Day 15 of My Journey as a First-Time Book Author

6 49
Avatar for JLoberiza
9 months ago

June 6, 2023.

It's already day 15 of My Journey as a first-time book author. I thought I could have written half of the book by now. However, I have just completed the draft for the third chapter of the ten chapters of the book.


Greetings once again my dear friends and readers. It's been more than a week since my lost post here. I have been focusing on my book. I made a self-imposed deadline which is on the 20th of June. I think that's a bit close, especially for a first-time book author like me.

For those of you who have not read my last article, My Journey As A First-Time Book Author Begins, I am writing a beginner's guide on robotics using Arduino.

In 15 days of writing, here are some of the things that I have learned.


ChatGPT is Helpful But ...

The content generated is difficult to read for my intended readers. I mentioned that I used ChatGPT to create the topic outline for the book. Honestly speaking, I even tried to use it to generate the Introduction. However, the content generated fully by ChatGPT is quite too technical, thus, not that easy to read. The readability score is just 40. This means readers below 19 years old will have some difficulty understanding the content.

Incomplete. Even the topics that I asked ChatGPT to generate per chapter are a bit incomplete. I had to modify my query several times. I even have to ask a more specific question before I got what I wanted. Still, I have to search the web for some of the information that I needed.

Overall though, ChatGPT helped organize the topics. It's also helpful in gathering ideas, some explanations, and even project ideas.

What I Accomplished So Far

I have just finished the draft of the third chapter.

The first two chapters were perhaps the most challenging part. They are introductory chapters and contain lots of theories and definitions. Most of them pertain to electronic components. Not that I am not familiar with them, I just want to make sure that the information I share is accurate. So I did a little more research in addition to what ChatGPT has given

The third chapter and the last will contain more step-by-step instructions and fewer theories. This is the fun part of making this book. I will be making the "projects" and recording the process.

Blogging

I was also thinking of sharing the tutorials here instead of creating my blog. (I don't have the budget to have a self-hosted WordPress site). I guess, I will make a community for Arduino here. Then upload my videos on my YouTube channel and share the link to read.cash. Who knows, I might be able to some people to join this platform.

This is one way I can think of to do one of the things that I love to do and help this platform.

In Closing.

As a first-time book author, the most challenging part that I encountered is gathering ideas and organizing them. That's where ChatGPT comes to my aid. Aside from that, it's quicker to get the definitions or descriptions of the electronic components commonly used in the Arduino starter kits.

I also got a lot of additional ideas and information from ChatGPT and affirmed what I already know. I did rewrite a lot of portions though based on what the AI has provided. I wanted to present the information, the way I wanted it.

Another task that I expect to be challenging is editing. I realized I need to edit and simplify the content of the first two chapters (plus the Introduction) to make it more readable and comprehensible.

This is it for now. I have to start making the first two tutorials.

Thanks for reading, sharing, and upvotes.


Post No. 2023-027

Date Posted: June 7, 2023 Philippine Standard Time

All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.

Lead and First Image: Pixabay with modifications.

| Read.cash | Noise. App | Hive (Via Ecency)| Forum Coin |

| Publish0x | Cointiply | YouTube |

3
$ 0.20
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Unity
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
9 months ago

Comments

Good on you Sir inform the printing press, hehe.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

I think, I'd go for an ebook. On the other hand, another purpose of the book is four our school. Instead of buying books from a book company, we can produce our own textbook and I can get some royalty.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

You are on the right track to writing a book.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Thanks. I hope I can finish it before this month ends.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

It also happens to me, I have no budget to create a website. But we have web3 and we can share a lot of content on it. Even on various topics. I write about a different topic on each of my blogs. I love it.

I think you use ChatGPT well, because you are using it as a tool. And not to write a whole book (which I don't agree with). Nothing supplants the human being.

Where will you publish your book?

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Thanks. Yeah, ChatGPT is a helpful tool but I, for one, can easily get a hint if an article is AI generated. It's very impersonal. I have seen some AI generated articles here. (I think one author blocked me after informing him/her (in a private chat) that I noticed that his/her articles are detected as 100% AI generated)

I'm still looking for different options. I'm looking at Amazon for one... I still need to look for other platforms. I hope I can find a platform where I can sell it for BCH.

$ 0.00
9 months ago