I Started A New Morning Routine

8 89
Avatar for JLoberiza
5 months ago

November 12, 2023


Writing Prompt: Morning routine

I did not plan to make this as a writing prompt. However, I thought some of you might be interested in joining a writing prompt, which we did not have here for quite a while.

If you wish to join, you can place the link your of your article for this prompt on the comment section. After seven days, maybe I will pick up the best three and mention the article and the author on my next prompt.

Option: You can also mention at the end of your article up to three people that you want to challenge to join the prompt.

Let's find the joy of writing again thru these prompts.


Last Friday, I decided to start a new morning routine. I realized I had been in an unproductive morning routine for months... or even at least a year. During those times, I'd wake up before 5 in the morning. However, I normally waste my time, browsing through Instagram and watching YouTube.

Screenshot of an IG reel showing a list of useful apps

I had been watching motivational and informative IG reels and/or YouTube videos posted by scam baiters like Pierogi, Trilogy Media, IRL Rosie, KitBoga, NanoBaiter, and others. (I have written an article about ScammerPayback four months ago). Although most of the videos that I have been watching are highly informative (and entertaining), I'm not earning money by merely watching them. Then again, I think I can write about them or even make some YouTube videos about their content.

Read: When Scammers Get A Payback

Screenshot: Pierogi of Scammer Payback

My Old Routine

I use my tablet and phone as an alarm clock. I realized my mistake was, the first I would do in the past was to pick up my tablet and start browsing through Instagram and watch some motivational reels. I admit though I can't avoid some distracting reels that would give me a few laughs early in the morning. I would often spend, or waste rather, about an hour or even an hour and a half on Instagram and YouTube.

The time that I could have spent doing something more productive

Starting My New Routine

Last Friday, the 10th of November, I decided to make some changes to my morning routine. Instead of grabbing my tablet, I spend a few minutes to pray. I admit, I lost my prayer habit for quite a while. Then spend another 10 minutes or so doing some calisthenics. I know 10 minutes is not enough, I have to make a goal and increase my time for my morning exercise.

The best part of my new routine is... well... it's not a new routine, this was my long-forgotten routine... I grabbed a book and spent at least 5 minutes reading it. It's not a new book. I have read this book, maybe half a dozen times already, but I wanted to read it again. It's a book by a best-selling author Bo Sanchez. The book is titled "Simplify and Create Abundance."

I have some e-books on my tablet, but somehow, nothing can beat the feeling of flipping the pages of a book with my fingers.

Image source: Unsplash

To make the experience more pleasurable, I had a hot cup of coffee on the table and started playing a Bossa Nova playlist on YouTube. Yeah, this is one productive way of using YouTube.

Gained a Design Inspiration

While reading the book, the first chapter starts with a quote from Ralph Waldo Emerson

Nothing is more simple than greatness;
indeed, to be simple is to be great.

These words sparked a design idea. So I opened my laptop and explored PhotoPea, an online graphics design platform almost similar to Photoshop (without the subscription cost).

I hit two birds with one stone. I learned how to use PhotoPea, and I have created two versions of a design for my Redbubble shop.

https://www.redbubble.com/i/t-shirt/To-Be-Simple-Is-To-Be-Great-Female-by-JLDesignsPH23/154763123.UGYPM

I haven't uploaded the male version yet though.

Improving My Routine

So far, this is my routine.

  1. Start with a short prayer.

  2. Exercise

  3. Read a book for at least 5 minutes. (While listening to soft music and having a cup of coffee.

These are the things that I need to do every morning.

  1. Pray/meditate for 5 minutes after waking up.

  2. Exercise for at least 10 minutes.

  3. Read a book for at least 5 minutes (while listening to soft music and having a cup of coffee)

  4. Write my plan for the day. This should take me about 5 minutes and I must use a pen and a notebook.

  5. Write an article for at least 30 minutes.

This would take approximately an hour. After this, I could start preparing for another day of work.

In Closing.

How we start our day can affect how we handle the whole day. A right morning routine could lead to a more productive day for you. The question is, How do we find the right routine for us?

You can follow some routines suggested by different gurus. With that, you can also do some trial and error until you find what's best for you.

In the past, I tried to make use of my phone and tablet to list down the things that I needed to do each day.

They worked at first. However, mobile devices come with a lot of distractions, like social media notifications, emails, etc... plus, I don't want to be fully dependent on a mobile device.

Well, I mentioned that I am still using my tablet to play some music while reading. At least the screen is off. However, I think I can get rid of that soon and use a speaker that can read music from a flash drive or a memory card.

Anyway, how about you? Would you care to share about your morning routine?


The following are randomly selected ... ok... Not randomly selected to join this prompt.


Thanks for reading and have fun writing!


Post No. 2023-48

Date Posted: November 12, 2023, Philippine Standard Time

All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.

Check me out in other platforms.

5
$ 0.00
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
5 months ago

Comments

Oh interesting. Happy to see you've started your morning prayer routine again. Perhaps I shall write something too.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Yup. Iba talaga ang pakiramdam if you start the day with a prayer. Expecting to read your entry soon. :D

$ 0.00
5 months ago

That sounds like a great idea! Writing prompts can be a fun way to spark creativity and get back into the joy of writing. It's awesome that you're creating an opportunity for others to join and share their articles. I'm sure many people will be excited to participate and challenge their friends to join as well.

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Thanks. I kinda missed participating in writing prompts. So I decided to create one. And you can participate too. :D

$ 0.00
5 months ago

I totally get what you mean about wanting to start a new morning routine. It's so easy to get caught up in unproductive habits like scrolling through social media. But it's awesome that you're recognizing the need for a change! Writing prompts can be a great way to kickstart your creativity and find joy in writing. I'm excited to see what articles come out of this prompt! Keep up the positive vibes! 🌞📝

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Thanks. I hope this could help give the other authors a topic to write about. and I hope the remaining active writers here will participate too. :)

$ 0.00
5 months ago

Seems like the routine is very useful. Especially the motivation part. The day will be more productive when someone get motivated early in the morning

$ 0.00
5 months ago

That is true

$ 0.00
5 months ago