Efficient way to overcome procrastination

4 40
Avatar for Its_Nicolayy
3 years ago

I have been a very bad Procrastinator for a long time, until I really understood the basics of why I delay.

To understand why you are procrastinating, you must first have a strong desire to eliminate procrastination in your life and following the procedures mentioned below will help.

I. Monitor your daily activity

When I first started writing down the list of activities I was doing every day, I felt like I was wasting time. But later while studying the data for a month I clearly understood why I did not have enough time to do the necessary activities and it was narrowed down to the bad habits I had created over time.

I spend most of my time on Facebook and are affected by the "Chain-click curse" where watching a video from Facebook will lead to YouTube opening up on Twitter to see the trend and it continues with many non-browsing required. wasting your precious time

II. Understanding why we procrastinate

We procrastinate because of the habits we have created over time. When we work on some random thought that attracts our mind, it can be as simple as, where to go for the next vacation? And I go online to check the details about it. It doesn’t stop there, then on Facebook to see where my friends went and someone else catches my eye and the clicks are endless.

III. How we create Habits

I follow this routine every day that allows me to work overtime to complete my work and have no time for the important things in life. All of this made sense to me when I read the Power of Charles Duhigg's character.

Understanding the basic habits is a big help to me.

I start with a cue / Signal in my case it is random thinking and my task is to search about it and reward I get is leaving a stressful task for that moment / pleasure by answering my random thinking to suck my time endlessly leaves only a very short period of time to do what is necessary.

Now this trick to replace bad work with a good work will lead to greater productivity in life, which can be understood by looking at how runners reward themselves

Here the cue is the Running shoe and it allows you to the running routine which is created over time, running leads to reward which will feel the fulfillment in completing a run also satisfying the Endorphin craving you get by looking at running shoes

IV. How I healed myself by changing my routine

1. Keeping my excitement free

Turn off the internet: Most of my work does not require internet so turn off my WiFi whenever I work

Note pad: Whenever some random thoughts strike rather than find them online I started recording them on a small note and researched about them later

Setting Time Limits: Setting a time limit for completing my work helped me focus my work more, Even setting a time to socialize with my colleagues who spent no more than 5 minutes in unnecessary conversations.

2. Maintaining habits

Tracking your activities: It is very difficult for me to write down each activity now and then, so I spend half an hour every day before bed to write down all day activities divided into hourly activities and make a quick analysis of which will improve the next day.

It looks like this:

9:00 - 10:00: Forecast Meeting

10:00 - 11:00: Project # 1 - Procedure prepared

Prioritizing activities for tomorrow: This summary will help me prioritize activities that I should be more focused on tomorrow and I will write the top 3 things that should be completed tomorrow

Monthly and Quarterly Reviews: then I started analyzing my monthly and quarterly data to continually improve my productivity The methods mentioned above worked perfectly for me and I started looking for more time to do the necessary things in life. I hope it will be useful for you too, Let me know if it is useful. :)

5
$ 0.58
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
Sponsors of Its_Nicolayy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Its_Nicolayy
3 years ago

Comments

It is not easy to get a grip on procrastination. It requires a lot of strength. It's good that you have succeeded.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree sir, it is not really easy. Lot of productive things to do to succeed

$ 0.06
3 years ago

You're a Filipino pala? About your content..mas maganda talaga yung may ginagawang palan or schedules kasi nakikita natin kung productive tayo sa isang araw o hindi. As a parent, di ko na need haha, lamog na lamog ako sa buong araw.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes po, Filipino po. Ou nga po para we can still manage other things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago