NFT – Non Fungible Tokens – A Dummie's Guide for Dummies

22 102
Avatar for Infinity
2 years ago

I have been watching news and articles about NFTs for days and, to tell the truth, I had not gone into the subject or inquired much about it. Thanks especially to @PVMihalache who has us quite up to date on these issues, but I repeat, for those who already know a little. I had no idea what it was, until today. I have done a search on YouTube, I have seen some videos that are worth watching and in a considerable time after analyzing everything and digesting it, I think I have a general idea of ​​what NFTs are. I want to leave you here my first impressions and a bit of a guide from a novice, for another novice who wants to start on the subject. With the permission of one of my idols on the platform (I have several, Ahah) who wrote an article about 4 months ago (I've only been here 3 weeks) called “Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) for Dummies! Crash-course for NFT newbies!" You can go see it, it's very interesting. If he allows me, I want to do it in a way as an answer from a Dummies, which is what I am obviously.

Enough of introduction, there we go!

What are NFTs?

They are Non-Fungible Tokens, which is the same as non-fungible items. They are digital objects that are impossible to replace. It can be anything, a work of art, a photo, a song, a video, or literally anything. NFTs live in crypto within the Ethereum blockchain, which makes it possible for them to be sold as we give them value.

How to make an NFT?

Doing an NFT is relatively easy, and in less than 10 minutes you can do it. Here are the steps:

1. Having identified is the digital file that you want to convert to NFT.

IMPORTANT: Make sure that the file to be used is free of copyright!

2. Have the Metamask installed as an extension in your web browser.

Image from metamask.io

3. Have ETH in your wallet, to be able to connect it with a Marketplace.

4. Create an account in one of the many markets that exist to sell them (OpenSea, SuperRare, Nifty Gateway, Foundation, among others) These markets are free, and anyone can publish their NFTs and put a price on them, even in the form of an auction.

Image from opensea.io

5. Synchronize your Metamask account with the chosen market.

Image from opensea.io

6. Create a new collection

Image from opensea.io

7. Create the NFT

Image from opensea.io

8. Put it up for sale

Image from opensea.io

Here you have several options, such as putting a fixed price or putting it up for auction, or in a group with others.

9. Wait for someone to buy it!

Image from opensea.io

Easy enough right? As you can see in less than 10 minutes you have your NFT published and ready to wait for the unthinkable to happen. Positive mind, as always. I have read stories that are truly encouraging, and that could happen to anyone, you, me, or the neighbor on the corner who hardly knows anything about computers, but since it is so easy, he knows how to paint and I auction his work with the help of his son and made good capital in a few days.

I'm going to tell you some of the most exciting ones that will leave you wanting to start this NFT mania right now.

Beeple and 'Everydays: The First 5000 Days'

"Everidays: The first 5000 days" from Beeple - Complete collage

This is the most expensive digital work of art in history. This work of art went from having a value of $ 100 USD to a price of 69 million USD. You read that right, I didn't write wrong, it's 69 million! It was sold at auction through Christie’s. Beeple has had a project since 2007 called Everidays, which consisted of posting digital art work on Instagram daily. The final collage is the result of 5000 works that I create over almost 14 years.

"Everidays: The first 5000 days" - from Beeple - Zoom of initial part of collage
"Everidays: The first 5000 days" - from Beeple - Zoom of the last part of collage

Beautiful, don't you think. Would you give 69 million for this work of art?

Disaster Girl

The photograph taken in 2005 was taken by Zoë's father, where the girl can be seen in front of a burning house smiling. Since then it has been used for bad intentions as a meme. After certifying the original, it was marketed for approximately $ 500,000 USD.

Keyboard Cat

This work dates from the viral YouTube videos at its inception. The value reached was about $ 93,000 USD through a digital auction on foundation.app.

A look at the market

Do not take that it is easy to arrive and sell your work of art for a good price. We don't take anything for granted here. If you analyze the market well, you will realize that art exists and that other users have talent, which, in many cases, will leave us speechless. Will we be able to overcome them? The power is in your mind, in your imagination and in your quality as an artist. Your skills in design or editing, photography or other hidden talents. But definitely talent is needed, so that luck comes faster on certain occasions.

User kristenroos just sold an NFT worth 4.44 ETH, which is currently equal to $15,136.94 USD. He accompanies his work "Cuboid Vortex City 1" with a short description that is sometimes the key to success. It makes your proposal attractive, both visually and in description, since the old attracts the attention of buyers. Perhaps this work that was put up for auction, in a few days will be sold for even double the price at which it was bought now.

Image from foundation.app

Some without much description even manage to auction a drawing that will blow your head for the sum that is about to be sold: 8.69 ETH, almost the equivalent of $30,000 USD. Sometimes I wonder why the world is getting weirder. Collectors perhaps? Ambition to have "things"? I would like to think that it will be resold later, and that it will make a profit, I don't know.

Image from foundation.app

If you want to see more jobs like these, feel free to enter the aforementioned sites above. I always like to explore the market and analyze what is trending the most, where the public is going, what moves them and makes them want to buy a specific product.

Nowadays everyone has a mania fever selling their creations on NFT. Twits have even been sold, as we see Jack Dorsey, founder of Twitter, entering the world of the NFT with the auction of his first Twit. Sale of digital dresses as was the case with the fashion firm The Fabricant. Sell ​​virtual furniture for $450,000 USD. Literally friends, anything can be sold online through NFTs, who puts the limit: Your imagination. As my name says, the possibilities are truly endless.

There are thousands of digital works for sale. During my search I have realized that anyone can create content and be sold online for a good sum of ETH. If someone likes your work at some point, then you could even be making the news the next day. Weird things happen constantly, at some point it would have to touch us, I'm just saying.

It's all free?

Not everything is rosy, and free, what is said free, is not. You can do your NFT in Lazy Minting mode, and they will not charge you directly. You can do the NFT for free and leave it in limbo and if someone buys it from you, then the fee is paid with the same money as the purchase. But to generate the first sell order you need to give an initial payment, the cost varies depending on the price of gas and ETH at that time, although it can vary from $70 - $150 USD, not cheap at all. Although if we take into account that the sale prices if your work is good, it can generate much more. So if you are confident that the work of art you just created is actually worth it, then taking a chance would not hurt. This fee is only paid once.

Warning: I am not an expert on the subject. This guide is not intended to encourage you to buy or sell any cryptocurrency or other digital asset. It just shows you the tools and how to do it. If it is of your interest, look for more information about it and if possible get advice with the help of experts on the subject.

Closing thoughts

I hope this article helps you to start creating your own NFTs. Some even buy at a price and sell at a higher price, in theory they are trading, if you look at it in a slightly orthodox way, but it works. Perhaps in a while, that same work that you bought for 1 ETH will interest someone in an auction and you will get a fortune.

That's all folks. If you made it this far, thank you very much for reading me. If you liked me and you want not to miss my next articles, do not stop subscribing, it helps me a lot.

Thank my magnificent sponsors, thank you for so much confidence in me. You can visit their profiles, you will not regret it at all.

Credits

Metamask

OpenSea

Beeple, "Everidays: the first 5000 days"

Keyboard Cat

15
$ 4.42
$ 4.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of Infinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Infinity
2 years ago

Comments

I always like to explore the market and analyze what is trending the most

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This does not look like made by a novice at all. Thank you, I will save it, as i know this will be helpful for me in the future.

Can i make something (like a digutal art or something) and have a friend that knows NFT sell it, and we'd just split the profits? Is that allowed practice? I was just wondering.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you friend for your words. I tell you that I did not know the NFT more than some articles here prior to writing this one. I did a job of several hours of research on the Internet and then prepared the article. So if I'm a rookie Ahah.

About your question, if you can make it clear. Whenever someone buys it they can then share the ETH perfectly, in the end, they will pay them in ETH. But remember that it depends on someone buying it. So I imagine that here the issue is in the quality and the striking and uniqueness of that digital art that you will create. Look in the pages that leave what other users sell, so you know the competition and how the prices are going. Greetings and success!.

PS: If you become a millionaire you remember me Ahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello friend. I am coming via my mobile. In a while my son will do on my laptop what you advised me to do. I hope I can get back to normal with my laptop. Thank you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hopefully friend. Anything you need, let me know. I hope they solve. This situation must already have you desperate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The truth is that I am not very easy to despair. I accept things as they come. I try to fix it but if I can't it's not something that torments me. My son did what he recommended but the same error message came up and I still can't log in. Thank you for your help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly what is the error message you are getting?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

NFT is an interesting thing. It can be very lucrative too. When I first heard about it I thought wow it is amazing. Did you know, that there is an NFT platform for BCH users? It is called Juungle at juungle.net.

I heard on the other day in a video, that once you bought an NFT consider your crypto gone. Yes you have the NFT, but if it won't sell than you cannot do anything about it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I did not know about that page for users with BCH, I will look at it. Imagine that you buy an NFT for a high price and then nobody wants to buy it from you! I think I am better in the group of those who create works of art and sell them, than in those who buy ahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will read this again next time, if I get interest to creat my own NFT, you did a great article today, very informative.👍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for your kind words friend. Luckily everyone is liking how the article turned out. I hope it helps. Try to do my best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This really breaks NFT down. Thanks for this article

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome, my friend! Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From a novice, for another novice. That's sentence attracted me. Because my knowledge about cryptocurrency is more than novice. But I read them all to see what is it how it works. In frankly, it seems to me that the writing is very informative with excellent description.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks friend. Try to do the best I could in a simple way obviously. The goal is to introduce the content and how to get it to interest you at the same time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome friend. Keep going. Best of luck for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing such type of information. Btw, yesterday I also wrote an article about nft but as you see bot is absent so that’s why I delay the publishing maybe I will publish it by tomorrow. I will try to create my own nft avatar.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I understand. Good luck then, hopefully someone buys it. Anything can happen with these sales. For me, the auction is the best. Rusty yesterday visited our pvm friend whom I quote in the article. Check and see, his visit was extremely generous. Of course, the article he shared was a beauty, so well deserved. In addition, it always comes back, even if the article is several days old. Good luck friend, let us know then. If you become a millionaire you know where to find us 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe for sure brother just need your prayers. Btw, yes sometimes rusty des this when algorithm will broken and we are waiting to resolve this situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saving this for future reference, my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks friend, I hope it will be of help to you in the future. I was really impressed by everything I saw. Incredible to the point that we have reached today. And even crazier things will come. This is only just beginning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago