Another Page in Philippine History Is Being Written

22 55
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

May 9, 2022

Today, another page in the history of the Philippines is about to be written. Millions of Filipinos went out to cast their votes from the highest position in the country down to the city/municipal councilors.


Greetings, my faithful friends and followers, especially to my fellow Filipino read.cash members. As I write this article. I am waiting for the results of the 2022 Philippine National and local elections which I expect to start coming in less than forty minutes.

How was the election in your area? It was quite peaceful here in our city. It also went smoothly. I went to my voting precinct after lunch and in less than thirty minutes I was done. Thanks to the automated vote-counting machines.


Created using Canva

Looking Back.

Last April, I mentioned to you a certain project from which I earned more than my targeted earning goal. I did not specify what project it was, it's because it was related to this election.

I was one of the dozens of people who were hired nationwide to install the transmission equipment used to transmit the election results. I covered two provinces here on our island. All I can say is, that Smartmatic and the telecom companies have taken extra steps to secure the election results during transmission.

Moreover, I know the difficulties some of those people went through just to install those transmission equipment. Some had to ride pump boats, habal-habal (motorcycles used as passenger vehicles) while carrying boxes of network equipment. And note some of them are petite ladies. To my fellow installers, I salute you.

Smooth Election.

I believe the election went rather smoothly. There were minimal election-related incidents reported all over the country.

As I have mentioned above, it took me less than thirty minutes to cast my votes.

Who Will Be The Next President?

It is now ten minutes past the hour of eight in the evening. The results have just started to come in and probably it will take a few hours before we can start to see who will be the next president of the country. However, the presidential and vice-presidential votes will be canvassed by Congress when it resumes on May 23.

(Read: https://newsinfo.inquirer.net/1594829/comelec-sitting-as-nboc-suspends-canvassing-to-resume-on-tuesday-afternoon?utm_source=gallery&utm_medium=direct

Among the 10 candidates though, the battle could be between Bong Bong Marcos and Leni Robredo. However, Isko Moreno can be a dark horse in this race.

Whoever will win though, I hope the rivalry will stop after the winner has been declared. The country has suffered for far too long from endless political conflict. I hope these politicians will start working together and stop trying to pull each other down like crabs.

https://newsinfo.inquirer.net/1594987/partial-and-unofficial-bongbong-marcos-leads-in-presl-race-by-over-50000-votes-in-first-wave-of-results?utm_source=gallery&utm_medium=direct

As for the supporters of the different candidates, let's respect the decision of the majority. Open your eyes and minds. Take away the blinders that prevent you from seeing what others can see.

9:37

Update:

Bong Bong Marcos leads by 500K in the partial, unofficial, first wave of results.

(Source:  https://newsinfo.inquirer.net/1594987/partial-and-unofficial-bongbong-marcos-leads-in-presl-race-by-over-50000-votes-in-first-wave-of-results?utm_source=gallery&utm_medium=direct)

In Closing.

Looks like the survey results are correct after all. I did not vote for Marcos. (Read: Isko Is My Choice, No Matter What). However, I did expect him to win. Not just because it's what the survey said, I listened to people from different walks of life. From the tricycle drivers in our city, the vendors, and what people I know say on social media, and in other platforms. As I have told @Eunoia, I respect his choice.

As for the supporters of the losing candidates, respect the voice of the majority and try to see the other side of the coin. The side the majority sees.

God Bless The Philippines.

Thanks for reading.

Image Credits

Lead Image:

Pixabay and  GetWallpaper.com with modifications.

 

 

 

11
$ 5.97
$ 5.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 4
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

that's right, we have to respect the results and now its time to just be united

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa ngayon dami pang bitter lalo na sa social media. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah this election is part of the Philippine history I just really hope that the next president and officials will be a great leader for our country. Good thing that you vote so smoothly because the voting here in our place took a lot of time and long wait in line.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm still awake and watching the result hehe. The future is about to begin...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm. I've done my role and responsibility as a Filipino to vote, and now it's time to see the hearts, choices and preferences of the majority.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes the majority wins. The majority sees something better to a person that might be we wasn't able to seen. Let's accept the results and whoever wins we will give our full support for the betterment of our country.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

BBM here but your right ,hoping after this election we are count as one again not as a enemies because we support different candidates.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am saddened by the current results. Hopefully it gets overturned in the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

BBM is not my choice... but I fully understand why people chose him. Even some of those I know who opposed his father.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What's their reason?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They see the other side of the coin which other people chose not to look at. The same reason why I respect those who chose Leni, even if I did not vote for her either.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What's the details of the other side though?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh.. that's for you see with your own eyes... It's a matter of perspective. No amount of explanation can convince you unless you allow yourself to see it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol why don't you want to share your thoughts on what their reasons are though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let's put it this way... Natikman mo na ba kung gaano katamis ang manga na galing sa Guimaras?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol doesn't matter if the answer can't even be shared directly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can give a direct answer. But when it comes to politics, most people tend to stick with their point of view... So what's the use? The best way to see the other side of the mountain, is to go to the other side of the mountain. 😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nah never mind. I wasted typing and never got an answer. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hehehe. Because I want you to find out yourself why. A lot of those who did not vote for BBM will just argue. Arguement will just lead to nowhere. Talk to the Ilocanos and ask them why they love BBM despite of everything... you might find your answer there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nah, I already know and just want to know what you found out. Seems like you don't want to share it to the world so that's your choice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's better to see first hand than just to hear it from somebody. hehe. As I've said, the only way to see the other side of the mountain is to go to the other side of the mountain. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As I said I already know it and that you'd rather not say it. We're just going in circles in this convo. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago