I Finally Finished My First Tutorial Video

2 55
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

February 18, 2023

In my last post, I mentioned that I'm Back Tinkering With Robotics Again! It's more than two years since the last time I did that because of the pandemic. Since I am teaching Robotics again this year, I have to make preparations from scratch. That includes relearning everything from the beginning and preparing my lessons and my materials for the lessons.

Thankfully, I found TinkerCad. Tinkercad is an online simulator platform that includes a simulator electronic circuit design with Arduino programming.

As part of my preparations, I decided to create video tutorials for my students. Since I'm creating a video tutorial, I thought, why not make one that I can share on Youtube and other video-sharing platforms?

And that kept me busy in the last 10 days or so.


Greetings once again, my dearest readers and friends. It's been 13 days since I last uploaded my last article here. Not that I stopped writing, I was busy writing something else.

Also, I had been preoccupied with creating my first video tutorial. I thought it was just as easy as recording my screen and then adding an intro and an outro clip. It was not! It took me more than 5 days to finish a five-minute video tutorial!


The Challenge: Teaching The Empty Minds With Limited Time!

My students have no background in electronics or whatsoever. So, I really have to start from the very beginning. This means I have to start with the basic of electronics. However, we don't have enough time to go through all the details of understanding Ohm's Law and the like. Then again, they need to understand how the basic components like LEDs and resistors work. Of course, they need to understand how electronic circuits work.

My solution is to write the theories, and show them how it works through video tutorials.


My First Video Tutorial: Exploring TinkerCad

I created a new YouTube Channel where I can upload not only my tutorial videos but other videos relating to technologies that may affect an ordinary person's life. Thus, I named my channel Daily Tech Life, and here is my first video tutorial.


The Long Process

First, I planned to make a simple circuit with a battery, a LED, and a resistor plus a breadboard. My original plan was to record my screen while I am describing what I am doing.

Problem is, I don't have a good microphone, plus I mispronounce some words from time to time.

I decided to record my screen without the voice and then do a voice-over later.

To record my screen, I used a free screen recorder from screenrec.com. It's pretty easy to use and you can record your screen for five minutes in the free version.

It took me several tries before I got satisfied with my recorded video. However, considering some delays because of my slow internet and laptop, I know I have to edit my video anyway.

As for the voice-over, I can't seem to finish even a single paragraph without a mistake. I thought there is a better way.

Creating the Intro

It took me several days in recording the steps. In between those tries, I created the intro video using Intro Maker App on my tablet. Here is the first version that I uploaded to YouTube.

Text-to-Speech App

It took some time for a good Text-to-Speech application that I can use for free. I tried a few with a good voice, but I could not download the audio file without paying for a subscription. Until I found speechify. Speechify can read a whole document, and convert it into speech, and I can download the mp3 file. However, I encountered another obstacle. The audio file is at half the speed. The 4.5 minutes long audio became 9 minutes and it's too slow, and the tone is too low to be comprehensible.

Speechify Referral Link: https://share.speechify.com/mztuxMv

Audio Recording.

My alternative is to let Speechify read my text while I am recording it.

I wrote the whole script based on the video that I recorded. In the process, I noticed some minor mistakes and re-recorded the whole video.

I used Audacity to record the speech as it is being read by Speechify.

Again, I noticed some mistakes in my scripts and had to re-write and record it again several times.

Mixing the Video With the Audio and Adding Some Text

Yesterday, I worked on mixing the video with the recorded audio using the free version of Cyberlink's Power Director.

I had to split the video and audio to adjust the timing. It took me several hours to finish it.

Then today, I finalized the video by adding the intro and outro.

I Need A Better Laptop

I did all these using my old Celeron laptop. Perhaps, I could have done it faster if I had a better laptop.

In Closing

This is the first time that I did a whole 5 minute video tutorial. I can't believe it took me several days and had to learn a number of applications that I haven't used before.

At least, I have learned a lot in this process. Now, I know what I need to do, how to do it, and what apps to use. Perhaps, my next video would take less than half the time to finish.

Lastly, I hope my video would get more than just five likes. LOL!

Thanks for reading and I would appreciate it if you check out my YouTube channel.


Post No. 2023-008

All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.

|Read.cash | Noise. App | Hive (Via Ecency)Forum Coin |

|Publish0x | Cointiply | YouTube

Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links.

2
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @Bjorn
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

TinkerCad is good especially if you don't have Arduino or raspberry pi. I have an Arduino just sitting in the corner because I have no more time making projects and at the same time coding..

for text to speech I am using.. https://bigspeak.ai/ there are options to select voice like UK or US accent... then you can download the generated text to voice.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True... and I think I can make an online class using Tinkercard...

I will try bigspeak. Thanks for the tip

$ 0.00
1 year ago