My Boxing Day..

4 22
Avatar for J.Matty
2 years ago

Hi everyone it another beautiful day drawing close to dawn. Hope we all celebrated well and in good health. It have been awesome all these while, the Christmas well spent and the following remarkable day follows. "The Boxing day".

The Boxing day is an annual event that follows up the Christmas day. I never knew of a day like that untill my younger age (7). Then I was in the sitting room watching the news when the broadcaster said something about boxing. As a trouble maker I was, all my mind could think of was "fight", exchanging blows. Lol 😆.

To my Amazement as I went to see the boxing gloves on TV, I saw boxes of goodies, gifts and presents. I still couldn't believe my sight until the news section was over. I kept it to myself and never mentioned it to anyone. It was in the evening of that same day that I heard my uncle through phone calls mentioned "Boxing day" again. I quietly waited for him to be through with the call to ask him what he means with what I heard him say .

I was okay with"boxing" but very confused with the suffix that follows "day". To box really means to fight for all I know but could it mean a fighting day? Well I was about to know.

I walked up to him as he dropped his phone and asked him what "Boxing day" means and he said; ok, Boxing day is an annual event that follows Christmas day. That is every 26th of December. It all about showing love to people. Giving gifts and presents to people, that what it means.

I then asked him again how the name of the day has something to do with giving gifts? That was when he told me that the Box in the name means gift boxes 😂. Then I remembered what I saw on the news, boxes on the screen. Lol! I gasped, so this is it, He went further to say that its origin is from the tradition of the rich people, wealthy people and members of the society gifts their servants and others a Christmas box containing money and different gifts on the day after Christmas.

Oh my God! So this is the meaning of what I have been hearing everytime ; I said to myself. Boxing day is really an awesome day and worth it. There countless number of people who are in need of this special box. This day provides everyone opportunity to give matter the size of the box.

As an adult, I have always prepared for this day that follows after Christmas. I make sure I have a box to give out in fulfillment of the season of love.

Thanks for reading. I wish you a lovely time and season of love. Happy new year in addy. 🎉🙌

Happy Boxing Day!

Written by J.matty.

All pictures from unsplash

4
$ 3.57
$ 3.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
+ 1
Avatar for J.Matty
2 years ago

Comments

I really thought that you're referring to boxing sports, the punching one hahha but I like it ha, I've never thought there is what they called boxing day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same thought those days 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah Boxing Day is my favourite at Christmas, a day to relax and be lazy 😋

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ouch! For real 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago