A DIY Wedding :)

2 26

May 3, 2022

Hey everyone. Good morning, good afternoon and good evening to you, wherever you are in the world. I hope you're doing good. To be honest I'm a little bit stressed out (just a tiny bit). 😅As I said in my past posts, I'm getting married this month. Since we only have 19 days till the wedding, I thought I should share some details about my preparations for it.

photo from unsplash

Weddings are really expensive. We planned to have a simple wedding celebration but our families are very supportive so we ended up having to plan a somewhat grand wedding or "bongga" as we call it in the Philippines. I kinda thought hiring a wedding planner would cost me more money so I just decided to wing it out myself lol. My mom is helping me with some of the wedding details.

photo from www.getyourvenue.com

The first thing we did is take care of paperwork. Last December, my fiancé and I went to Tacloban city to get our Certificate of No Marriage because it's a requirement for getting a Marriage License. After that we then went to the Local Civil Registry to apply for a Marriage License. Since I'm 23 and my fiancé is 27, which is still considered a pretty young age to get married, We had to get consultation for a Pre-Marriage Counceling. They had to make sure that we're really ready to get married on our own will. Not just get married because the guy got the girl pregnant (which is not the case for us). So after that, we're pretty much set to get married.

Certificate of no Marriage sample

The next thing we did is choose a date. There's a lot of things to consider when choosing a date. We took account of the weather. Since June, July, and August are when it's typically rainy season and our Application for Marriage License expires in July, We decided on May 22nd which is a Sunday. We also decided on the venue which is my aunt and uncle's farm. It needs a little bit of work to clean up since it was devastated by two typhoons, but we'll make it work. Teamwork makes the Dream work.❣️

The next thing would be the guests list and invitations. I also decided to make the invitations myself. So I bought these Stationary Papers which were thick like a card, and I also bought parchment paper, jute strings, wax beads, a wax stamp and a paper corner cutter. I spent about 400 pesos for those stuff. I then made a layout of the print on canva. I had freedom to customize anything I want to because my account was on premium subscription. I ended up doing these designs:

I tried to use the parchment paper as like an envelope. It looked bland and boring and I felt like something was missing with my initial design so I decided to print flower patterns or prints on the parchment paper. I browsed through pinterest and chose two flower print designs and printed them on the parchment paper and I honestly thought it was the best idea I thought of for the invitation design. Once I was happy with my design I printed them and put them all together. Now it looks like this:

We already gave them out to our guests.

The next preparations were typical wedding prep. We hired decorators, negotiated with catering services, bought maid of honor and bridesmaids dresses, rented some other clothing pieces for the entourage, and I also chose my wedding dress. My most recent fitting happened yesterday. I kinda felt insecure with my body. I'm on the heavier side so I have some insecurities about my body but I felt good in the wedding dress I chose. It hugged my curves and I just felt very beautiful wearing it hence why I chose it. I didn't take pictures yet. It's a surprise. 😁

I'm still working on the giveaways as of now. I'm giving away flowering plant seeds as my wedding souvenirs ☺️. If only I had more time, I would give away tree seedlings but flowering plant seeds will do. We will also be doing our prenuptial photo shoot this coming May 5th. Two days from now. I think I'll write about my experience here.

Sponsors of Its_Jai
empty
empty
empty

That's all the wedding prep updates I can share for now but I'll give another update soon. ☺️ Take care and have a great day to everyone and don't forget:

3
$ 3.61
$ 3.61 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Wow ang galing naman sis ang ganda ng invitations. Mainam talaga na ikaw na mismo gagawa kasi sayang din kung ipapagawa pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis. Sobrang tipid din. Di mo na need bumayad ng commission.

$ 0.00
1 year ago