He is Really Interested in Learning How To Draw

7 51
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

July 30

In the past two or three weeks, I have been drawing a lot using Medibang Paint. One of my unmet dreams in my life is to become comic book artist.

While doing it, my five-year-old son have been watching me. Then he nagged me several times that we wanted to draw as well.


Greetings once again, my wonderful read-cash family. It's almost the end of July already. Wow! time does fly really fast!

In the last three days, my son has been nagging me to let him try drawing on my tablet.

Since, he once cracked the screen of my old phone, he knew he is off-limits to my new tablet.

But he promised to be careful and will just do it while in the room. I thought, this is much better than letting him play mobile games on my phone.


Tracing

He asked me if he can draw the alien that I was working on at that time. I created a new sketch, turned the sketch to blue and created a new layer for him to draw on

My son, tracing my sketch

Drawing By Connecting Dots.

Observing him, I see him having a problem making long lines straight. His hands are still jittery.

I remember doing that often when I was a child. Every Sunday, I will go to the section of the Sunday newspaper and find the kiddie and comic strip section. Often, there is always a connect-the-dots activity. I guess, that helped me develop my drawing skills when I was young.

So I created another Spiderman drawing. A simpler version and I added dots on it. And to make straight lines, I taught him how to use the "line path" tool.

Connect the dots: Spiderman

Thor

After he finishing the Spiderman drawing he asked me for another one. This time he want's to draw another Marvel Superhero... Thor. Complete with his hammar Mjolnir and some lightning strikes,

This time though, I did not put the dots. Though he still makes squidgy lines, I thought it will also help hime develop his skills without relying on lines.

Screenshot after he finished outlining Thor

I Need A Printer

I don't have a printer yet. But I was thinking it will help develop his drawings skills if I printout some light sketch and some connect-the-dots activities on paper. Maybe I can make them available for download soon.

Better Alternative To Gadget Use

Most kids today are hooked to cellphones and gadgets. I'm always looking for some activities that will keep their thoughts away from using these devices.

So when they request for toys that require physical activities (and as long as I can afford them), I would buy them.

Drawing is just one of the activities that would do that. Moreover, they can develop some skills that they can use when they grow up.

In Closing.

I have observed that kids will get interested on the activites of their parents and those who are around them. If they see people around them are hooked on their devices, they too will soon be interested and get hooked to cellphones and other devices.

I supposed, the best way to get the kids interested in something is to show them that you are interested in them too. For now, my interest is on art, particularly creating illustrations. But I'm also interested in learning how to play the guitar. It's never too late to learn something new anyway.

Thanks for Reading.


10
$ 1.89
$ 1.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @BlueFlipper
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

Oohh he got the skills! ✨❤️ My nephew is like this too when it comes to art-not just digi but also traditional. He always want to meddle with things I want to learn hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nice start, but I hope it's better if it's on paper first but that's ok because digital art is also more on-demand than the traditional one..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

hehe. Yeah. I also buy them a sketchbook from time to time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

am sure with consistency and interest with will one day be good at it more than you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is a good start. At least your son will develop his drawing skills then and lessen the use of gadgets just by playing because some parents really let their kids use gadgets for hours.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I just learn something from your type of parenting, no matter the first mistake of our child, always give them a second chance..he broke your screen the first time, but you didn't deprive him access to your new tablet.and he now made sketches that got you so proud of him..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sketching is my passion also. Habitation is a behavior found in children. We should do productive things in front of them so that they will be able to follow good steps by their parents. I appreciate your strategies in front of your kiddo. I think art will be best thing he will learn from you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago