My Keto Diet Experience

1 36
Avatar for Insh_11
2 years ago

November 26, 2021

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/keto-diet

Approximately six months ago, I tried a keto diet to lose weight, because at that time I had more weight according to my height. Actually my friend told me about ketogenic diets. As you all know that in this diet we take high fat portions, normal portions of protein and very low carbohydrates. But seriously, my experience of keto diet was not good at all, because I faced different health issues during this diet. That's why I quit this diet after 2 months.

Actually in a ketogenic diet, the insulin level in our body decreases and fat breakdown increases, so in this way our weight decreases. The name of this diet is keto on the basis of a process called ketosis. Ketosis occurs in our body when we take very low carbs and high fat in our diet, so in this way ketones level increases in our body by liver. Actually ketone is a source of energy which is formed after the breakdown of fat.


Now I will tell you what I ate during this diet and what issues I faced during the ketogenic diet. Actually, first I want to tell you that in this diet plan my friend guided me about what I should take and what not, because she is a nutritionist and has much knowledge about all types of diet plans.

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/fat-diet


So she guided me to take more calories from fats like, olive oil, cheese, butter, yogurt, coconut oil and walnuts; and take some calories from protein source like eggs, fish, meat; and take minimum calories about 5% from carbohydrates, in which low calorie veggies are included like cucumber, broccoli, spinach, cabbage and lettuce. Although all these vegetables are my favorite. 

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/yogurt


So I did all that my friend guided me. For breakfast, I regularly took different things like one day I ate two full eggs' omelette including spinach, cabbage and some broccoli. Next day I ate a cheese omelette with some olives. So, this was my breakfast, and in snacks I always used yogurt and nuts like almonds and walnuts. For lunch, I used fish, chicken and meat alone after cooking in coconut oil. I used these meats one by one on different days like one-day fish, second day chicken and third day meat. For dinner, I used salad of vegetables that I mentioned above with sprinkling some olive oil, black pepper, lemon and some salt for taste.

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/leafy-vegetables


After one month of the diet I felt some issues like low body energy due to low blood sugar level, because no carbs were included in food, that's why sugar intake was zero, but I ignored it, and continued this diet. But after two months of this diet I faced different issues like one of the biggest issues was muscle cramps. Seriously, these cramps in legs and feet were very annoying, because they cause severe pain in muscles and become prolonged for several minutes. These cramps usually occurred during nighttime.

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/muscle-cramp


Another issue which I faced after this diet was sleeping issues, seriously this diet disturbed my sleeping cycle badly. During this diet, I don't get enough sleep which leads to dark circles under my eyes. Thank God I quit this diet earlier, because this diet can also cause high cholesterol levels, which is really harmful for heart health. Because of high fat foods there is a great risk of high cholesterol levels. Thank God I didn't face this problem because I quit earlier when I faced muscle cramps and sleeping issues.

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/insomnia


Finally, I want to say that we shouldn't try these types of diets, because in my point of view these are harmful for health. We shouldn't rely on certain things and escape other foods from our life. We should eat everything which is a great blessing of God. Every food has its own importance and health benefits, so I think if we want to shed our weight, then we should eat everything, but in small portions except junk food.

Thank you so much ❤

All Content is Original Unless Specified Otherwise!

Lead Image Source.

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/keto-diet

4
$ 1.43
$ 1.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alexander_349
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 1
Sponsors of Insh_11
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Insh_11
2 years ago

Comments

My co-worker is on a keto diet. I know a lot about that diet, but I shouldn't use it. I'm not ready 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago