Who doesn't love a calculator?

0 15
Avatar for IsThisIt
2 years ago

I love my calculator. It helps me add and subtract. It helps me multiply and divide. It aids me in my computation. Add what? Subtract what? Multiply what? Divide what?

First and foremost, the fundamental operations are said to be binary operations. The reason for that is you perform them on two(bi) things at a time. However long your expression could be, you still perform them binarily.

So applications of the things we learn in Math is their use in our day to day lives.

I know the basic concepts behind this operations but most of the time, I have to use paper and pencil to get them right. But because of my calculator, I have easier time.

The five reasons why I love my calculator are the following:

  • First, my calculator is a natural display. Meaning that, I can just input numbers as is as they are written in a formula. I just have to press the right keys on my calculator.

  • Second, it is powered by solar energy. I don't have to buy batteries. When it is low in battery, I simply use my flashlight to charge it. I direct light into a particular part in my calculator and it is charged! Amazing, right?

  • Third, my calculator is bought at a very high price! Just kidding haha. I actually bought this at a cheaper price than it's actual price. This is the product of my sister being scammed by retailers. I do not know anymore the story but she bought this thing at over $20. And I just bought it from her for less than $10. Well, it may be second hand but it is like brand new.

  • Fourth, my calculator, has integral calculus functions. If you are an engineering student or anybody who took up integral calculus, my calculator is able to calculate definite integrals. Okay, many calculators are able to do that. And so? I am just relating to you why I love my calculator.

  • Fifth, which is last but not the least, my calculator is awesome! Just that. Whoever invented this things, I'm grateful to you. I am just being grateful okay? How many of you are grateful from the small things we receive everyday? If you are not, then start appreciating things from the smallest till the biggest. If even you can't appreciate your greatest blessing, then you won't be able to appreciate the small things. So always start from the least and we will be more appreciative.

Whenever I tutor young kids, I don't immediately recommend a calculator to them. I advise them first to understand basic principles in mathematics. The basic principles of course include how to perform the operations. Or I even start with the types of numbers. Sometimes, it's sad that teenagers who know how to make boyfriend/girlfriend do not know what an integer is.

Once you know the foundations behind Mathematical operations, then you will be able to enjoy your calculator like I do. There are many students who are still unable to use the calculator for reason that they just don't know how to.

A sample wrong way of adding/subtracting

In the above picture, the correct answer for the given expression to be simplified is zero (0). But the answer of the student is -6. This will lead them to question why even by use of calculator for a simple arithmetic, they get it wrong. The only way to do it is to take the principles into heart. For this one, you should always do it from left to right. Or you may just change the given into all addition as, 2 + (-5) + 3, then proceed to rules for addition. Once you get the hang of it, you don't have to really do the principles one step at a time for as long as you do things logically.

To start using calculators in the right manner, you should first start understanding the basic principles.

After all, we can't ask "Who doesn't love a calculator" just because others struggle even to use it.

Keep learning dear students. I am a student by the way. We always should be.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for IsThisIt
2 years ago

Comments