacts of their phones.

If you receive promotional text messages offering you "quick and easy loans". most probably they got your number from someone who has your number.

Unauthorized/ Unethical Use of Contacts

The client told me that, although she did authorize the app to have access to her contacts, she did know they will start calling those people and tell them about her loan.

I told her that I have heard such cases in the news before.

Checking The Reviews.

I went to Google Playstore and checked the ratings and reviews. The app concerned got an average 4.4/5 rating. However, the comments told me more than the above-average ratings.

At least one comment mentioned the company called her contacts without authorization.

0utrageous Charges

The most common complaint though is the outrageous charges by the company. The initial loan is PHP 2,000. But the client will only receive PHP 1,300 and have to pay PHP 2,010 in 7-14 days. I think they are making it appear that the interest is only 0.5%. However, the other charge (probably the service charge) is PHP 700.

I think the government bodies like the SEC, BSP and other departments concerned should take a look at this ridiculous malpractice or abusive practice of online lending companies.

In Closing.

I will make this short. As much as possible, stay away from these online lending and financing companies who promise "low interest".

Thanks For Reading.


14
$ 1.42
$ 1.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @wakeuplincs
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

I havent tried any of those and never will I engaged because I don't want someone will bother me because of unpaid debts. I am receiving Scam SMS with links to download such app. The thing that confused me was how they get my number.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have been wondering about that too. I have also received sms from them. I believe someone who has your number installed one of these apps. That's how they get new "leads"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Highly illegal scheme these guys are running.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The thing is, they masked it with legal documents. And most probably, their TOS will say that the users allowed them access to their contacts and allowed them to use those contact information. TOS that most probably the users did not bother to read. Thus, they might be ably to claim that they are "legally" allowed to use the contact information they gathered as they pleased. However they are doing it in a most unethical manner

$ 0.05
1 year ago

In these cases there should be legal means to protect consumers. In the US they got what is called "class action" which is a lawsuit made by many individuals together. In the EU we got consumer organizations that will also take legal action but I'm not sure if they reimburse those that suffered financial losses or just ask for changes in the way these schemes operate. Anyway, there would be no court that will allow this nowhere in the world. If there is any consumer or transparency union those that lost money should notify.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unfortunately, I don't think we have such or something similar here in the Philippines. I once brought this attention to a lawyer. Even he was able to do anything when someone gave his name and number as a "reference person".

Hopefully, our lawmakers will do something about this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kahit Hindi mo ibigay Yung name and number as reference matatawagan ka pa rin nila. Kaya talagang iwas sa ganyang app tapos Ang laki laki pa ng ineterest.. may tubo na daw tas pagtanggap mo ng pera bawas na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama. Me nakita akong ads na super baba daw ng interest rate... yun pala ang service charge at iba pa, halos kalahati na ng inaaplayan mong loan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I shall never like to borrow loan from any one even from any company. Because their interest rate made us more needy with time and tide. We should take help from our friends if we needed money badly. Thanks for sharing these applications I shall keep myself away from them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes you are right these apps are available only for our loss and everything they say is fake and people are greedy that's why they use these type of apps

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true kapag nag agree ka sa kanila and di ka nakabayad tatawagan nila halos lahat ng nasa contacts mo tulad ng sa nangyari sa tita ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do not stay away, STAY FAR FAR FAR AWAY!!! You will be forever doomed if you use the loan app. If you wish to take a loan, ask people you trust. Or better yet, as they say, live within your means.

(And yes, I experienced loaning from these apps. It was a horrible experience. Very shameful. I got sick afterwards.)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ouch. I wonder if people can file lawsuits against these companies...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The parties do not appear when court summons them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sir that's true. We should be careful by those loan apps because mostly of it are scams. People must be aware about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The same thing they do in my country. Sometimes they even threaten you to help the person pay back the money. Its crazy how they operate

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the reason why I don't like lending money from those mobile loan Apps because of that kind of reviews from others who tried using those.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such tragedy had been happened with one of my relatives. She made a complaint and resolved. Very nice and informative article. We should avoid such apps

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm... The ones using you as reference should be asking you first if you consent to be her/his reference for an online loan, which is ethical. Consent from you should be given 1st before proceeding to put you as a reference. My references knows these and I barely have numbers on my phone so, all of the phone numbers I have naturally has consent to use them as reference, character reference to this and work. Well, at least with the consent, you are aware that you are made reference to certain like this. I am so sorry for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. But it won't be a problem if these companies use these "reference persons" strictly as the word reference means it. However, they use these "reference" to do their collection for them or as their messengers.

Another thing is, most of these apps simply ask permission to have access to your contacts. They don't specifically say that they contact these people the moment you missed your due even just for a day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago