My Parents are getting older and I don't think I'm ready

5 34

May 2, 2022

Hi there! It feels great to be able to post here today. I haven't been able to be active here for the past 2 days because things just got hectic. In a way, this platform is like a stress reliever for me being able to share my thoughts and feelings and here I am sharing my thoughts again.

My lovely parents ❣️

For the past few years, I have been living life blithely oblivious that time is rapidly passing. I've been trying to enjoy myself and live in the present and sure, I do see myself growing older and I'm extremely grateful to have my parents beside me supportive as ever. But it never really occured to me until recently that my parents aren't as young as they used to be.

We had to take my dad to urgent care not too long ago. He had a mild stroke which was caused by heart failure. I was really scared. He was unable to speak and move so we took him to the hospital right away. In that moment, I had a realization: My parents are getting older and I don't think I'm ready for it.

We spent the Holy Week in the Hospital. The first few days were tough. My dad often got seizures and involuntary tics from time to time due to his medication. It was very heartbreaking to watch but I held it in. I tried to be strong for my dad. Thankfully, my dad got better overtime. Now we're back home. He can speak clearly and can now move. His right hand still has limited movement but we're working on it with a physical therapist.

My dad doing exercises ☺️

My mom on the other hand is relatively healthy. She and I take turns in taking care of my dad. I personally think my mom looks great for a 50+ year old but when I do look closely I notice wrinkles slowly appearing. I get worried because of the amount of stress she might be dealing with right now. That's why I help out as much as I can.

My mom ❣️

When we were growing up, our parents are there to take care of us. They are the ones who have the wisdom and the knowledge. For things to get flipped, feels kinda weird to me. But I know that it's the cycle of life. Eventually, children grow up and take care of their parents in the long run.

Realizing that my parents are getting old is kinda scary. They're the light and the strong foundation of the family. I never want to think that their time is fleeting. It's heartbreaking.

I want to enjoy my time with my parents. I will never turn down any requests from them. I will stop myself from getting frustrated everytime they ask about how to use modern technology. I will listen to all their stories frm their younger selves even when they tell them over and over again. I will always kiss and hug them no matter how old I get. I will always make sure that they know how much I love them.

I hope that my parents live to be 100. So then they will be able to see their grandchildren grow up, graduate, get married and maybe even have great-grandchildren. They are the best parents that I could have ever asked for. They taught me the meaning of true love, sacrifice and hard work. They mean everything to me.

There's not a day that I don't think about how great of a blessing it is that we're together and I am going to soak up each and every moment. They were always with me when I needed them, and I will be there for them until the day they no longer need me.

Sponsors of Its_Jai
empty
empty
empty

Thank You for taking time to read. Hopefully, I'll be able to post at least one article per day. Have a nice day everyone and don't forget to take care of yourselves. ❣️

6
$ 2.72
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy

Comments

Hello there, The title caught my attention to click your article and after that I saw the pics of your dad who is very familiar to me, so it is you pala mem :) Btw this article made me realize na I need to value my parents too kay as you've said they're getting najud ... May God bless you always mem and your family :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sir ☺️ I remember you from SLSU. Thank you for the well wishes. God bless you and your family as well. It's true dle jod nato mapugngan ang time sir. The earlier we realize that, the more we want to live fully with the people we care about.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Btaw mem, sakto jud na familiar nako imo father kay teacher mn baja pud si sir mem noh? Btaw enjoy nlng sad dres RC hihi, english major mn ka mem noh?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sir. Teachers both parents nako. Math major ko sir 😅 but I get that a lot.. Daghan jod muingon nga english major ko. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahww Math d.i ka mem, bagtik mn gud kag english😆haha ahh blood line najud d.i ninyu ag Educ. heheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago