Have You Listened To Your Book Before?

4 35
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

November 18. 10:04 AM.

Have you ever listened to a book? If you have no idea what I am talking about, this may sound ridiculous. How can you listen to a book? But I know some of you already know what I am talking about.


Hello dear readers. At the moment, I am standing in a queue for the second dose of my covid-19 vaccine. To make use of my time, I decided to write this article while I am listening to one of my favorite self-help books "Think and Grow Rich" by Napoleon Hill.

If you have subscribed to my noise.cash, you may see me post image quotes with words from this best-selling author.

In this article, I will share with you some of the advantages of listening to a book instead of reading. And in case you are still wondering, I am referring to "audiobook."


What is an audiobook?

As defined in Wikipedia,

An audiobook (or a talking book) is a recording of a book or other work being read out loud. A reading of the complete text is described as "unabridged", while readings of a shorter version are an abridgment.

The audiobook is not a new technology. it existed even before the cassette tapes existed. The medium used merely evolved as the technology evolved.


Interlude.

Time 4:16. I stopped writing at around 10:30 AM. But I kept listening to the audiobook until 10:40. The queue was shorter today and moved much faster. Except for the last part. I can't explain how they did it but the last queue was quite unorganized. Some people who came in later got their shots first before us. A minor inconvinience. I got my shot around 11:20.

I got home. My arm was not sore like the last time. But I felt a mild headach. I just slept it off after lunch. I woke up past two because of my nephew's loud voice. I decided to watch the Free Guy starring Ryan Reynolds. It was a fun movie.

Now back to the topic.


Where to Get Audiobooks?

There are numerous sites where you can download audiobooks. Some are free some are not. Here is an article from Mashable.com with a list of sites where you can download audiobooks for free. https://mashable.com/article/free-audiobooks

I got the Think and Grow Rich Audiobook from YouTube.

Advantages of Listening To Your Book

Disclaimer.

The following information is based on my experience in listening to audiobooks and nothing more than a personal opinion.

Everyone is entitled to MY opinion

Source: Amazon

1. You can listen to your book anytime, anywhere. Yes. just like music, you can listen to an audiobook anytime and anywhere. You can listen to it when you drive. You can listen to it before you go to sleep... or as you go to sleep. I sometimes listen to it during my morning walk.

2. You can do something else while listening. Just as I did earlier, while waiting in line, I started writing this article while listening to one. If there is something that I missed, I can move back in the player timeline a bit.

3. You can pick up something that you did not when you read the book. I have read the book "Think and Grow Rich" a number of times. But I think I finished it once only. Each time I read it, I pick up something new. And by listening to the audiobook I, again, pick up something new.

4. Audiobooks may be more up-to-date. Here is one thing I noticed. The audiobook comes with the editor's comments that were not in the book. Apparently, some of the editor's comments are made a few years after the book was originally published. I suppose it's because it's cheaper to produce an audiobook with new information added than creating a new edition with millions of copies.

Final Thoughts

I find listening to audiobooks more convenient than reading books. However, if you are listening to books like "Think and Grow Rich" or other types of self-help books, having a printed or an e-book is indispensable. Especially if you need to take down some notes, or follow a certain procedure or steps.

Would I prefer audiobooks over printed books? Maybe. But the feel of paper in my hands while reading a book while sitting comfortably on a recliner is an experience that cannot be replaced.

How about you? Have you listened to your books before? Would you prefer audiobooks over printed books? or is it the other way around?

Thanks For Reading and Sharing Your Thoughts.

Check out my other content at:


All content is mine unless otherwise indicated.

Lead ImageL Image by Felix Lichtenfeld from Pixabay 

6
$ 10.62
$ 10.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

I am listening to books too, the first Audiobook I heard is "Harry Potter" how I tried to hear all the books yet its a long journey LOL. I sometimes imitate the voice of the narrator hahaha, foreign man reading the book could be an accent adopting tools thou.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha. yeah. You could actually adopt their accent listening to them often.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This sounds great and I might opt in for this audiobook because I don't usually read my books to the end except I am in the mood. I will check the site now. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I use audible and love it :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago