Look Smart, Be Silent

7 53
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

I had a little chat with a friend over a cup of coffee the other day. We talked about a lot of things, including the rumors and conspiracy theories surrounding Covid-19. There was one thing that we have agreed on. Those who knew little, or believed some unproven theories are the ones who speak loudest in a discussion.

Created using Pixteller

Hello, dear readers. It's the 26th of September and the last Sunday of the month, and welcome to another edition of my Sunday Reflection. And today's focus is on "Silence". What is the significance of silence?


The book of Proverbs says:

"Even fools are thought wise if they keep silent, and discerning if they hold their tongues." Proverbs 17:28 NIV

Disclaimer

Before I continue, a little disclaimer. The content of this post is purely my reflection on the verse above. I don't intend to preach or to teach. This is a matter of reflection and personal opinion.


Many times I have observed or even got involved in an argument. And my observation is, those who speak the loudest, make the least sense. And I confess, sometimes I am guilty of shouting or at least raising my voice in an argument.

The question, during an argument, how many times have you ever pause in silence, not just to wait for your turn to press your idea, but to listen to the other's point of view?

Sometimes Silence Doesn't Mean Defeat

How many times that you got involved in an argument and the other person fell silent? How many times, you felt proud, you felt victorious because the other person had no more argument to give? But guess what, sometimes that silence means, the person merely believes that you are wrong and there is no point in arguing further because you were not even listening to his/her point.

When Someone Corrects Us

How many times did we fell silent when someone corrects us? Instead of justifying the wrong that we have done? Sure, we may try to convince the other person that we had a "valid reason" for doing what was perceived as wrong. Where does that lead us to?

I believe, when someone corrects us, silence is the best first response. Only in silence, we can truly listen. Only in silence, we can only reflect on what we have done.

Silence is not a sign of weakness.

Being silent does not mean you are weak. Silence could even be the loudest voice that you will ever hear. Not all those who are silent means they are weak. As the Chinese philosopher once said:

"Silence is a source of great strength!"

-Lao Tzu

Indeed, silence will help us keep calm. Silence would help us think and act when needed.

Silence is a sign of Knowledge.

In this time of the pandemic. A lot of people believe in a lot of wrong things that cause them unnecessary fear. For instance, they believe, that if they have a cough or have a high fever, they don't go to the hospital or a doctor in fear that they will surely be diagnosed as covid-19 positive.

Often times, I would not say anything. But there was a time that I got tired of hearing it, I simply said:

"If that is the case, why was I not diagnosed as covid-19 positive when I was confined in the hospital?"

They fell silent. But after a few days, I would hear the same argument from the same people. It's hopeless to argue with people who would rather believe the statement of a drunkard.

The point is... well... let me point that out with another verse from the book of Proverbs.

"Whoever restrains his words has knowledge,

and he who has a cool spirit is a man of understanding."

-Proverbs 17:27

Lastly, let me close this Sunday reflection with this song from the legendary duo Simon and Garfunkel

Have a blessed Sunday

Check out my previous Sunday reflection:

https://read.cash/@JLoberiza/gold-or-wisdom-which-will-you-choose-43c41c83

The content of this article is all mine unless otherwise indicated.

7
$ 3.40
$ 3.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @aj_u2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Dyan ako magaling, ang manahimik nAlang kaysa makipag-away o makipGdebate. Kasi minsan kahit ilang ulit ko ng ipaliwanag yung side ko hindi pa din sila open or hindi makikinig s kung ano mN ang sasabihin ko, kaya mas mabuti na yung manahimik nalang para iwas gulo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I keep silent, it is to reflect on something. If someone corrects me and he is right, I don't keep silent, I tell him he is right. I liked your reflection, especially because it has a biblical basis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me naman, Mas gusto nalang din talaga manahimik kasi makisawsaw pa sa problema or issue. Para nalang din makaiwas sa gulo. Yung debate² din talaga, ayaw ko nun. Honestly lang din, I am not really fond of debates. Hehe.. Para kasi'nh wala namang katapusang palitan nang opinyon yun, sasakit lang ulo ko.. Yung bawat party ayaw magpatalo din kasi.. Maingay lang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Silence is a power only in the hands of enlightened minds, but weakness in the mind of helpless person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been bible debater before and I even debate about politics .. I read bible alot,listen to different preachers. In politics, I follow almost government department, listen some of lawyers that sharing their knowledge etc.. It's because I don't want to loose in debate and argument. Am I happy? Nah! I didn't gain any in debating, I didn't get even bch or peso 😂.. I shut my mouth and use all those knowledge not to be fool by many .. relationship is more important ..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

There are no true victors in a debate. Normally, both parties think they won the debate. Hehe.

Kaya, mas mabuti pang manahimik nalang ang and let the other think he/she won. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True Yun kuys.. even I always won on debate. Di Naman sila nagpabinyag sa sektang kinabibilangan ko eh. 😂 .it means, I just won but the holy spirit didn't touch their hearts ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago