Swimming With The Jellies - A Day at the Beach

19 73
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago
Topics: Beach, Nature, Relax, Cooldown

Ever since the pandemic started, the beaches and pools were closed to the public. Thankfully, our province had a very manageable number of positives. Thus, from time to time the quarantine protocol is downgraded to the lowest level. And during those times we could go to the beach and enjoy the warm sun and cool sea breeze.

Last week (Saturday), we went to the far end of the beach for breakfast and a dip in the water.


Hello again, wonderful people of readcash. It's September 25 and it's a Saturday once again. After a hectic week, how I wish we could go to the beach again and relax a bit. But with the threat of the covid-19 virus still looming, it's safer not to go out often.

In this post though, I will share with you some photos taken last week when we went to the beach.


About Roxas City's Beach

Roxas City has an approximately 7 KM beachfront. Suffice to say we have lots of options whenever we wanted to go to the beach. On the other hand, the beach front is mostly occupied by informal settlers, a few resorts and some are private residences. For the second time around, we went to the far end of the beach. We have to travel 8 kilometers to get there.

Screenshot of Google Earth

Normally people would go to Bay-bay beach which is about 3.5 kilometers away from the city plaza. If you had been following me in noisecash, I have been posting sunrise and sunset photos taken from that beach.

Here is one set of sunrise photos that I took from that beach.

See more at: https://noise.cash/post/l6v8zmj0

Since the pandemic started, there were times that the quarantine protocols were downgraded that we were able to go to the beach. And we chose a portion where there are no or few other people around.

Last month, we tried a new location. It's almost at the far end of the long beachfront. Unlike the beach nearest the city, the road is already on the shoreline and they constructed a breakwater to protect the concrete road. I doubt, what they did would last long against the salty water though.

Anyways, it was a good place to have a picnic by the beach. There are coconut trees that provide shades from the sun.

September 18.

Last week, we returned to that place for breakfast and spend some time in the water. We went there along with some of my wife's relatives.

On the way there, a couple, our neighbors who came with us, spotted a mud turtle on the road they picked it up. My son played with the turtle. It was a big one. Probably matured already. My son loves turtles. He played with it when we got to the beach.

A Turtle on the rocks

The women brought out the food and we had breakfast. After that, we checked the water. I saw hundreds of brown jellyfish all over the shallow part of the beach.

The water was calm though. I saw a lone fisherman in his small bangka (outrigger canoe) trying to catch some fish with his line).

He caught some and sold them to my wife's uncle.

After breakfast, the old man who came with us (he's related to my wife's relative... kinda complicated) went to the beach with his daughter, who is the wife of my (late) father-in-law's brother (see, it's complicated). As he told me a story earlier, he grew up near the sea and he is familiar with jellyfish. He assured us that the brown jellyfish is not a deadly kind.

I'm not knowledgeable when it comes to jellyfish species, but in the past, I have scooped some with my hands with no incident. I guess, since they don't have the long tenctacles that the other species of jellyfish have, they are less dangerous. But the could cause a lot of itch.

The kids followed them in the water. I followed also. We went swimming with the jellyfish. I saw some of the kids something on the sand. I realized later that they were bashing some of the poor jellyfish they threw on the sand. I kept silent but I do not approve of it. I scooped some with my hand and threw them in the deeper part of the water. Note. I made sure that I scoop them from the top of their dome not from the bottom. I was tempted to try to touch one from the bottom though. But not without a pure vinegar at hand, just in case.

When I caught one, I saw a tiny fish got away from its grip. I suppose that that fish was grateful that it escaped from death.

The Ninja Turtle

After about an hour, we got out of the water. Then I remembered the turtle. The kids were playing with it before they went to the water. When I asked where it was, nobody knew. I guess he was one of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and made a ninja disappearing act.

As they were preparing for an early lunch, I walked a bit further and went to the ruined portion of the breakwater. I guess there was already a breakwater here but got damaged. I am not a civil engineer, but I think it is quite a common knowdledge that steel bars cannot withstand saltwater. The salt water will seep in through the concrete and corrode the steel with rust and ... you know what will happen next.

After a while, we packed up, picked up our trash and left.

Final Thought.

The pandemic have caused a lot of stress to all of us. Sometimes it's good to go out even just for a couple of hours and enjoy some of God's given gifts --- fresh air, sunshine, and cool waters. And sometimes, we may have to endure some inconvience while enjoying ourselves... like swimming with the jelly fish.

Thanks For Reading and Stay Safe.

The content of this article is all mine unless otherwise indicated.

7
$ 2.73
$ 2.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
+ 2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago
Topics: Beach, Nature, Relax, Cooldown

Comments

yeah some jellyfishes are not harmful. this one included.. i bet you enjoyed your time!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap mah beach ,nakaktanggal ng stress. Ingat kayu ,diba may jelly na nakakalason?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay wow brown jellyfish! 😮 Never pa ako nakakita. Always the white/clear one nakikita ko.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup. Marami ding ganyan Kung minsan. Kinakain daw yan eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha? Kinakain? Ano kaya lasa... 🤔 Actually nag-try ako mag-search online parang wla ako makita kung ano name nyan. Hehe.

Kawawa naman if pinapatay ng mga kids though. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi pa ako nakatikim ng jellyfish. Pero nakita ko yun sa tv na kinakain daw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka lasang gelatin? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol!🤣🤣🤣😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinakamalapit na nakta ko is Barrel Jellyfish. Pero iba yung kulay. Finorward ko ang isang pic sa IG ng BraveWilderness Sana sasagutin nil ang tanong ko. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala baka pumunta pa sila sa Pinas nyan. Haha. Kala ko sa DENR. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron yata akong hater a. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha? Saan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito, me nag downvote eh. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay parang sa akin din minsan may ganyan nagda-downvote.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero ok lang yan. Masaya siguro sila sa ginagawa nila. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malay mo. Pumunta sila dito at mag explore. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naol po hehe buti po di masyado mahigpit sa inyo, enjoy po pag nakakalabas and take care 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Woah napakaganda naman ng place dyan kaso di ako marunong sumisid sa malalim and sobrang hirap para sakin wala akong trust sa malalim lalo na at may pating ganon 🤣 HAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe. Wala namang pating eh... Jelly fish lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago