We want the child in pursuit of knowledge and not knowledge in pursuit of the child.

3 27
Avatar for Ismaeel2
3 years ago

"Can I have a squint at your curriculum and the kind of books you use?"

"Oh, that's not a problem. Here they are". she replied as she handed them over to me.

Going through the whole stuff, I was impressed. "This is great! My son is definitely going to learn a whole lot in a school with such a robust curriculum and quality books." I presumed.

Feeling satisfied with my inquiries, I enrolled him in that school.

A month later, I couldn't notice any difference in him. All I could enjoy was a son coming back home neatly and well taken care of. Oh! How I still miss those beautiful school wears and their excellent care giving services.

"Charis, relax. He just started. Besides, he is just two years". I encouraged myself.

The term ended and yet my little genuis couldn't even recognise "a" let alone write it.

"Where did all the enormous curriculum go to? What's the essence of all the quality books and broad scheme of work I saw there?" I wondered.

In as much as I know there are several other factors that could be responsible for this, one key thing I discovered was that the teacher killed the desire for learning in my child. She unknowingly instilled fear in my son therefore making learning scary for him.

School time was always a fearful time for him then as he will cry each day.

It is not enough to have a robust curriculum or library together with plenty knowledge to chase the children with.

You must create the desire in the child to chase this "plenty knowledge" you have for him. And this lies in the hands of the individual teacher not just the school management.

Recently, I adopted a strategy. My children choose their learning time. I ask them if they want or ready to learn. If the response is in the affirmative, we start. If it's in the negative, I make them to decide when, making them to look forward to that time.

The desire to learn must be nurtured - not forced. This, I have greatly come to abide by.

Igniting the desire to learn even the minutest of knowledge is of great benefit or value than having plenty of knowledge with no desire for the child to learn even a quint of it.

Like Bernard Shaw would say : ...stop chasing that child with knowledge. Instead, seek to make the child chase it.

Subscribe, pls

Upvote, pls and

Comment, pls.

11
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ismaeel2
3 years ago

Comments

education was needed by our children

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very true mate

$ 0.00
3 years ago